We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony rooms are good size”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Great Western
Level 6 Contributor
200 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Balcony rooms are good size”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Well organised hotel with clean, modern rooms. WiFi is good. Stairs, no lift, but staff will assist with luggage. Staff are friendly & accommodating. From the balcony you have partial sea views. Pretty well located and quiet, certainly at the back. Small pool. Appears to be very secure.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are very quiet. Front may be quiet as well, I don't know.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pearler47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    230
    99
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
253
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
ABERYSTWYTH
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Happened to call @ Coolabah after arriving back from Koh rong, covered in bites, absolutely filthy and in desperate need of a good night sleep and aircon!
Danny the manager was lush throughout our stay, very welcoming, friendly and helpful.
The room was perfect for what 3 travelling girls wanted, spacious, clean, fresh with a lovely shower. A stay in this room meant we could carry on travelling, it was looking bloody rough before hand, koh rong nearly killed us!
Also, lovely menu in the restaurant, full of things i hadn't seen in asia so far like cauliflower puree, scallops and the regularly craved bagels smoked salmon and creamcheese for breakfast! Yes we're aware we're slighty flashpacker-esque!
Stay here- it's lush!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eilat, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spend 3 single nights there going in and out from the islands.
the location is very good, close to all the travel agencies but still quit at night.
the hotel service was good and the rooms are big and clean.
we also ate at the restaurant, the food is nice but over priced, the shakes are very good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RonyLahav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night between arriving from Siem Reap and departure to Koh Rong. This is a perfectly decent hotel with big rooms, AC, a proper shower, small pool. It is located off the main street in a very central location and really close to the dropoff location of the ferry from Koh Rong.

We were on the ground floor which made it easy to access. Right outside the pool but not loud at all. Bed was comfortable - we had one queen bed and one single bed for a double-room occupancy, which was nice.

Service was fine -- staff was friendly and check-in process was smooth.

Food tip: We got an iced tea upon arrival for free and had it again before we left because it looked and tasted so nice

One big gripe I had was about the toilet. It flushed really slowly or not at all, so it would take three to four tries to get it to flush every time. I asked the manager and he said this was normal. However, I have to say it felt a bit stressful. Not sure if this is normal for all hotels in Sihanoukville?

I think this is a good option for those in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at Coolabah Hotel 1 night - in transit between Siem Reap & Koh Rong Island.
I would say this is a safe choice considering Sihanoukville is not the greatest place... But cleaned hotel, well located, friendly staff, etc!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataleeD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights In May, I called hotel day before to make booking , check in quick easy, had room by pool, quite surprised the size of it , ad 1 double bed and 1 single in it, bathroom good size also with a separate shower, food and drinks good , friendly staff ,
only thing which I didn't mind too much as I don't send all my time in the room while on holidays anyway , was the room opened right on pool, so couldn't open curtains as all could see in when walking past to get to all other areas of hotel, but at night they were closed anyway.
, it's in a good location lots bars shops I walk past to get to beach about 200m down hill. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If u want privacy, and want curtains open , and it is dark inside even in day time as the lights are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormskirk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Western standards. Clean rooms, attentive, friendly staff. Lovely restaurant where you know you can eat anything on the menu without worrying. Slightly more expensive than local places but considerably better standards

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristineOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 74 in Sihanoukville
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing