We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staying and chilling by the beach”
Review of Cloud9 Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Cloud9 Bungalows
Ranked #73 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Skopje, Republic of Macedonia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Staying and chilling by the beach”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I liked that i have an ocean view from the balcony.
It is a bit noisy at night, listening to people partying at nights, but that was ok with me.
I'd just prefer hot water in the showers.
The staff was great, nice atmosphere overall.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buketcicek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    23
    13
    21
    14
See reviews for
6
59
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2010

We are sorry but we can`t agree on all the outstanding reviews of this place.

First of all there it is to say that no hotel/guesthouse in Sihanoukville is directly on the beach since there are the restaurants only. Cloud 9 is located near the main beach (which is pretty "Mallorca style" = crowded, beach chairs all over the place, hawkers as well), maybe 7 minutes walk. In front of the hotel is no acess to the water because the rocks are blocking the way. Neither does the hotel have enough (they provided three in total) beach chairs to hang out there. Who want's to take a dip in this wastewater anway?

The bungalows are nice, spacious and clean and the attached balconies all have oceanview. BUT no roomtype has aircon. We stayed there in December and the heat was unbearable during night. No wonder they have not installed hot water showers, the cold water is just what you need (and a bucket of ice with cold drinks in it!). And yes, you'll hear the music and partying from the beach. Wi-Fi works or works not in the room.

Food seems to be nice, we had a quick bite and breakfast (not included). Service is quite exceptional, once staff (Paul in our case) knows your name, he'll use it at every opportunity.

Conclusion: USD35/night for no air-con, cold water, no breakfast, no beach access... you might get better deals when shopping around in the neighbourhood. We moved to Pagado Rocks up the hill, away from the crowds, where we got an even bigger bungalow with fridge, air-con, big bathroom, bathtub with hot water, pool and breakfast included for the same rate.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a-million-miles-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2010

The rooms are small but have everything that you need, and is very good value. The staff that run the restaurant and bar are great and the food was good every time.

The location is great in the fact that you dont get too many hawkers pestering you while you relax looking over the water. You can swim right out the front of the bar too...all be it a little rocky.

My only gripe is the noise of some bird or insect during the night. Sounded like an alarm that ran for several hours during every night. Having said that, most of the neghbouring bungalows probably had the same issue. The noise of the nightclubs was barely audible. Perhaps the alarm insect was just at this time of the year.

Despite this small hinderance, the place was so chilled out during the day, that I never felt tired.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2010

Cloud 9 bungalows are located at the end of Serendipity Beach which is great because its far from the party crowd. The bungalows are built on the hill and from your balcony you enjoy an amazing view. Imke and her team are fantastic. Everyone meets at the bar in the evenings and you feel at home at once. The rooms are spotless clean, pretty and the cold shower is not really cold :-) The food is delicious and Imke, Pauly and all the staff love to share time and laugh with their guests. I can only recommend this place!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pitchounette73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2010

We had a great stay at Cloud9. The staff are really attentive and go out of their way to help. We extended our stay as we enjoyed it so much and because ther wasn't a room for our last night we were put in the owner's guestroom! The location was great, relatively quiet and really relaxed. The rooms were spacious, basic with verandas with great views and the food was extremely good. As a place to stay, we can't really fault it we would just advise booking onward bus tickets through them. We wanted to go by bus to Kep, however, one of the staff said he could book us onto a minibus with all the mod cons air con etc and because he had been so attentive our entire stay we had no reason to doubt him....the next day the driver collected us, however, when we got to the minibus I seriously thought this was the interim one to take us to the proper one. We had to pass our packs through a window as there seemed to be a problem with the boot and once inside the main door only seemed to open from the outside....it seemed a liitle bit of a death trap. There was no aircon and by the time there were no seats left and they were still cramming people in we decided to get off and forfeit the money...if we'd known the state of the vehicle then we would have probably booked elsewhere, I guess the lack of honesty left a bit of a bitter taste in our mouths....despite this, Cloud9 was a fantatsic place to stay just a bit of a disappointment at the end.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lululock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sai Gon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

I've stayed in Could 9 for two times and those time were the best memories of mine in Sihanoukville. The view is gorgeus and their food is fabulous. I love their Tom Yum and banana shake, one of the best in town. Imme & Mike, Paul, Sopal are amazing and friendly. Even the stairs are really high but the other are worth.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HiJenn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Despite confirming our booking a day before, we were told the room was not available as we were supposedly meant to confirm it 2 days before. Not a great service.

Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank inna_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Sihanoukville hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.3 mi away
Coolabah Hotel
Coolabah Hotel
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
599 reviews
0.1 mi away
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalows
Above Us Only Sky Bar & Bungalow...
#27 of 234 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tranquility Guesthouse
Tranquility Guesthouse
#68 of 234 in Sihanoukville
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Malibu Bungalows
Malibu Bungalows
#75 of 143 in Sihanoukville
117 reviews
0.3 mi away
8 Elemento
8 Elemento
#55 of 143 in Sihanoukville
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chochi Garden Guest House
Chochi Garden Guest House
#8 of 234 in Sihanoukville
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cloud9 Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cloud9 Bungalows

Property: Cloud9 Bungalows
Address: 13 Mondol 4 | Serendipity Beach, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cloud9 Bungalows 2.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All the bungalows have a sea view, beds with mosquito nets, ceiling fan, balcony, hot shower, hammock, wi-fi, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Cloud9 Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cloud9 Bungalows Hotel Sihanoukville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing