We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best place on our Cambodia trip, we'll be back!”
Review of 8 Elemento

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
8 Elemento
Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed here for the last 5 days of our 3 week holiday in Cambodia. We booked an A/C room which was brilliant and cooled us down after a day in the sun. It has everything you need including a balcony with comfy chairs and a hammock which looks out over the sea. You couldn't ask for anything more.

The food is excellent with the Amok highly recommended, the best we have tasted during our whole trip to Cambodia. The service was also very good, with the staff very eager to speak English and add to their vocabulary and returned the favour by teaching us some Khmer.

It is an amazing place to stay right on the sea front, and we found ourselves relaxing there most days with some refreshing drinks from the bar. It is about 50m down the beach away from all the crowds, excellent for relaxing on holiday.

They opened their new bar during our stay and we were invited to the 'opening night'. The bar is an excellent place to meet other travellers and also has the superb view. I can't write this review without mentioning the best Cuba Libre cocktails we have ever tasted. They were sublime and lets just say we had several during our stay.

Thanks to Nick, Pagna and the rest of the staff for making our stay enjoyable and memorable. We will definitely be back, hopefully sooner rather than later.

David&Sarah

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

100 - 106 of 157 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2011

Nice bungalows with good views, the hammock at the balcony is a plus point. Feels great to just lay there and enjoy the sea breeze and warmth fron the sun.
Laundry service can be improved though. We lost a T shirt and one side of the socks. We lost our socks in Siem Reap too, and like wise, the best they can offer is an apology. Also, the place does not operate 24/7. We had to leave before 7 am and had to settle our bills the night before. We forgot to claim back our deposit and by the time we realize in the morning, there was no one at the counter to refund us.
The staffs there are really nice and friendly to chat with though. When we arrived way earlier than the check in time, they even set up a place for us to rest/ sleep while waiting for the receptionists to report for work.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Airveee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights in one of the Bungalows with AC. Whilst the AC didn't seem work very well, the room itself was reasonably clean and we had great sea view from our balcony. The staff were helpful and organised a day tour for us to the surrounding islands. The included breakfast was freshly prepared and the bar down the bottom was a great for relaxing at the end of the day with a drink.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PaulGMcC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2011

This used to be my chosen place to stay for a quiet weekend away from the big smoke and a cementing of business partnerships. Now it's not much more than a rubbish dumb. They have expanded rapidly and left a huge pile of bricks and cement in the ocean, meters high! And that's just the start of the defacement they've caused. When I tried to talk to Pagna, the manager about it he didn't want to listen. Very poor service.

Room Tip: Head to another beach, this one is ruined
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PPexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickJThomas, Public Relations Manager at 8 Elemento, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2011

Dear Sir.

We are sorry that the experience you have had this time in March was not up to expectations. As we have posted previously re-development work of both the Cove Beach Resort and coastal area around Serendipity is in fact under way. Yes, you are correct that rubble has been left beach side and with the new development of our restaurant and clearance of our new complex and zero rear access has meant that unfortunately we have not been able to relocate the broken masonry. As you came only in March you will find that if you come again the whole coastal Serendipity area is going through some brilliant renovations with the incorporation of a 6.4 path and promenade that will be in a natural style. Giving access not only to Serendipity Beach itself however round to Sokha Beach as well. We do understand guests passions about our location and neighbors and do understand people don't like changes, we are in Cambodia and unfortunately some changes take longer than others. We are almost there and hope that if you come again you will enjoy the re-development of the Cove Beach Resort as alot of our existing repeat as well as new customers do.

Regards,

TCB Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2011

I just finished my 3 night stay at Cove Beach Bungalows and would most definitely go back and stay there.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly and the bungalows were more than adequate for the price and great location right on the beach..

Each bungalow has amazing sea views and hammocks and chairs on the balcony to relax.

Great little restaurant/bar area to just chill out and free WIFI as well

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JacquiB1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickJThomas, Public Relations Manager at 8 Elemento, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2011

Hi Jacqui.

Thank you so much for your lovely comment about our location and we are extremely happy you enjoyed yourself here at The Cove Beach Bungalows. If you manage to come out before November please don't forget to ask about discounts.

Kindest regards & safe onward journeys wherever they take you.

TCB Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2011

I agree with the last reviewer: remember, this is Cambodia and the tourist base is still not fully developed. If you can put up with some minor inconveniences in exchange for a unique experience, you will like this place.

Firstly, The Cove arranged for a tuk tuk to meet us at the bus station for half the asking price of the drivers waiting at the station. Our driver even got out and walked us along the beach to The Cove, helping us with our bags. The Khmer staff who greeted us and assisted us throughout our 3 days here were warm and friendly and eager to practice their English, although they got a kick out of the few words of Khmer we were able to speak to them.

We stayed in one of the hilltop apartments, with rigorous stairs - not for you if you are elderly or out of shape. The view is amazing; the rooms are very basic but pleasant enough. Food at the beach bar is sooooo good (try the grilled pineapple and barracuda), and reasonable. With its rattan chairs, reading material and friendly staff, it's a great spot to sit and watch the water away from some of the busy-ness and hassle of the main beach.

It rained heavily while we were there and the power went out a couple of times - once in the middle of the night and once while we were at a restaurant down the beach. Relax. Have a drink and enjoy the silence of no air conditioners before they all come back on. The roof in our newly constructed room also leaked the first night. Staff apologized and we were moved to another room the following night. No big deal; it had not rained since the room was constructed and they did not know it would leak. You can choose to roll with these kind of things as part of the experience, or have it ruin your vacation. The important thing was that staff were responsive.

This is a quiet end of the beach away from some of the begging and aggressive selling on the main part of the beach. The Child Safe policy is important, and I both respect the hotel for signing on and understand 100% why it is necessary, but it can be a bit awkward. Our teenagers made friends with a couple of the teenage bracelet sellers on the beach who wanted to practice their English with them. One 14 year old girl told me she was selling bracelets to pay for her English lessons. Anyway, when the Khmer kids saw our kids in the Cove beach bar the next day, they came in to say hi and were asked to leave. It's a double-edged sword and can be heartbreaking.

Bottom line: if you don't mind some minor inconveniences and want to support an emerging tourist industry in a breathtakingly beautiful country, you will like this place. If you want a 5-star resort, you won't.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoFixedPlans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickJThomas, Public Relations Manager at 8 Elemento, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2011

Dear Sir / Madame.

Thank you kindly for the comment you have left for us here on Trip Advisor.

We try very hard to make is as comfortable as possible for people and as such understand that some persons requirements may differ from others. Again thanks for your kind comments and we are so glad you enjoyed staying with us.

Further:

We discourage under 18's from approaching and entering our business as we are Childsafe registered. One of only 20 (possibly more) here in Sihanoukville. The Children are sent to the beach to work by their parents and as such to stop this from happening we have to discourage children entering our business whilst still making sure they are safe. It is a hard transition for the Khmer staff here however over the last 4-6 months the message has got across. More information can be found online about Childsafe in Cambodia.

Again thank you for your comment and remember that repeat customers to the Cove do receive discounts in low season so please don't forget to ask.

Kindest regards,
TCB Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2011

A short walk along the beach past the other bars to the Cove. A nice part of the town to stay in. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We wanted a bungalow with a fan which is what we got but there are A/C rooms available and different types too. Rooms have a good view out to the sea. Double bed with a clean mosquito net. It did not have any holes in it. The fan was quite powerful. Balconies have a hammock and there are chairs and table too.
They are currently expanding with more rooms being built next door so when it's finished it should be good.
Some reviewers I think forget they are in Cambodia. As long as you appreciate where you are and what the local people have or infact do not have then your stay in Sihanoukville will be nice.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank abutler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NickJThomas, Public Relations Manager at 8 Elemento, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2011

Dear Andy.

Thanks for your frank, honest & positive review. You have raised a good point in that understanding Cambodia does in fact help you to enjoy your stay whether here or anywhere else in disjointed Sihanoukville.

The Khmer Staff are very warm hearted and do go the extra mile and I have seen it everyday for the last 12 months.

This will come in time. I will pass on your comments and I know it will please them.

Safe onward journeys & best wishes.

Kindest regards,
The Cove Beach Management Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#17 of 76 in Sihanoukville
623 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
357 reviews
2.1 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 76 in Sihanoukville
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Benny's City Hotel
Benny's City Hotel
#105 of 155 in Sihanoukville
19 reviews
1.8 mi away
Spayhiti Guesthouse
Spayhiti Guesthouse
#1 of 240 in Sihanoukville
103 reviews
0 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#105 of 240 in Sihanoukville
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Elemento? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Elemento

Address: Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville, Cambodia (Formerly The Cove Beach Bungalows)
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $31 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — 8 Elemento 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cove Beach Bungalows are located right on the Serendipity Beach. 180 Meters to the right, from the pier on Serendipity Beach. The Cove Beach is located over a 60 meter hillside that has natural lush hillside facing the magnificent Serendipity Cove where we are located. We have 8 traditional Khmer style AC new wooden bungalows, 6 AC rooms 1/2 & 3 bed as well as two 3 bedroom apartments. Our final addition is two 4 person dorms. All AC bungalows and AC rooms are located in tropical garden settings and have covered balconies with spectacular ocean views. All rooms are equipped with cool-fans and a cold/hot water shower. The restaurant serves Western & Khmer dishes. We also boast a 25 meter chill deck over our beach side location and an 4 x 6 meter beach bar. Great for cocktails and ice cold beer when you need a retreat from the heat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your 8 Elemento reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cove Beach Bungalows Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing