We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value hotel, great location”
Review of GBT 3 Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
GBT 3 Guest House
Ranked #168 of 240 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 27, 2010

Stayed at the GST for 4 nights in September 2010. We had a walk around Serendipity Beach area (where best restaurants and beach side bars are in Sihanoukville) and decided upon the GST because it was the cheapest twin room with A/C we could find and in fact was in the best location!

We negotiated the twin rooms to $10 per night with A/C and hot water. Rooms were clean, comfortable bed and wooden safe with keys which we used to lock away our money.

Staff were friendly and we booked mopeds through them for one of the days for approx $3.

The location is great - about a 5 min walk to the beach.

Theres a restaurant, but we tended to head to the beach for the evening bbqs.

Remember its Cambodia, don't expect the highest of standards and you'll be very happy.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

65 - 71 of 102 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2010

Tremendous value for the location, has a good restaurant, very efficient staff (radios, "is your food ok", etc - as if they've been trained to western standards). The "bad road" will hopefully be improved soon but it's passable by tuk-tuks except in the very worst of rain.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KryshMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2010

We stayed there for 3 days, we checked in, didn't know that it wouldn't be possible to sleep. there was loud music till midnight, then at 4 am again for one hour and again from 7 am. you could hear every word from the 2 neighbor rooms.

but the worst was definitely the staff. unable to smile, unable to be helpful. and they called us liars as well. they gave us a broken motorbike with a whole in the wheel, we were lucky, that we'd no accident and we should pay this!

never again! we made such great experiences in Cambodia, met the nicest people, but this was really a come back to the ground. after that we leaved to vietnam.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank calaudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

I stayed here for 4 nights while visiting Sihanoukville, the location is very good being only a few metres from the beach and close to lots of beach bars and eating places.
The rooms were great value at the $15 I paid for a double air con room but they do put the price up over the Khmer New year so watch out for that. (a lot of Cambodian hotels do this), the rooms are clean and if you are on a upper room facing the sea the view is good as well from your room.
The in house laundry service was good and very cheap.
They have a good internet room with plenty of PC's
The resturant and food was OK and there are plenty of other eating options close by.
I guess overall the only down side to this place is the access road you have to go on to get there, (to Serendipity Beach) it is a rough gravel road with lots of pot holes and hard for the tuk tuk or motorcycle taxi's to navigate, it is only about 500 metres of rough road but is does spoil the location a bit.
But overall as far as the hotel itself goes i would have to say it was great value for the money and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baz W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

At first glance, this hotel looked to be perfect. It was twenty meters from the beach, and had sea-view air-con rooms for only $18, which when split between two people is an incredible deal. Like any visitor to a beach resort, we only used the room for sleeping and showering.

First, credit where credit is due - the good points of the hotel... its proximity to the beach is great, the rooms were clean and the shower was decent. However, this is one of those hotels where you must insert your key chain into the wall in order to keep the electricity on, which is fine for saving people from keeping the air conditioner on all day, but the room also had a mini fridge which was also turned off whenever you removed the key. The hotel's electrics need work, as throughout the night, we'd experience brownouts, and the air conditioning would stop and the lights would dim.... it took a good three hours to get the room cool enough to sleep.

The biggest gripe we had was the service, or lack thereof - the staff were all either stoic or unfriendly. Our group of four would meet in the restaurant out front in the mornings, and we'd get something to eat... not once did they get our orders right the first time - and the wait staff was impossible to locate when we needed them. When we'd be sitting and waiting without ordering food, we got the distinct vibe that we were not welcome to sit unless we ordered something from the restaurant... even when we sat there having a beer or water that we bought from them. Upon leaving, they tried extort us for an extra $10 on our bill. We had two rooms, one A/C for $18 and one fan room for $8. They tried to charge us $10 for the fan room, not the $8 we were quoted. We argued that they never mentioned a difference in price between the lower floor (which were all occupied) and the higher floor (where there were vacancies). The clerk started getting hostile and kept insisting he told us $10 and not $8, and called us liars. We refused to let him extort us, so we threw down the amount we were quoted at first, and left. I would never recommend any hotel where the staff calls its customers liars, especially since it was a difference of $10 out of a total bill $130.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank frozendonkeywheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2010

This was the second place that a tuk-tuk driver took us to upon arrival at Sihanoukville bus station. The beach is a bit far from the station so we were somewhat at their mercy. Anyhow, he was obviously getting comission, but it worked to our advantage. The hotel looks fairly new and is just steps away from the beach as well as many bars and restaurants. Too be honest we spent very little time in the room as hey - there is a beach! Overall I would recommend though as it was definitely good value for $14 a night!

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Azeret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2009

We absolutely loved this place - ended up staying for 5 nights and loved every one.
The hotel is BRAND new, sparkling, and the staff did everything they could to make us feel at home. We took the $15 no-sea-view room because we had work to do, and it was large and spacious, with cable TV, aircon, a very comfy bed and (most impressive of all) a warm shower with good water pressure. It even had a bath!
We ate at the restaurant our first night because we were too tired to go elsewhere, and we were blown away. Easily the best food we ate in Cambodia - try the butter garlic prawns for dinner, and the lemon and sugar pancakes for breakfast.
Nothing but compliments for this place - they organised us a great Bamboo Island tour, and they even sell you water at the same price as the local supermarket. What a treat to find somewhere not intent on ripping you off!
Our kind of place.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missybridget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.1 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#105 of 240 in Sihanoukville
78 reviews
2.6 mi away
Pat Pat Guesthouse
Pat Pat Guesthouse
#8 of 240 in Sihanoukville
136 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
Mick and Craig's Guesthouse
#22 of 240 in Sihanoukville
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 76 in Sihanoukville
679 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 76 in Sihanoukville
1,547 reviews
4.2 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 76 in Sihanoukville
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GBT 3 Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GBT 3 Guest House

Address: Serendipity Beach Road, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 240 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $16 - $30 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — GBT 3 Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your GBT 3 Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gst 3 Guest House Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing