We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magic place, Great staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Ranked #27 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Magic place, Great staff.”
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Our 5 nights at Above us only sky was fantastic. Big clean bungalows with an amazing sea view. Great Staff and a very cosy bar just a few steps from the bungalows and from the sea. Thx Ben, Mary and Toni !!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrikAndMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    38
    21
    16
    15
See reviews for
11
71
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

I stayed at AUOS for three nights with a friend in June 2012. It was overall quite a disappointing and grotty experience.

The room is reasonably sparse, but that's alright as we didn't expect much from a bungalow. My problem was with the lack of aircon. It didn't work for the entire 3 days. Now there is a note explaining that when the power is cut (which happens a bit in Sihanoukville) the aircon and hot water system won't work, but the fan and water will because a generator kicks in. This was not the case. Our fan worked only sporadically, and on several occasions I went to have a shower to find there was not only no hot water, but no water at all! I do understand power cuts are a way of life here, but for $40 a night I expect to get air con and hot water, as advertised. I spent most of my time hot, dirty and frustrated.

Another issue is noise - the main party bars are quite close, and as a result you can make out every word to every song blasting from the speakers till 5am. if you are one of the people dancing till 5am, it won't be a concern. On the nights we didn't go out, we found it impossible to sleep.

A final negative - on the last evening our bungalows roof started leaking. We came home from dinner to find one of the beds soaked. The barstaff moved the other bed to the other side of the room for us. But then the whole floor was dirty and wet. A minor whinge maybe, but I think it was all compounded by the lack of shower/air con situation!

There were a few good things - the balcony had great comfy chairs to relax on, and the bar is in a nice position over the rocks. But overall I was disappointed with the room and would not stay here again, or recommend it to anyone else. Staff seem nice but were pretty dopey.

I'd advise you to look elsewhere for a better place.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Broomegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Owner at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Broomegirl,
Unfortunately there were power outages during your stay in Sihanoukville, and as you've written, the air-conditioning and hot water are too consuming to use while we're on generator power. However, the fan, water, fridge, lights, and wi-fi are still fully operational at that time.
As the power cut was not for the entire 3 days you should still have had use of the a/c and hot water. Had the staff been made aware of your predicament they would have done their best to find a solution, and if you had no a/c for the duration of your stay you would have been charged at the lesser rate.
Please accept our apologies for your bad experience, I hope it didn't spoil your travels of Cambodia.
And yes, our staff are nice, and although Dopey has since left us, the 6 remaining dwarves are an asset to the business.
Kind regards,
S.Johnson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Nice location in front of the sea with a comfy terrace. Having said this, too expensive for what it offers, needs refurbiching and more amenities. The path that leads ther is not appropiate for all persons.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank backybacter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
410 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 269 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had four days in rainly weather, so spent most of our time at the bar. It is in a great location, and is just the right size. The rooms are sparse, and should really have bathroom doors fitted. The view from our deck was great though. For a small place like this, it is essential to have good staff, and the guys on duty were always up for a smile and a chat. They were always pleased to help when we needed anything. It also helped that they gave us great recommendations for places to eat. The place is up for sale but if the new owners have any sense, they will leave things exactly as they are (apart form adding bathroom doors). There have been some comments about the noise at night, and although it can be heard, it didn't affect our sleep, so didn't have any real impact on us. Over all it gets a "Very Good" for the bar and the setting, the rooms alone would be "Average".

Room Tip: Room 3 was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2012 via mobile

Had a great time at auos staff were great
Thanks a lot to all the staff ,Sharon, Ben , rob,Toni and mari
Real relaxing time, great cocktails, great time, best 2 weeks ever
Hope to see you all real soon
All the best
David

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coogee6952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syd
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

after checking a few place to stay on serendipity i find "above us only sky" and it's definitly the best place to stay in sihanoukville : a small piece of paridise, simple,beautifull and tasfull bungalows with a huge terrasse overlooking the water, best with AC. the owner and the staff are very freundly and very helfull. my daugther got sick in the night and they called right away a doctor who came 20mn laters. i spend 4 nights here and unfornunatly it was too short but we hope to come back. just stay on your terrasse or sit outside in the bar with some drinks and enjoy the wonderfull view...

Room Tip: best with AC, for a few $ more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fabSyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2012

After a week of having an amazing time in Cambodia we were excited to get some relaxing beach time. I have to say if you don't want to hear heavy dance music from midnight to 5am then DO NOT STAY HERE. I'm amazed at the other reviews that say this place is 'peaceful', 'quiet' and 'tranquil' and serendipity beach is sold as the chilled out side. The main late night beach party bar Is about 3 places away on Serendipity??? I had 2 nights of being woken up at midnight and staying awake till 5am and to make it worse the wireless in the room was not working to get me through. I could hear the songs word for word and can recite the djs playlist for you. This is the 1st time I actually prayed for a blackout (which apparently happens often here). Noise aside, this area was a disgrace. Rubbish lines the beach as well as the rocky outcrop in front of AUOS. The guys that run this place as well as every other business on this beach should be ashamed. Nobody takes responsibility for anything here. We honestly did not swim here as there were broken bottles, plastic cups and bags and even syringes lining the beach and in the water. The natural beauty of this place has long been destroyed and unfortunately for this stretch of beach I think it's too late. If your thinking of staying at the beaches in Cambodia skip this area and head straight to the islands or otres which have so far retained their beauty and traquility. But for how long? If you must stay here then for this price you could get something much better, the rooms are way outdated and expensive for simple bungalows. If you want a bungalow I'd say cloud 9 is a better option as it's cheaper and the Cambodian guy working their makes you feel more welcome over 1 dinner than the staff at AUOS did our whole stay. The only reason I have not rated this terrible is the staff were not bad people just vacant and clueless and I have a small ounce of hope that the right people could turn this business into something worthwhile. Start with setting an example and cleaning the rubbish in front of the bungalows at the water instead of sitting at the bar maybe? And learn from the Cambodians that greet their guests with smiles and treat them as though it is a priviledge to have them in your country and supporting your business and livelyhood.

2 worthwhile places you must see if you get stuck in this area are-
The 2nd day spa on the left as you walk up the street from Serendipity to golden lions. Best massage I have ever had. They are all well trained. I think it's called serenity spa.
And the art for children shop across the road where you can buy artworks by the children in the area that help support their education and upbringing.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LuxeNomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrianTipspig, Owner at Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows, responded to this review, March 24, 2012
Dear Sir/Madam,

Sorry you've had such a bad experience, and that you couldn't sleep for the loud music. As you've pointed out, other reviewers have stated it is 'peaceful', 'quiet', and 'tranquil'. So it isn't always as you have experienced it.
We were not aware that there was a problem with the wi-fi in your bungalow, we have now looked into it.
Each of the Serendipity Beach businesses are responsible for their immediate area. We personally employ a lovely man named Sophan who daily clears and tidies, and picks up any rubbish.
Cloud 9 is indeed a beautiful place to stay. The reason it is cheaper is that we also offer hot water and air-condititioning.
I am regularly complimented on our employees and customer service here, so I can't imagine how my staff have come to be 'vacant and useless'. We do endeavour to provide a good service and an enjoyable experience to all our guests and customers, so of course any valid points bought up by reviews here are considered and acted upon.

Kind regards,
S.Johnson
Above Us Only Sky
+855 (0) 898 22 318
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#26 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
0.2 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
599 reviews
0.3 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 234 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#68 of 234 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#73 of 234 in Sihanoukville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows

Property: Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Address: Serendipity Beach | 40meters From Boat Pier to Islands, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located on Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia. We have five detached deluxe beachfront bungalows with uninterrupted views of the sea and islands. Our bar serves beer in ice-chilled glasses, as well as an extensive range of the top cocktails we're famed for. Delicious local and Western cuisine can be enjoyed along with ocean views. Our bungalows have hot showers, fridge, fan or air-con, mosquito net, and free Wi-fi. There's also room to stretch out on the balcony for some chilled out days and nights, listening to the sound of the sea just below you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing