We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and views!”
Review of 8 Elemento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
8 Elemento
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great location and views!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We only stayed at The Cove Beach one night but we had a good experience. The bungalows are very cute and clean; ours included a porch with a hammock and chairs. The view was remarkable and worth the climb to our room - althought it was quite a climb, so be prepared.

The breakfast was pretty good and the location was right on the beach, but off the main strip so noise wasn't a problem. We were able to walk everywhere and had access to the beach just a short walk away from the bungalows.

Check-in is located on the beach at the bar, which also serves food and offers lounge chairs so you don't have to go far to relax. The staff was helpful and held our bags between check-out and when our bus arrived to take us to our next destination.

I would recommend this place if you're looking for a quiet spot with views within walking distance of all the action in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenthlisten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    58
    26
    22
    19
See reviews for
14
64
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bulli, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I stayed there with my partner last year and have just got around to writing a review. Firstly the pros- The view and location, you just can't beat it for the price. Your room's view will literally look like the photo they have up here, amazing. Now for the Con's- there are termites in the bungalows, each night i would fall asleep to the sound of termites munching on the pylons that hold the bungalow to the cliff. Not comforting at all, and really threw me off. The bathrooms - don't expect much. Despite this you have to remember you are in a third world country and your not really paying much. You pay for what you get. However, management need to learn not heighten expectations beyond what they are willing to provide, otherwise customers will be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you have walking difficulty then you'll find it hard getting to the hotel and then even more...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Takemeaway213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2012

We had a hard time finding a place to stay in Sihanoukville, as we were visiting over the lunar New Year. Ended up at The Cove, and were quite happy with it (although a little annoyed about the price--we were told they went way up over the holidays). Bungalows were basic but clean and comfy. Nice balcony with great view. Good bar along the water (not beachside, but you will appreciate that when you see the beach).

All this said: I encourage you to skip Sihanoukville altogether and head straight for Koh Rong! We stayed there for four nights, but could have spent three times that (see my review for Lonely Beach). It is amazing. (You can't see your toes in the water when you swim off the beach in Sihanoukville, but you can see the ocean floor when you swim off the beach anywhere around Koh Rong).

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acdubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
120 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2012

There are several pros to staying at The Cove. The location is great, you feel slightly secluded from the main strip. It is quiet. The staff are nice, especially Nick who does his best to accomodate everyone. We stayed in one of the A/C rooms up the hill. The belcony is awesome, but that’s the only good thing I can say about the room. The cleaning staff clearly don’t know what a clean toilet looks like as there was mould all over ours. I personally cleaned it with some wet wipes. The bed sheets, pillow, and towels also smelt of mould, as did the generally everything in the room. This place has such potential, but I think there is a serious mould problem that needs to be addressed, and no matter how much orange air spray you spray, you can not mask that smell. My clothing still smelt like mould four days after leaving.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baivw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at 8 Elemento, responded to this review, July 14, 2012
Dear BAIVW.

Thanks for the head's up on the mould in your room. Mould is a real issue in the tropics, and our cleaning staff work ever so diligently to keep our rooms mould free and fresh. It becomes more problematic as the monsoon season approaches and the humidity increases. Thoroughly cleaned rooms can shows signs of new mould growth after only a day of two of being vacant so we always add a few more tasks to the daily cleaning schedule such as airing vacant rooms daily etc to keep it at bay. While we are a month or so away from the monsoon (Wet Season), your comment has shown me we need to begin the monsoon cleaning routine early this year. Sincere apologies we were not onto it sooner.

Kindest regards,
Nick.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We stayed here on out trip to sihanoukville as the place was recommended by a fellow tourist who we met at the hotel in Phnom Penh. The place is walking distance from the most popular bar in sihanoukville (jj's) which can be noisy at night. The view from the bungalows up the beach is not as great as it is on the beach itself.. There is a beach bar and the rooms are adequate for the price, although there are slightly cheaper options available also but the location and comfort is great. bring mosquito spray. Immediately on the right side after a few yards is an isolated atretch of rocky beach which is very pleasant. Snorkelling tours leave from very close to the lodge. recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

Fantastic location right on the beach and just far enough along the beach strip to not hear all the loud noises from surrounding bars. The view from the rooms are absolutely amazing!! Staff are very friendly and willing to help you with any questions you may have. Rooms are very simple but still cosy. Their is quite a steep walk to get to your rooms - so perhaps not a great option for disabled or elderly. The menu is very simple but it is easy to walk to other bars and restaurants along the same strip to eat and drink at. We would return to sihanoukville and the cove in a heart beat - a highlight of our trip and wish we had more time with Nick, soviet and the crew.

Room Tip: the rooms with the best views require quite a hike up a massive stair case. Not good for those with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliciaandKieran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2012

I stayed at the Cove towards the end of April, opting for an AC room. I had read the reviews here beforehand and had a couple of concerns, but they were not realised. I found the noise from the bars to be barely audible from the bungalow and it was great to see that some of the issues raised (clarity of what was included for breakfast being one) had been acted upon.

It's a great spot, just away from the bustle, but close enough to be right there if you want it. I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GregH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Bao Mai Resort
Bao Mai Resort
#33 of 74 in Sihanoukville
101 reviews
0.2 mi away
Serendipity Beach Resort
Serendipity Beach Resort
#26 of 74 in Sihanoukville
473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#67 of 234 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
0.2 mi away
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalow...
#26 of 234 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cloud9 Bungalows
Cloud9 Bungalows
#71 of 234 in Sihanoukville
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Elemento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Elemento

Property: 8 Elemento
Address: Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly The Cove Beach Bungalows)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — 8 Elemento 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Beach Bungalows are located right on the Serendipity Beach. 180 Meters to the right, from the pier on Serendipity Beach. The Cove Beach is located over a 60 meter hillside that has natural lush hillside facing the magnificent Serendipity Cove where we are located. We have 8 traditional Khmer style AC new wooden bungalows, 6 AC rooms 1/2 & 3 bed as well as two 3 bedroom apartments. Our final addition is two 4 person dorms. All AC bungalows and AC rooms are located in tropical garden settings and have covered balconies with spectacular ocean views. All rooms are equipped with cool-fans and a cold/hot water shower. The restaurant serves Western & Khmer dishes. We also boast a 25 meter chill deck over our beach side location and an 4 x 6 meter beach bar. Great for cocktails and ice cold beer when you need a retreat from the heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your 8 Elemento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Beach Bungalows Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing