We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine for us at this time of year”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Cambodian Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Cambodian Resort
Ranked #142 of 228 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Fine for us at this time of year”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Cambodian Resort was just fine, however just because it has a pool and gym this does not a resort make. It is really just a hotel.

We stayed mid May and the low season and there were only 3 or 4 rooms being used, so very quiet, we had the pool area to ourselves most days, the same as for breakfast.

Check in and out was good, just a little consternation at check in as they couldn't find our booking, funny that, there were only a handfull of other people staying at the hotel, however it got sorted very quickly. Staff through the hotel are great, cheerful and a ready smile all the time, and forever cleaning, but then again with only four rooms being taken up I guess there was little else for them to do.

Great gym, perhaps the best I have come across at a hotel, but I did discover they have gym membership for locals, so perhaps that's why it is so good.

7 minutes walk to the beach and tuktuk transport outside the hotel all the time to take you anywhere in Sihanoukville for a small fee.

Room was large and clean, overlooking the large pool area, water pressure in the shower ok, water just warm, but sufficient to do the job. No soap bar(s), but we always carry a small bar for these situations. There is a soap dispenser in the shower, but nothing in the sink area.

Breakfast was iffy, and not a great selection, but they did say due to low season they catered on demand, I guess a la carte, so we ordered eggs as we wanted and took the rest of the small selection as we required. It was ok, sufficient for our needs.

So what were the bad points, on two of the three days we were woken by room service wanting to clean our rooms at around 8.30am. Huh??? With only 4 rooms being used hardly a pressing need to get rooms cleaned. Not as if there was going to be hordes checking in.

And there is a noise problem from the Golden Lion Plaza right next store. This is a group of night clubs and the deep boom boom boom from the music does permiate into the hotel. Ear plugs did help (always take ear plugs on holiday). Remember we were in the off season and not many people around, I can imagine the noise in the high season coming from this place. Our last evening was the final of the European football Cup and the noise was excessive.

Not withstanding the noise, the hotel was good to stay at and would reccommend and (with earplugs) would stay here if we found ourselves in Sihanoukville again.

Room Tip: The further away from the Golden Lion Plaza the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizardoz1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    25
    28
    10
    10
See reviews for
15
32
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

Not a "boutique" and hardly a resort, but spacious, efficient, well thought out and with on-the-ball staff. Breakfast and the pool were the highlights. Excellent in both areas. Rooms were comfortable with a sensible shower arrangement, nice small balcony, simple furniture, good lighting, etc. Getting the basics right and having switched on staff made our holiday a success.
Asked for extra pillows, and got them immediately without fuss. We left a suitcase behind, but the staff found it, put it on a bus and we collected in in Phnom Penh. For $1!! The only hitch was, possibly, the lack of parking space in front of the hotel. But hardly a deal breaker. We will return happily!

Room Tip: 200s or 308-310 were about right. ground floor is too near the pool. 4th is too far.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Purmerend
Level Contributor
287 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2012

The reception was efficient and friendly. Spacious rooms, with good working TV, air conditioning and safe depositbox. The bathroom is large and clean. Swimming pool and fittnes room are excellent. WIFI is free, fast and reliable. The breakfast buffet is generous. The walk to the beach is about 10 minutes and beach towels are freely available.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2012

Hotel is very clean and well run with a pool. The breakfast menu provides plenty of choice and is excellent. Rooms are large with a safe.
No hairdryer or radio / clock.

Would recommend this hotel to my friends and family.

Staff are always keen to help and are very friendly.

Suggest you try and visit some of the other beaches as they are quiter (victory beach ) for example.
Lots of local restaurants and bars to eat in and the food quality has been excellent.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chas_gibson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

Excellent place to stay in Sihanoukville. The staff has a great feeling for customerbility. A cool towel and a drink upon arrival. Good breakfast (coffee may have been hotter) and a great relaxing poolside. It is situated in relatively quiet neighbourhood but close enough to the beach (we walked it in 5 minutes) and restaurants. The room is a perfect size and the balcony gives you nice views on the pool. Free WiFi and daily newspapers available. We had one lunch in the hotel and this was of good quality as well.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyStef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penticton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2012

We started coming to this hotel as gym/pool members and enjoyed dealing with the pleasant staff, cleanliness of the resort and extensive equipment in the gym. We moved out of our other lodging two weeks ago. We were given a great long term stay rate. We have a pool side room with tea/coffee/water. The room is very large with all amenities and is cleaned daily. We highly recommend this hotel for singles/couples or families. It is 250 meters straight down the road to the beach.

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are great, but most overlook the pool if you are on an upper floor. Our floor is 1st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

Not sure why this is in the B&B category.....

The rooms here are fine, although the quality of the build (or lack of) is starting to show. Pool is good too, although the area around it gets very slippery when wet and the steps ito the water are not acually level which can catch you out.

5 minutes to the beach and places to eat

The breakfast here was outstanding - probably the best included breakfast I've ever had in SE Asia although the dining room is a bit too small to cope if the hotel is full

Gym was ok although half the machines were broken with hotel staff trying to repair them

I would stay here again

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the dining room - they seem to constantly be moving chairs around which c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMWelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Jasmine Hotel
Jasmine Hotel
#60 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
0.4 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#17 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#34 of 72 in Sihanoukville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
1.0 mi away
SunsetLounge Guesthouse
SunsetLounge Guesthouse
#1 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
1.0 mi away
MK Beach Hotel
MK Beach Hotel
#40 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambodian Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambodian Resort

Property: Cambodian Resort
Address: Polowai Street, Group 15 | Village 4, Sangkat 4, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #142 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cambodian Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cambodian Resort is a new boutique style hotel which is located just 200 meters from the best premier beach of Sihanouk Ville in southern Cambodia. Moments away from bustling nightlife, lavish entertainment and a variety of shopping areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cambodian Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cambodian Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing