We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Desapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Harbor Lights Palace
Ranked #69 of 237 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I stayed one night, on friends recommendation and I have been very desapointed.
To be fair, the building itself is nice, large and well situated with a view on the see and a big swimming pool. The surroundings are quiet and the room was spatious.
But one notices at first glance the lack of care, the stains on the bedroom table and so on. In a nutshell the lack of soul and the need of serious cleaning.
The rest follows, deceptive breakfast included, not even a juice and dry slices of baguette.
Could have been so nice...

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alexparis183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 71 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed 4 nights in august 2011 in this lovely hotel on Victory hill, just a view minutes walking from Victory beach.

We travelled with our children (14 and 16 years old) and stayed in the spacious familyroom. It was larger than we expected, with two fully equipped bathrooms, a nice balcony with a view on the sea, a small ktichen (unfortunately not equipped) and two bedrooms wit comfortable beds. The appartment is not only spacious, it is also very tasteful decorated, with large wooden furniture, curtains and local touches. The swimming pool was clean and great! The first hotel where the pool in real life is larger than on the pictures.

The staff of the hotel is very friendly and helpfull. The French owner is very patient, our local travel agent phoned at least 20 times to the hotel, also during Siesta, but the owner stayed relaxed and friendly. We liked him AND his hotel!

There is just one small remark to make: the breakfast is good, but simple, just toast, jam with coffee, tea or hot chocolate. We missed the complimentary "croissant or pain au chocolat" in this French environment.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marleen-jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

First impressions were bad from the creepy, unshaven guy at the front desk. We were offered no info at all about when breakfast was, how to get to the pool, the WiFi code, bar opening hours etc etc. Nothing. Room was a good size was but tired-looking. No bin in the room which is just bizarre in this day and age. Pool was clean though seemingly full of the owners' mates. Haphazard service at breakfast. There's a strange feel about the place in general - almost as though you're an inconvenience to them - but the beds are good and it is fairly priced.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MeinBritisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2011

La Reserve was a piece of Heaven after we check out of Coolabah. We were greeted by a very friendly staff and we enjoyed our large room with a big balcony overlooking a very lush landscape and the sea. We spent few hours at Victory Beach and enjoyed it - yes you are in Russian territory but we were there to enjoy the beach and relax so we had a few nice drinks and enjoyed a swim without hordes of people. Madeleine the wife of the managing director asked us what we would like for Valentine dinner and we had a very good meal on the terrace overlooking the pool. All the staff is very friendly and come from France but they speak English enough to understand their clients and the Cambodian staff is very helpful. Breakfast is included but it is very basic continental: baguette with butter and jam and coffee - if you want fresh fruits, eggs or cereals you have to pay extra. In all we enjoyed our relaxing 3 nights stay at La Reserve.

Louise
Canada

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louise_in_Asia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, the rooms are nice and airy and have big balconys.and the pool is a good size and clean.

The hotel is on a hill and a torch is a good idea to have for the small walk from the busy bar street (girlie bars but not too in your face). There is a restaurant called The Look which is very good in the street.

We had no trouble with the language in the hotel - you are in a foreign country so you expect foreign languages ; - ) and the manager, Alexander, spoke good english and was very helpful telling us where to go and ordering us tuk tuks.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NannyDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2011

It’s a clean, big hotel but Victory beach was a bit disappointing. All the action is now at Serendipity. If you like to rest and want to sit at a quiet beach however, then Victory beach is your place to be.
The Hotel is runned by French people. It was a bit sad that they don’t speak English very well. It’s a must if you have a hotel that you can understand your client. The Cambodian staff on the other hand were sweet and nice. Their English is a bit better, but some of them are really shy.
We stayed in a deluxe room and it was more like an apartment. We had a living room downstairs, small kitchen, balcony, bathroom and bedroom. Upstairs we had another bathroom, a big bedroom and another balcony. The room was clean and quiet.
Breakfast was a bit disappointing because only continental breakfast was included and you must pay extra for an egg, orange juice,… We didn’t know that before we arrived. We had one time lunch here and I found it to expensive for what you get. The taste however, was very good. When we stayed there in November the hotel seemed empty. We hardly saw other guests and it gave us a strange feeling. Only a few other French speaking visitors who seemed to know the owners were hanging around. It felt like we were visiting a huge villa of Frenchmen and we were allowed to stay here. Strange feeling.
The swimming pool is large but the chairs aren’t very comfortable. There is no bar at the swimming pool.
Overall the hotel is clean, but the atmosphere is strange. I would not recommend the place, only for a household with children (because of the swimming pool) or people who speak French.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank zondagskindje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2010

I stayed at La Reserve for 10 days. The staff were fantastic, even going as far as translating a letter (English to Khmer) for me at no charge. The room was very spacious and the large pool is kept immaculately clean. It is located close to beaches and local nightlife and has ocean views. The staff are helpful, polite, and discrete. This hotel is located about 10 mins from 'downtown'.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anthony226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2.1 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
618 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#14 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sihanoukville Plaza Hotel
Sihanoukville Plaza Hotel
#36 of 76 in Sihanoukville
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#22 of 76 in Sihanoukville
354 reviews
1.9 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
389 reviews
1.8 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#3 of 237 in Sihanoukville
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harbor Lights Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harbor Lights Palace

Address: Phum 3, Sangkat 3, Mittapheap | Victory Beaches, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly La Reserve)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 237 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $34 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Harbor Lights Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very cozy hotel restaurant all renewed with large rooms or suites all with terrace sea, garden and swimming-pool view.delicious french and khmer food served in the garden around the large swimming-pool.very quiet place 200m from all shops and restaurants and 150m from the white sand beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Orbitz so you can book your The Harbor Lights Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Reserve Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing