We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is outstanding.”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This ambience of this hotel is immediately appealing. The foreign management and the local staff are reassuringly pleasant and helpful. The rooms are fresh and comfortable. The restaurant serves appetising food. With its excellent location, there is little to criticise. It mattered little that the leaking wash basin was not fixed. Our overriding reason for giving this hotel top marks is, however, because of the honesty and efficiency shown by the staff, when a lost wallet, containing a good deal of money, was found and returned to us via the minibus to Phnom Penh.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robertandsoonhee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (613)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

248 - 254 of 613 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2013

Coolabah is a great place but not as pretty as the website and pictures describe. We were placed in a very simple yet very spacious standard room with an equally spacious bathroom. There was little light in either room but this seems to be the norm in many hotels in Cambodia. We also had a very large window but given the rooms placement, no natural light ever showed through. With the rooms next to the pool as the exception, it appeared that most first floor rooms seemed to have the same lighting problem. The upstairs rooms with balcony areas looked like they would have been the way to go. When it comes to food, my boyfriend and I can be quite picky and the restaurant at the hotel didn’t disappoint. The hotel employees were very nice but the previous reviews made me expect much more.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2013

location wise coolabah is at a great junction spot, giving easy access to wherever you need to go. it is also just around the corner from all the noise, meaning you get peace and quiet when you need to sleep.

the rooms are clean and neat, with all necessary amenities. decent showers with good pressure. mini bar and television and wifi available. there is also a little swimming pool with a few deck chairs. everything is clean and well maintained.

the restaurant downstairs is easy with a good selection of dishes at competitive prices in town.

sihanoukville itself leaves much to be desired with a beach full of litter, so i would skip it altogether, or use it as a passing base out to the islands.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thistravelingdesignr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is very reasonably priced and offers good value for money. Rooms are big, clean, have an in room safe, and a private bathroom. It's nothing fancy though. Small pool on property. Also has a restaurant. I had breakfast there every morning which was okay. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Location is ideal in terms of walking distance to bars, beaches, etc. Hotel also offers free wifi. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ciahasher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I booked this hotel after reading reviews here on tripadvisor. The hotel staff was friendly and efficient. The rooms were big, modern, and clean. It is a couple of blocks from the beach and the price is good for what you get. There was a safe box in the room, which I have to have. Many people find rooms around the area for as little as three dollars but for the thirty or so dollars I paid I had privacy, a nice bed and clean private bathroom. I never ate at the restaurant because I was told breakfast was not included in my price. They told me it was about three dollars a day to add it, and my booking confirm said specifically $1.80 breakfast plan....I didn't bother to show them though since I figured If I had to pay anyhow, I might as well go out and explore. I did take a dip in the pool, but it is a bit small. They did have free wifi throughout the property. It is not a big property and it is not oceanfront, it is efficient and clean. There were lots of places to eat and drink in the area including beachfront. I would recommend this property but for myself I might try something else next time. As much as most aspects of the hotel are very good, for the price (Cambodia is cheap) I only give it Average.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TopramenSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed here for one night while passing through Sihanoukville. It's location is unbeatable in terms of being in a quiet spot, yet only a lazy 5 minute stroll from the beach and immediately central to all shops/restaurants etc. The hotel itself leaves somewhat to be desired, with a leaky handbasin, luke warm water, a very musty smelling room and the pool area having the ambiance of a last minute 'tack on' - due to being in immediate sight of the restaurant and minimal seating. That said the room was very cheap at $34nz. However the staff were very kind and helpful, and the restaurant was DELICIOUS!! I really recommend the seafood platter!!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Netts42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Staff was very nice, rooms are clean. Affordable and decent restaurant. Good English and 3 min walk from beach. I would recommend this hotel to other travelers. My boyfriend and I enjoyed the balcony view ( 50.00 us and 30 with no view)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Liz Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#20 of 75 in Sihanoukville
349 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 75 in Sihanoukville
384 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#16 of 75 in Sihanoukville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 75 in Sihanoukville
657 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 75 in Sihanoukville
1,512 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#1 of 75 in Sihanoukville
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 75 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $26 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing