We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Alternative on Independence Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Holiday Palace Casino Resort
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I came here after being disappointed by the Independence Hotel at the other end of the Beach. This is a nice modern low-rise hotel and a good value for the money. Rooms are large and have big floor to ceiling windows, sliding doors. The staff does not speak a lot of English and there are some Chinese tour groups that roll through, but if you want a nice oasis on a beautiful beach, this is a good choice. Rooms were $30 on weekdays and $40 on weekend nights.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank expat326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 40 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

The holiday palace has its own beach, nice and clean. However, the staff speak little or no English and not the usual friendly staff you meet round Cambodia. The breakfast options are quite limited , there is no gym or pool. So unless you like to swim in ocean and gamble at casino, there's not a lot going for this hotel. It is also a fair distance from town , although it does offer driver service to town when you want to go. However you would not know if you didn't ask. It seems that English speakers are more a nuisance than welcome .

Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KOSSYDNEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

I spend tonight in this hotel. the room looks okay and big but the service is really bad compared to other cambodian hotel. poor breakfast only 4 choices. staff dont understand anything in english. no swimming pool for this price. nice peivate beach but the hotel dont autorise to bring the room towel the beach and dont give any towel at the beach as well they said we need to bring our own. bad hotel real chinese hotel a lit of noise

1  Thank achha64
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

The most worrying thing is you have to let them keep your passport. I think that is against the law as effectively you are a prisoner. Pay a £25 deposit

They call this place the holiday palace. However Palace name should really be the holiday kennel. The only snag is I wouldn't allow my dog to stay in this kennel. I have stayed in international hotels all over the world and even basic motels have more facilities and are cleaner than what you find here. Rundown and tired is an over simplification the quality is in this hotel. Customer service is absolutely non existent any problem that you may have will be greeted with a smile and and sorry sir. Nothing will be done to resolve any problem that you might have. We stayed in the most expensive room in the hotel described as a villa room. The room was tiny the bathroom dirty the furniture very old that sort of thing that any decent hotel would've put on a bonfire years ago and the bed was not of the best quality. The air conditioning just about worked but that's all. There was a flat screen TV but This looked completely out of place with the outdated furniture that was in the room. The carpets were worn and it appeared that all rooms were smoking rooms. I came here for what I would describe as a Visa run but what I should've done is got my visa stamp and turned around and gone straight back or read the reviews before I travelled and stayed at a different hotel.
Next time I'm off to Singapore.

AVOID

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Columbo_vs_Jack_Regan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The only saving grace of this hotel is its nice clean private beach and its clean rooms. Other than that, it is far away from the sights so if you like peace and quiet you've found the place. Had a really hard time conversing with the staffs, it was really basics of basics but i guess you have to be extremely patient and do not be angry if they get it wrong.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nora1511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

Don't let the cheesy signs and tacky entranceway fool you! You are about to enter a very lovely and rather private beach resort.

Although I didn't stay here, this place came highly recommended for their good food (Chinese/Indonesian) and ambiance. Indeed this was the case. I was very surprised to find perfectly manicured gardens and a lovely deck overlooking the ocean. Pleasant music was playing, the lighting perfect.

I looked in on one of the empty rooms. They looked nice, clean and spacious. Not a bad value either as rooms start from $35 for a standard room.

Do enjoy the dim sum for only $1.50 per plate. We were stuffed after 5 plates! Great value for good food and don't for get the ocean views!

I will be going back before leaving Sihanoukville!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarisaTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Firstly this is a Cambodian hotel,it is different to a hotel that caters to western standards, we were fortunate enough to stay for 2 weeks, therefore getting to know the staff. I think you have to put in the effort to be friendly and you get a great response!
During our stay we only saw a few other westerners there,mainly Russian,
they were not very friendly?
Value for money it was excellent!
Our room was great, standards of cleanliness were very good in all areas of the hotel.
The restaurant service could be erratic at times but the food was always good.
We enjoyed coffee at the coffee shop every day where the staff were very friendly.
The foot massage spa was the best we have experienced in Cambodia, 7USD for an hour!! We visited almost every day.
Location is fantastic right on the beach. The hotel were finishing off the new bar area and beach area so we have yet to see the finished result.
We were charged a much higher rate over new year, fair enough, but all hotel efforts were concentrated on important bosses visiting and putting on a big party for them?
Although I thought it was a great idea giving the staff a New Years Eve party, even though breakfast was chaos the next day! Its important to look after the staff and I felt the staff deserved it.
We ventured into the casino a few times as well,not big gamblers but it was very good.
All in all we were very impressed and we will most certainly be back, we visit Cambodia every year.
Thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable!

Room Tip: Go for deluxe with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank flashpacker50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.9 mi away
Queenco Hotel & Casino
Queenco Hotel & Casino
#25 of 76 in Sihanoukville
137 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
1.8 mi away
Golden Sea Hotel & Casino
Golden Sea Hotel & Casino
#39 of 76 in Sihanoukville
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 76 in Sihanoukville
666 reviews
4.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Resort
Legacy Hotel & Resort
#16 of 76 in Sihanoukville
146 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Palace Casino Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Palace Casino Resort

Address: 2 Thnou Street, Independence Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Casino Hotel in Sihanoukville
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the powdery sands of Independence Beach in Cambodia's southwest region, Holiday Palace Resort, Sihanoukville is the ultimate getaway - a timeless haven in a luxurious beachfront resort. For many years, Sihanoukville has been a popular destination for international visitors because of its secluded location, pristine coastline and hospitable service. Now, with the resort's new wing, luxury spa, swimming pool and beachside lounge, travelers have even more reason to seek refuge in the serenity and privacy of our luxurious resort. The dream-like romance continues with the resort's wide selection of accommodation options. All rooms and suites have panoramic sea views, and complimentary wi-fi is available all around the property. The luxury spa combines local techniques to create soothing massages for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Holiday Palace Casino Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Palace Resort And Casino
Holiday Palace Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing