We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful and great value for money”
Review of Ocean Walk Inn

Ocean Walk Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ocean Walk Inn
Ranked #158 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful and great value for money”
Reviewed October 13, 2010

I found this guesthouse to be a very friendly place with a very social feel to it. The staff were very welcoming and happy to assist. The food here in particular is amazing value and they serve the best breakfasts in Sihanouk Ville by a mile!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shadrew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    11
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
2
15
16
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2010

Location was great, halfway between the nightlife and the beach. Definitely a case of getting what you pay for however. Not somewhere to spend a lot of time, mainly just used it as a base. No hot water, the sea was warmer than the showers! Not too expensive, but make sure you question the prices - HostelWorld quoted me less than the manager, and bringing this up got me a discount. Doesn't stay open late, if you're coming back in the small hours of the morning someone has to get up to let you in, which can be a bit of a hassle. Overall, not a bad place to stay - but there are better options.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sycophantic_laughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanWalkInn, Owner at Ocean Walk Inn, responded to this review, August 20, 2010
Dear Madam,

You are quite correct in your statement when you say, and I quote "if you're coming back in the small hours of the morning someone has to get up to let you in". You did fail to say that the security guard is stationed right outside the door which you need opening, so it's hardly "hassle".
My other option is to leave the doors wide open, so any Tom, Dick or Harry can walk in, and most probably steal all your belongings. I think I’ll stick with the security guard, as I’m sure most people would prefer this option.

Your second point of, and again I quote, "No hot water, the sea was warmer than the showers". Well the room type you booked, but obviously didn't read quite clearly states "this room has a bathroom with cold water only". The reason the sea is warmer than the showers is the sea has sun light shining on it all day (and warms it up), and the water for the showers comes in pipes underground, (where it's cooler) common sense really.

As regards the price, I did make a mistake and mixed two room bills up. We have now implements procedures to make sure this doesn't happen again, and can again only apologise once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
Reviewed August 11, 2010

We stayed one night in Aug 2010. First, I called the hotel to pick-up us up (as agreed by email) but I was told the hotel does not provide such service. Not very pleasant after a long and tiring bus ride from Siem Reap. When we finally arrived at the hotel, I couldn't tell who the staff was. No one greeted us or helped us with our luggage. It was also odd that there was no check-in procedure like in all guesthouses/hotels.
I booked 3 'Deluxe' rooms and were given 2. The third room we were given was very small and not comfortable. The bathroom was outside of the room, with a big hole in the ceiling. The A/C for the room was installed inside the bathroom/toilet (not outdoor). Given the fact that anyone could use the toilet, I thought it was disgusting. The other rooms were spacious but not what you would expect from a 'Deluxe' room. We felt like it was old and certainly not cozy. It was also noisy at night (at least the night we stayed).
We did not try the food at the restaurant.
Though the owner seemed nice, I really think there is a lack of professionalism in this guesthouse. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Germany
1 review
Reviewed July 14, 2010

Stayed here recentely and can strongly recommend this Hotel/ Guest House.
+Attached Restaurant serves great Food and is good value for money (e.g. Muesli for Breakfast comes in BIG Bowl with fresh fruits, yoghurt AND milk on the side).
+CLEAN KITCHEN, which is rare seen in Cambodia.
+Spacious and clean Rooms with Hot Showers, SAT TV and Free WiFi (good speed).
+ Management & Team very friendly and professional.
+Good Location - only 3 minutes walk to the Beach and it's many Beach Restaurants and Bars.
+Security all night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RTW-Traveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2010

We arrived in Sihanoukville and this place was full so we stayed else where and moved to Ocean Walk Inn, the rooms are spotless clean and very reasonable (we were playing $8.00 for a double room with fan). The manager is English and very helpful and the staff are ever friendly and always have a smile for you. They serve Western and Cambodian dishes and we managed our way through a fair few dishes and are yet to have a bad one. If your craving a British fix, the homemade chips and gravy hit it on the head. We left after 6 days and returned a week later for 4 more nights. You are 2 minutes from the beach. Would recommend this place to anyone. Were sad to leave the second time.

Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sharoninjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2010

I booked in for one night and stayed three months Mathew and his staff became friends...restaurant has good reasonably priced food and drinks....rooms clean and security excellent.. 1 minute from beach,shops and bars...Only complaint a treacherous cat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Handsome5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2009

Found this place after staying at a nearby guesthouse and decided to change. One of the cleanest guesthouses in the area and only 2 years old. New owner was excellent and friendly. Great value and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nene26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,466 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Zana Beach Guesthouse
Zana Beach Guesthouse
#23 of 234 in Sihanoukville
99 reviews
4.3 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
699 reviews
4.4 mi away
Golden River Bungalows
Golden River Bungalows
#48 of 234 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Walk Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Walk Inn

Property: Ocean Walk Inn
Address: Serendipity Beach Road, Sihanoukville 47005, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Ocean Walk Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing