We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis of peace”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Had heard scary things about Sihanoukville and was delighted to find that my hotel choice was so good and in such a great location. Good restaurant and walking distance to several other excellent ones. All the staff were happy and very friendly and helpful. Room was fine and quiet on 2nd floor with good view from balcony. Laundry service excellent. Breakfast choice good and tasty. Close to beaches.
Plan to re-visit for longer.

Room Tip: Not on ground
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ianc594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 613 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

Arrived way before check in and we were given a warm welcome and showed to our room...very nice.
Our room was on the 2nd floor very spacious, a little basic but comfortable and clean...had a nice view of garden.
The hotel in General is well kept, has a nice small pool and a fun happy atmosphere created by the nice staff.
We had dinner at the hotel and the food was simply AMAZING, we d eat there every night of our stay but wanted to explore. But well done to the chef, really tasty , innovative and fresh. If you visit Sihanoukville do come and have your meal at COOLABAH.
Breakfast was not included, but it's served until 3pm and has a wide variety.
We hired a couple of scooters from the hotel. These were safe and the person was very nice in telling us the pros and cons etc...( need an international driving licence!!!) still we enjoyed riding them, we felt safe and a nice way to discover Sihanoukvile.

The hotel is well situated, a 10 mins ( if that) walk to the beach, a little crowded and with loads of vendors ( massage,manicure etc) these can be very annoying and do not get involved with them, we did and it cost us an argument and more dollars then in a proper spa!!!! Following day we saw the same thing happening to other people...so just say a polite NO otherwise you will get hassled!!
Unfortunately, the nice white sandy beach attracts loads of different sort of beggars( old people, people with no legs,children etc... This goes on and on.....yes it's sad, this should be monitored as it is a real pain!!!!!
But if you wish for no disturbance head for OTRES beach it's a lot quieter.....but a lot further too!

We found the area very buzzing with bats,restaurants shops etc....we felt safe and happy to go around. We ate at a small restaurant ( come out of hotel) left hand side; they do BBQ fish ( you choose) very fresh and taste for something like $5 with a beer....and further along the road too.
So nice clean and tasty.

There is a nice supermarket that sell very cheap wine,vodka,cigarette and much more.
We bought wine,spirit and cigarettes for our daughter who lives in Bangkok as all those products were so much cheaper!!! Even some French " expensive" wine back at home was great value !!!!!

We also used the laundry service and that was ok!!!

Generally we loved our stay at this lovely hotel and in Sihanoukville. We will for sure recommend and hope to come back one day.
Thank you to all the team at Coolabah.

Room Tip: 2nd floor is quieter but choose this for location,food and friendliness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ladyejc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Management was stuck up, this place was over hyped up. Location good, but I don't need the stuck up attitude. There are enough decent hotels for cheaper in the area. Doesn't really fit into Sihanoukville's vibe- the crowd and management here like to feel above the fray and locals. Either go really upscale and stay at a nicer place or slum it and stay at a local hotel, but this aussie owned and run hotel accomplishes neither but a stuck up attitude.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank artichoke78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 4 night and cannot praise it enough. The rooms were spotless, cleaned perfectly and spacious. We used the laundry and what an amazing service they provide. We are english so thought we would try the roast on the sunday, this was unbelievable. I didnt get to meet the chef responsible but I wish I could have. everything was cooked perfectly and presented beautifully. Breakfast tbe next day was equally as well cooked. I wish I could give better than excellent. Excellent hotel, excellent food.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Birdy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I can't say enough about this hotel. The rooms were very spacious, clean and well maintained. The staff were great, extremely helpful and they all have great English. The manager Ken is a super nice genuine guy. You can't not like him. The food in the restaurant was unbelievably good. The pool is nice and clean and gets plenty of sun. Great location - close to the beach and a two minute walk from the Centre of town. I would only stay here if I was going back to Sihanoukville.

Room Tip: All are good. My room was on the ground floor by the restaurant and pool. Didn't hear a thing an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WanderingM00se
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

Usually I wouldn't mind coming to Sihanoukeville and not having a pool. Except at the moment the beach is covered I. Jelly fish. So The pool was an amazing alternative! Our room was just outside the pool, it was spacious, clean and modern. Value for money was second to none. Staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. Would stay here again

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simone B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Stayed here recently for 4 nights.

The rooms are very nice with flat screen TV, mini fridge in room safe mirror and on suite bathroom.

This is the only hotel i've been in that has no telephone though.

ceiling fan along with air con was a big plus.

very small pool outside the room.

The hotel operates laundry at a respectable $1 per kilo and does a nice job.

Located just a few minutes walk from Serendipidy beach.

Bed was very firm and i woke up with backache every night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vonnie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 75 in Sihanoukville
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#16 of 75 in Sihanoukville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 75 in Sihanoukville
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,512 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $26 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing