We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food at excellent prices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Outback Bar & Bistro

Outback Bar & Bistro
Ranked #93 of 334 Restaurants in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Asian, Fusion, Cambodian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Introducing Cordon Bleu trained Chef Tristan Jone's exceptional menu at the outback Bar & Bistro at the Coolabah Hotel. Enjoy your meal in a relaxed garden setting by the pool. Great wine selection & top shelf whisky. Choose from quail and roast pumpkin, Maguru Tuna, Prawn saute with Cointreau,marmalade, pan-fried fish of the day with potato foam, duck breast, stuffed squid and a whole lot more. Don't miss the divine desserts of deep fried cheesecake with dark chocolate ganache and chocolate mousse with candied chili.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food at excellent prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

We have eaten here a number of times since coming to Sihanoukville. All the meals have been lovely, generous servings and well priced. Seafood platter was great as was the beef and kampong pepper. Scallops on the shell are also well worth trying. Staff are helpful and friendly. I would certainly recommend this restaurant.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Dallas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    32
    6
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Always get great, friendly, quick service. Pretty good food but nothing too extraordinary. Still love it though, always consistently great coffee and reasonably priced food, depending on what you go for. I personally love the sandwiches, as they're cheap and delicious.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank jacky c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
266 reviews
192 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Perfectly cooked seafood, great service, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2014

After reading all the reviews on TripAdvisor, I just had to go to order the seafood plate for two. We ordered the nicoise salad and duck balls to start, then the seafood platter.

On the starters: the nicoise salad was one of the better ones we've had in a while, although to be more authentic, it would be better to remove the bed of lettuce and add more green beans instead. I also had my own salt and pepper, and with the extra seasoning, the salad was great. The "duck balls" are more like duck meatballs, spiced perfectly, breaded and deep fried, served on pickled carrot and mango with a tangy tamarind sauce. Wow - are these ever full of flavour.

As for the seafood platter: this was some of the best seafood I've had in Sihanoukville. So many places don't prepare the seafood properly (they don't devein the prawns or overcook the seafood), but this place presented everything perfectly. The squilla (mantis shrimp) was so well done I've completely changed my view on squilla! The seared sesame-crusted tuna was ridiculously good, the grilled squid succulent, the fried squid crispy, and the bacon-wrapped scallops were lovely too. The three dipping sauces (wasabi cream, salt and pepper with lime juice, and hot and sweet sauce) were perfect to accompany the seafood. You also get a bowl of lovely potato wedges on the side, which we couldn't eat as we were so full, but I got them to go and they were still delicious a few hours later (cold!). This place is all about quality.

Our bill came out to 39 USD for two people, which I know sounds a lot for the area, but I thought it was a great price for perfectly cooked seafood. Service was excellent too. What a treat!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EatnDrinknRoamn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“very good compared to nearby eateries, thats all”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

service was fast attentive and the food was more than adequate. it was also clean, unlike so many of th disgusting places in sihanoukville. No real atmosphere.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great Sunday roast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

If you're missing a bit of home cooking on a Sunday, then this is the place to come. Generous roast dinners with Yorkshire puddings. Liked it so much we came back for breakfast the following day which was equally as delicious!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank stufnotstub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Bar & Bistro also viewed

Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
Sihanoukville, Sihanoukville Province
 

Been to Outback Bar & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing