We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Gross and Seedy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mealy Chenda Guesthouse
Ranked #131 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Pretty Gross and Seedy”
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

This place is great if you're a male sex tourist and are looking for a hot spot of prostitutes. Rooms are run down, outdated, and it's right around the corner from the seriously seedy seen at Victory Hill. (And this is coming from a girl who's gone to Brothel's outside of Vegas to do research for a writing project).

Definitely avoid if you can. This is definitely the worst place I've stayed in Cambodia so far and way overpriced for what you get. Avoid, avoid.

Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    13
    5
    8
    6
See reviews for
Families
0
8
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 29, 2013

The rooms here are too small for the price and the facilities are old. The wifi doesn't work half the time and the staff can be annoying in the restaurant. Having said that, the food is good and you do get a great view of Victory Beach.

But there are cheaper and better options on Victory Hill.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
103 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

I have always stayed at Mealy Chanda whenever I was in Sihanoukville because of the friendly staff, Sophia. However, something bad happened and I moved out. I hid my money belt in the room and went out for a few hours. When I came back it was gone. Only the maintenance or the night staff have stolen my money belt as I hid the money in the ceiling. I found the ladders when I came back. When I told Sophia and her boss Mealy Chanda, they didn't call the police and they didn't suspect their night staff as they might be family members or friends. They still charged me for the nights I stayed eventhough my money plus credit cards were stolen. They thought I lied or stg. I do not recommend this place eventhough it is inexpensive and in the good location. If you stay there, make sure you take your money with you all the time!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank backpackmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

A good location, rooms were quite large but decrepit and in need of deep clean or refurbishment. A/c unit condensate pipes permanently flooded the bathrooms. Although some balconies had good views, doors to balconies were very difficult to lock, we had to get staff to lock them. A real pain. At $25 per night a bit expensive for this part of Victory Hill. Unable to provide inclusive breakfast on our last day as they did not have bread or toast. We were leaving at 07:30.

Room Tip: Room 202 had the problem with locks, room 201 slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drummondone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
810 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

I had a $6 fan room which was roomy although it faced the wall of the building next door which meant a lack of through draught but saying that what do you want for $6? It was cleaned every day if you wished by a very friendly and happy lady as was all the staff, very friendly and helpful. It had a nice bathroom and there is a restaurant on site where you can sit and watch the sunset. It is situated a short walk away from the bars and restaurants and only a 10 minute walk to the beach. A good choice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorsetbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

stayed there 2009 for a week average and has a good bar upstairs looking out towards the beach good restaurant its in a good location with motorbike hire and mototaxis outside who will take you to most places for a few dollars .After a week i moved to the sunset gardens just down the hill on the way to the beach an old french colonial place with good food and a rooftop veranda you could use at anytime its set in a private garden and the family are brilliant and take care of anything you need .I stayed there in march and paid £8 a nite aircon and fridge on suite very good value The beach at victory doesnt have all the hasel of ochenteal where its constant and bags and stuff can can disapear in an instant if your not carefull best bet only take what need or leave them with the bar owner your getting your cold drinks off some have wall lockers and give you the only key .Be prepaird for a few peaple begging off you its still a very poor country and peaple have to make a buck when they can

Room Tip: stay upstairs at the back away from the reception and carpark better veiws and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dobin_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2011

Clean rooms with alot of natural light, ac was great, walls are thin, showers were not, wifi didn't work but we liked the mirror on the ceiling. $12 for ac double bed in the back.. not bad. Nice restaurant, but pricey.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thaoface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.0 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zana Beach Guesthouse
Zana Beach Guesthouse
#23 of 234 in Sihanoukville
99 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
0.0 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#47 of 234 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mealy Chenda Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mealy Chenda Guesthouse

Property: Mealy Chenda Guesthouse
Address: Group 25, Mondol 3, Sangkat 3, Khan Mittapheap, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #131 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mealy Chenda Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mealy Chenda Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing