We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A comedy of errors” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cambodian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cambodian Resort
Ranked #142 of 231 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Barrowford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“A comedy of errors”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Looks nice on the web, but the hotel which is comparativly new seems to suffer from inexperieneced staffs. We arrived nad the local electricity had ben cut off and we had abedroom within 30 feet of the standby generator! Somewhat noisy! No safe in the bedroom, fixed within 1 hour, and only one set of mug and glass (we were two), Air con was faulty (fixed shortly after reporting). we got a full blown english meal for dinner (I thought we were in Cambodia) and the eglish breakfast elements; bacon, beans, toms and fried potatoes were kept in a cold bain marie. I don't know about you but I laike my bacon hot!
Then they took 4 hours to move us the following day to a nicer room (We did not ask for)

Shame as its well placed and they seem to try hard!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RockyRobin70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

After a 7+1/2trip from battambangto sihanoukville we arived at the the cambodian resort to be told they had double booked our room! After leaving beautiful battambang resort were out every concern was dealt with ie bus trips taxis etc. We stood our ground and refused to move as we booked in nov 2012 & told them to move rhe people who wanted to extened their stay. This was not true as they quickly found us a room. Bad move it would have been better to move to a dose house. They made a comment about another agoda client.which they obviously don't want.agoda should remove them from there site it doesn't do anything for their reputation.here goes they call it a boutique hotel well one white wall with glass bricks in it does not make a boutique hotel. It was really dirty and our prebooked room had not been prepared for anyone no cups glasses room ditectory that way you could not ring reception no western tv. Floor uncomfortable to walk it was so dirty really bad smell not just smokes hair on floors and pillows mould all through bathroom pool dirty with a lot of tiles missing. I could go on about this boutique hotel which is not.we were to stay 3 nights but one was enough we had booked the natural bunglows in kampot and asked the manager to book us in to the bunglows to get us a taxi so we could leave asp. To the managers credit he organised everything we wanted professionly and with great grace he is a lovely man and truly wasted in that 1 star flea trap. I really hope he gains a position that he better deserves.he is 4 star standard at the moment & on his way up. He can do better than pick& stack hotel.we are now at natural bungalows & they are fabulous.will let you know more in 5 days patricia t.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank patricia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed there 4 nights, and tested both a normal double room, and a deluxe double room. Best value for the first one. There was an odor of urine in the double room. Water was sometimes brown, and electricity came and left.

The staff was good, the resturant always empty for people.

This is maybe not a resort, but an OK hotel for the price.Very good training room!

Room Tip: Deluxe double room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oystein B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Pen, Phnum Penh, Cambodia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

well the resort is not a resort,more like a motel 6.small rooms,small tv,had to get the boy to get the a/c running.power went out all the time,and as a result no water.instead of 65usd,it would be better priced at 35usd.also at check in the manager insisted on seeing passports for my wife and daughter.or some kind of proof that she was my daughter,despite being white-skinned,like her father,dah dah dah,finally i had to write a letter and sign it certifying that veronica was indeed my daughter.will never go back to this place,and for that matter sihanoukville as well.an over-rated 3rd world beach town

Room Tip: tip,get another hotel?
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank stevecanyon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

Alarm bells rang when they asked for six nights payment for New Year's upfront because it is 'hotel policy'. I see why. We paid cash upfront for the first night and started looking elsewhere.

The water supply to the rooms was intermittent as it was tankered in. The room safe was broken and had to be replaced. Calls to reception were ignored. Prices had been hiked to $75 US per night for the New Year Period. On the first night our sleep was disturbed at 3am by a screaming row between a 'couple' who, oddly enough, didn't stay together long enough for breakfast...For the price, the customer service was dire. Indifferent, slow and inexperienced, lacking the basic language skills needed to deal with international clientele. The manager only found it necessary to intervene when other customers started shouting at the receptionist desk staff. A tired, shabby motel. Certainly not a resort. The sign on the restaurant wall summed it up nicely for me "Today's Menu: Take it or Leave it." We left. We found much better, much cheaper accomodation, (Serendipity) but wasted valuable time on holiday doing this.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pgwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

I booked Cambodia resort because I left my booking rather late for busy new year period and the better rated options were fully booked.
The resort is very well maintained with lots of staff and daily room cleanings by well mannered and friendly cleaners. The pool is a bonus however VERY chlorinated so i ended up swimming at the beach mostly. The rooms were a good size. There is a restaurant downstairs which is not terrible. Breakfast has a basic buffet. It's a quick walk to the each and quiet so I wasn't bothered by noise from new years celebrations which was great.
Downsides: The reception staff were fairly unfriendly and sour. The power goes off multiple times a day for periods of up to 10-15 minutes which is annoying. The hot water worked once for me in 4 nights so it was cold showers for me most of my stay. The key slot at the door operates the power so the fridge didn't work when you were out, meaning no drinks kept cold. There is fridge but no stock/minibar. I had tea and coffee making facilities and drinking glassss but no cups or spoons to stir the tea/coffee. The sun shines straight into the balconies from 7am until early afternoon and there are no sunshades so sitting on balcony is out most of the day as its way too hot. I almost missed my bus because I was told the wrong time to go to reception and they didn't call my room when bus showed even though my room number was written on the ticket stub.
All in all I think you could get a lot worse but they could easily improve their rating through very little cost by a few small additions/improvements as per above.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wheresimbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

The hotel has three wings. One wing faces the street and pool. The street side is extremely loud. You won't get any rest during the night. The opposite wing has a dance club at its back side. The club plays loud music late into the night and keeps you up. The wing that connects the other two wings is the only acceptable wing. The only difference in rooms is wether they have a balcony or not.

Air condition doesn't cool well enough.

You hear all the noises from the hallway.

The staff is a bit overwhelmed at the reception causing frustration for a bunch of guests.

You get better service for a better price at the guest houses around.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Smehlhase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Hotel
Jasmine Hotel
#61 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
0.7 mi away
Golden Sand Hotel
Golden Sand Hotel
#45 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#81 of 231 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
0.6 mi away
White Beach Hotel
White Beach Hotel
#124 of 231 in Sihanoukville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambodian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambodian Resort

Property: Cambodian Resort
Address: Polowai Street, Group 15 | Village 4, Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 231 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Cambodian Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambodian Resort is a new boutique style hotel which is located just 200 meters from the best premier beach of Sihanouk Ville in southern Cambodia. Moments away from bustling nightlife, lavish entertainment and a variety of shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Cambodian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodian Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing