We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and quiet hotel with large balcony next to Victory Beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Harbor Lights Palace
Ranked #43 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seoul, South Korea
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful and quiet hotel with large balcony next to Victory Beach”
Reviewed March 3, 2011

La Reserve was a piece of Heaven after we check out of Coolabah. We were greeted by a very friendly staff and we enjoyed our large room with a big balcony overlooking a very lush landscape and the sea. We spent few hours at Victory Beach and enjoyed it - yes you are in Russian territory but we were there to enjoy the beach and relax so we had a few nice drinks and enjoyed a swim without hordes of people. Madeleine the wife of the managing director asked us what we would like for Valentine dinner and we had a very good meal on the terrace overlooking the pool. All the staff is very friendly and come from France but they speak English enough to understand their clients and the Cambodian staff is very helpful. Breakfast is included but it is very basic continental: baguette with butter and jam and coffee - if you want fresh fruits, eggs or cereals you have to pay extra. In all we enjoyed our relaxing 3 nights stay at La Reserve.

Louise
Canada

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise_in_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    19
    4
    6
    6
See reviews for
11
26
18
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the rooms are nice and airy and have big balconys.and the pool is a good size and clean.

The hotel is on a hill and a torch is a good idea to have for the small walk from the busy bar street (girlie bars but not too in your face). There is a restaurant called The Look which is very good in the street.

We had no trouble with the language in the hotel - you are in a foreign country so you expect foreign languages ; - ) and the manager, Alexander, spoke good english and was very helpful telling us where to go and ordering us tuk tuks.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NannyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerlo, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It’s a clean, big hotel but Victory beach was a bit disappointing. All the action is now at Serendipity. If you like to rest and want to sit at a quiet beach however, then Victory beach is your place to be.
The Hotel is runned by French people. It was a bit sad that they don’t speak English very well. It’s a must if you have a hotel that you can understand your client. The Cambodian staff on the other hand were sweet and nice. Their English is a bit better, but some of them are really shy.
We stayed in a deluxe room and it was more like an apartment. We had a living room downstairs, small kitchen, balcony, bathroom and bedroom. Upstairs we had another bathroom, a big bedroom and another balcony. The room was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing because only continental breakfast was included and you must pay extra for an egg, orange juice,… We didn’t know that before we arrived. We had one time lunch here and I found it to expensive for what you get. The taste however, was very good. When we stayed there in November the hotel seemed empty. We hardly saw other guests and it gave us a strange feeling. Only a few other French speaking visitors who seemed to know the owners were hanging around. It felt like we were visiting a huge villa of Frenchmen and we were allowed to stay here. Strange feeling.
The swimming pool is large but the chairs aren’t very comfortable. There is no bar at the swimming pool.
Overall the hotel is clean, but the atmosphere is strange. I would not recommend the place, only for a household with children (because of the swimming pool) or people who speak French.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zondagskindje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at La Reserve for 10 days. The staff were fantastic, even going as far as translating a letter (English to Khmer) for me at no charge. The room was very spacious and the large pool is kept immaculately clean. It is located close to beaches and local nightlife and has ocean views. The staff are helpful, polite, and discrete. This hotel is located about 10 mins from 'downtown'.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed in the Executive suites and while the main bedroom was adequate, the loft was not anywhere as nice and not suitable if there is another couple. The loft was very hot despite having an air conditioner, as it did not cool down to comfortable temperatures. The bed had a quilt without any sheet/cover so this appears to be not particularly hygenic. The owners were friendly and the bar is a nice area. It was advertised as having two bathrooms, yet the bathroom upstairs had no shower or toilet just a sink. In reality if we would have stayed in two deluxe rooms instead of a suite the price is pretty much the same and would have been much better. The bathroom is the part that let the place down as it was not clean and was very small, and most importantly did not have hot water. At times there was no water at all coming out of the tap. This aspect was very disappointing. The breakfast consisted of only bread and butter and jam. The place has a lot of potential but is not yet luxury or boutique - in particular the bathrooms and water needs work, but we are aware the owners are fairly new there and therefore there is plenty of future potential. The view from the room was very good with ocean views.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifeisbeaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2010

i stayed at la reserva in april 2010 with 6 friends.we paid $35 per night not the cheapest hotel in town but the owners and staff were all great and very helpful.food was very good ,free internet and a very big pool.big rooms that are clean and have tv,fridge,aircon .large balconys with great sea view..the owners patrick and his wife are very friendly.one of the staff a french guy called danny was allways on hand to help with anything,we enjoyed our stay here and would stay again...

  • Stayed April 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lesdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.7 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
121 reviews
2.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#16 of 74 in Sihanoukville
604 reviews
2.8 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#3 of 234 in Sihanoukville
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Backpacker Heaven
Backpacker Heaven
#8 of 146 in Sihanoukville
225 reviews
2.4 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#22 of 74 in Sihanoukville
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Lights Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Lights Palace

Property: The Harbor Lights Palace
Address: Phum 3, Sangkat 3, Mittapheap | Victory Beaches, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly La Reserve)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Lights Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cozy hotel restaurant all renewed with large rooms or suites all with terrace sea, garden and swimming-pool view.delicious french and khmer food served in the garden around the large swimming-pool.very quiet place 200m from all shops and restaurants and 150m from the white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Harbor Lights Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing