We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cocktails”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #29 of 242 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Above us only sky has great staff and excellent cocktails. I have never stayed in any of their bungalows, but every time I go to Sihanukville I go for a couple of cocktails. Nice place to chill and admire the view after a lazy day on the beach!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marte V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013

They get 2 stars one for the view the other for the staff. They have one of the best views in Sihounckville. great place to have a drink and relax listening to the ocean. The staff have great local knowledge for restaurants and beaches. The bungalows however need a bit of TLC. The cushions on the lounges are absolutely shot and need replacing. The shower barely dribbles water. The roof leaked directly on the bed. The music from up the beach goes until 6am. No room safe however you can leave your valuables with the bar in a safe. We didn't want to keep asking the bar staff for our camera, iPad etc... So had to carry them all the time. No fly screens on the windows. No tea or coffee in the room. If they were charging $25 a night you could kind of expect this but not at $65 a night. Very happy to leave.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and drink at the bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Was there last weekend for a few days and had so much fun. Great drinks music and setting. Special thanks to Sammy and tony. That pair are quite the double act and still give the best service on Serendipity. See you all next year!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very relaxing area !! The dance music later at night ruins the serenity !! Most of the staff are fine, but one non Cambodian guy appeared to be on some heavy drugs !! Spilt food on our table !! Apart from that it was great !! Drinks are nice and so is the food !!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craboo1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Manager at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

Dear Craboo,
I did email you personally regarding this, as I don't like to think that any of my staff are on 'heavy drugs', and you replied that the staff member in question was a blonde 30 year old gentleman. I did reply to you that we don't have any blonde staff, and that our food is served only by Khmer waiters, to which I've not yet received a reply.
I am glad that you enjoyed your drinks, although they may not actually have been at our establishment.
Kind regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our 5 nights at Above us only sky was fantastic. Big clean bungalows with an amazing sea view. Great Staff and a very cosy bar just a few steps from the bungalows and from the sea. Thx Ben, Mary and Toni !!!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrikAndMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at AUOS for three nights with a friend in June 2012. It was overall quite a disappointing and grotty experience.

The room is reasonably sparse, but that's alright as we didn't expect much from a bungalow. My problem was with the lack of aircon. It didn't work for the entire 3 days. Now there is a note explaining that when the power is cut (which happens a bit in Sihanoukville) the aircon and hot water system won't work, but the fan and water will because a generator kicks in. This was not the case. Our fan worked only sporadically, and on several occasions I went to have a shower to find there was not only no hot water, but no water at all! I do understand power cuts are a way of life here, but for $40 a night I expect to get air con and hot water, as advertised. I spent most of my time hot, dirty and frustrated.

Another issue is noise - the main party bars are quite close, and as a result you can make out every word to every song blasting from the speakers till 5am. if you are one of the people dancing till 5am, it won't be a concern. On the nights we didn't go out, we found it impossible to sleep.

A final negative - on the last evening our bungalows roof started leaking. We came home from dinner to find one of the beds soaked. The barstaff moved the other bed to the other side of the room for us. But then the whole floor was dirty and wet. A minor whinge maybe, but I think it was all compounded by the lack of shower/air con situation!

There were a few good things - the balcony had great comfy chairs to relax on, and the bar is in a nice position over the rocks. But overall I was disappointed with the room and would not stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else. Staff seem nice but were pretty dopey.

I'd advise you to look elsewhere for a better place.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Broomegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Owner at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded December 9, 2012

Dear Broomegirl,
Unfortunately there were power outages during your stay in Sihanoukville, and as you've written, the air-conditioning and hot water are too consuming to use while we're on generator power. However, the fan, water, fridge, lights, and wi-fi are still fully operational at that time.
As the power cut was not for the entire 3 days you should still have had use of the a/c and hot water. Had the staff been made aware of your predicament they would have done their best to find a solution, and if you had no a/c for the duration of your stay you would have been charged at the lesser rate.
Please accept our apologies for your bad experience, I hope it didn't spoil your travels of Cambodia.
And yes, our staff are nice, and although Dopey has since left us, the 6 remaining dwarves are an asset to the business.
Kind regards,
S.Johnson

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice location in front of the sea with a comfy terrace. Having said this, too expensive for what it offers, needs refurbiching and more amenities. The path that leads ther is not appropiate for all persons.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank backybacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#19 of 80 in Sihanoukville
627 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 80 in Sihanoukville
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#158 of 242 in Sihanoukville
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Laluna
Laluna
#21 of 242 in Sihanoukville
74 reviews
0.6 mi away
Patchouly Chill House
Patchouly Chill House
#8 of 157 in Sihanoukville
29 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mushroom Point
Mushroom Point
#7 of 157 in Sihanoukville
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows

Address: Serendipity Beach | 40meters From Boat Pier to Islands, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 242 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $43 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. We have five detached deluxe beachfront bungalows with uninterrupted views of the sea and islands. Our bar serves beer in ice-chilled glasses, as well as an extensive range of the top cocktails we're famed for. Delicious local and Western cuisine can be enjoyed along with ocean views. Our bungalows have hot showers, fridge, fan or air-con, mosquito net, and free Wi-fi. There's also room to stretch out on the balcony for some chilled out days and nights, listening to the sound of the sea just below you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing