We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, location peaceful but problematic.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 228 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, location peaceful but problematic.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2010

This place is stunning and the staff are great. The food is excellent and moderatly priced. By far the nicest place we stayed in cambodia. The pool is beautiful and the location is very peaceful.
But the location is also problematic. Tuk Tuk drivers try to scam you saying its too far away and demanding far too much for a ride here. Free tour and bus pick ups and drop offs won't come here and food deliveries won't come here either making it very iscolated. EVEN though its not actually that far away and its possible to walk from here to just about anywhere in sihanoukville in an hour. Its very frustraiting. At night you pretty much have to eat from their restraunt because the road is too dark to walk from there to town to get something else. Even a place which delivers food at the bottom of the hill refused to come here to bring us an order. There are no transport options from here, so if you ask the resort to order you a tuk tuk or something you'd be at the mercy of the driver to charge you whatever he wanted once he got here to get you.
They would do well to provide some sort of transport service to guests. It would be a great place to stay if you have your own transport, or they do something to address the issue. I don't think its reasonable to expect every guest to hire a moto from town somewhere and use it to get about as some people would not be safe driving one if they have no experience and neither of the 2 roads to get here would be suitable for novice riders. '(one steep, narrow and rough, one not so steep but busy with trucks from the port etc)
I'd say its about 30 mins to walk from here to downtown and about 1 hour to walk from here to serendipity beach. Of course you don't need to walk all the way as after about the first 5 or 10 mins of walking you will encounter constant offers for a moto ride (for a fee of course).
Its a shame about this one element. Otherwise its heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ahsset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    45
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
19
77
10
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2010

Lovely huts (though "huts"do not do them justice) with a splendid view of the ocean and port, a infinity pool, nice grounds, good food and competent staff, welcoming atmosphere and great value make Pagoda Rocks a great option for under 50usd in Snooky. Only thing to be aware of is the location which is a fair way from the central tourist areas, so renting a scooter would be a good idea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikitikitavi-kampot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

After spending a couple of days in Sihanoukville at a conference, we were ready for a bit of peace and tranquillity. Pagoda Rocks gave us all that and more.

This property has only been open a couple of months but it already provides the perfect hideaway from the hustle and bustle of the town and a gorgeous spot in which to relax.

Perched on top of a hill, next to Wat Leu, we were entranced from the moment we drove through the gate. We were first greeted by the sight of a beautiful infinity pool overlooking views of the ocean and a tranquil thatched-roof poolside restaurant. Our accommodation was in a large,attractive bungalow with a balcony which had the same lovely views, and airconditioning which we never used since the large windows brought cool breezes in the evening.

We ate all three meals at the restaurant and were deliciously surprised by every one -- from the tasty kampot pepper bread with leek and onion dip to the perfectly prepared breakfast omelette to the fresh fish dinner with a delicious side dish of vegetables with bechamel sauce.

I have a couple of suggestions for the owners which would improve the experience for me. Firstly (and it may be already planned), I'd like to see umbrellas around the pool since there is no shade from the sun. And, secondly, I'd like to see a no cellphone policy in public areas since there was a young man who talked loudly and crudely on the phone for more than an hour while we were trying to relax at the pool.

However, the wonderful memories we have of this beautiful spot far outweigh the few negative moments.

I'm also not sure of the best way to get here since the property is a little out of town and at the top of a hill. I'm sure tuktuks come up here but we decided to rent a moto ( at $5 per day) and it turned out to be a great decision -- not only for the cost but also because it provided us with the opportunity to easily see the rest of the area.

The owners of Pagoda Rocks know exactly how to create a special haven and we fully intend on returning.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights but wanted to stay longer. It was just so quiet and tranquil. It has an infinity pool and sunbeds which look out over the ocean, a bar/restaurant with couches to relax in, and large clean rooms. The menu was small but still i wanted to eat everything on it and the meals i did eat were delicious.
The staff were friendly, spoke good english and their service was top notch.
I would definatley stay here again and am very happy we found it.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boking1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.3 mi away
Villa Zentao
Villa Zentao
#18 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
5.4 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#8 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
French Garden Resort
French Garden Resort
#7 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
4.2 mi away
Otres Orchid
Otres Orchid
#36 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 130 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Harbor Lights Palace
The Harbor Lights Palace
#47 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse

Property: Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse
Address: Wat Leu, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pagoda Rocks Boutique Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing