We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
SeaGarden Bungalows
Ranked #12 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We recently spent 6 days at Seagarden and would thoroughly recommend other travellers to check it out. If you want a beach bungalow experience with a drop-dead gorgeous sunset and a quiet beach, then Seagarden offers just that. It was very good value for money and had an equally reasonably priced restaurant and bar on site. We are surprised to see some other reviews complaining about staff, and must say that we found them extremely welcoming, friendly and helpful. We are also surprised to see that the owners affection for their lovely dogs was even mentioned as a negative, we were not aware that guests are should be in competition with pets... My suggestion is to ignore the negative comments and see it for yourself. All in all a paradisiacal place.

Room Tip: Room 1 is closest to the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 11Sebastian2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (234)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 234 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We loved our stay here while we were in Otres, we were so lucky we managed to walk in without a booking and get a room here for $12 which is really reasonable!! Every place on Otres is basic so of course this is no exception, but anyone who comes here I guess is looking for relaxation, nice beaches, good food and chilled out atmosphere! That exactly what you get at Sea Garden! The owners were really friendly and despite the comments from other reviewers about the dogs getting more attention, anyone who loves animals is a good person in my books so i didn't care! The dogs are obviously Steve and Api's baby's so lighten up! After 2 nights we had to move across the road to Mushroom point because Sea Garden was fully booked, we were truly gutted but still came back everyday for their lovely food at least once a day! Try the Chicken coconut curry its fantastic!!

Room Tip: Room 1 near the beach or there are huts on stilts which may feel a little better as we got a tiny bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

This place changed my life, Steve and Appi are beautiful people and will accommodate anything. Reading the bad reviews for this place makes me sad.
Food was awesome, service was incredible, rooms are pristine for the value. It all added up to an experience and forgettable time. I will tell every single person who travels Asia to make room for otres beach, and the beautiful beautiful sea garden, an experience everyone needs in their lives :-D
Thank you steve, Appi, Matt, Navi and Tida.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dougpepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I live in Cambodia working in Phnom Penh and I use sea garden as an escape if I need an even more relaxed vibe than I get back in PP. The staff are great Steve and Api two of the owners met my girlfriend and I at 1 in the morning during peak season when we booked for the wrong week. But instead of shoving us out on our behinds they made up a bed out of cushions and fresh linens in a gazebo right on the beach that is usually just used for drinking and gazing out over the beautiful beach and made us feel very welcome. The staff feel like old fiends after a few conversations and it is just a really nice place to unwind.

The bungalows themselves are traditional khmer thatched roof huts with a bed, a fan, mosquito net and power supply. Perfect if your ambition is to relax.

There is hammocks under the shade for the afternoon and the food is always delicious.

I have been about 5 times and if I can fit it in before I'm on my next adventure I may be 5 more.

Room Tip: 1 is closest to the beach but I prefer the huts above the hammocks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Benj P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We were greeted by the less than friendly English owner, the dogs were barking and the owners seemed more interested in their dogs than their new guests just arriving.
The whole place feels as though you're an inconvenience to the owners and the sour faced Cambodian staff (with the exception of the younger Western fella who worked at night)

The food was ok although the Italian restaurant next door was a much better option.

I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone. The dogs are far more important than the guests but the dogs don't pay the owners bills, we do.

Room Tip: Room 1 is closest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mim1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Location of this place is very good, right on Otres beach, but I found the owners to be somewhat disinterested in their guests. For example i Woke up in the morning to find my stuff covered in a fine powder. i think it was bamboo, although i didnt know at the time, and it may be that it can't be helped if the roof is being knawed at but I couldn't get the owner to show any interest in the problem. He didnt even look up from what he was doing. Just said there was nothing he could do to stop it. i found that asking he or his wife for anything - a drink or whatever - was met with a fairly indifferent response. They would get you it, but in their own time, and rarely with a smile.

There were 2 showers/toilets, which wasnt a lot for 9 huts and although I saw them being cleaned in the morning, they weren't very nice by the evening - insects and a few worms crawling around.

The food was good though and the music at the bar was good and at a nice chilled volume, but I didn't find that it had a lot of atmosphere.

As another reviewer has noted, best seats in the house are reserved for the couple's 4 legged friends.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AVB38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a few nights, as a break between visits to big cities. The service was great, the staff laid-back and friendly, and the food was delicious. Only cash is accepted, and there aren't any ATMs at Otres Beach, so come well prepared. There's also a helpful agency right across the street for purchasing bus, boat, or train tickets.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ASWebber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.5 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
The Secret Garden at Otres Beach
#4 of 75 in Sihanoukville
411 reviews
1.2 mi away
White Boutique Hotel
White Boutique Hotel
#8 of 75 in Sihanoukville
189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 75 in Sihanoukville
731 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#8 of 150 in Sihanoukville
333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Otres Lodge
Otres Lodge
#5 of 150 in Sihanoukville
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SeaGarden Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SeaGarden Bungalows

Address: | Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $10 - $17 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best food, friendliest bar, and most comfortable bungalows on Otres Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. Our staff is very friendly. We want you to have the very best resort experience. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing