We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, big rooms and nice location”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here for one night between arriving from Siem Reap and departure to Koh Rong. This is a perfectly decent hotel with big rooms, AC, a proper shower, small pool. It is located off the main street in a very central location and really close to the dropoff location of the ferry from Koh Rong.

We were on the ground floor which made it easy to access. Right outside the pool but not loud at all. Bed was comfortable - we had one queen bed and one single bed for a double-room occupancy, which was nice.

Service was fine -- staff was friendly and check-in process was smooth.

Food tip: We got an iced tea upon arrival for free and had it again before we left because it looked and tasted so nice

One big gripe I had was about the toilet. It flushed really slowly or not at all, so it would take three to four tries to get it to flush every time. I asked the manager and he said this was normal. However, I have to say it felt a bit stressful. Not sure if this is normal for all hotels in Sihanoukville?

I think this is a good option for those in Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (626)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

271 - 277 of 626 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2013

Stayed at Coolabah Hotel 1 night - in transit between Siem Reap & Koh Rong Island.
I would say this is a safe choice considering Sihanoukville is not the greatest place... But cleaned hotel, well located, friendly staff, etc!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NataleeD26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here 3 nights In May, I called hotel day before to make booking , check in quick easy, had room by pool, quite surprised the size of it , ad 1 double bed and 1 single in it, bathroom good size also with a separate shower, food and drinks good , friendly staff ,
only thing which I didn't mind too much as I don't send all my time in the room while on holidays anyway , was the room opened right on pool, so couldn't open curtains as all could see in when walking past to get to all other areas of hotel, but at night they were closed anyway.
, it's in a good location lots bars shops I walk past to get to beach about 200m down hill. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: If u want privacy, and want curtains open , and it is dark inside even in day time as the lights are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

Western standards. Clean rooms, attentive, friendly staff. Lovely restaurant where you know you can eat anything on the menu without worrying. Slightly more expensive than local places but considerably better standards

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChristineOrmskirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

The staff and management great, Rooms are top rate and VERY clean.Meals are top class. As you walk past their palm trees at the entrance, you become relaxed. A peaceful haven to return to at the end of the day.
I would recommend to anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Australian50plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The staff at the Coolabah are superb. The rooms are a bit on the small side and have no view, you even have to keep the curtains closed due to the people walking outside so close by. The pool area is a bit compact and walled in so it gets a bit hot due to the lack of a breeze. The beach is walkable in 5 minutes but for the money one would want to be closer.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Frannk982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After reading the reviews on this hotel I was undecided about staying there but I sure was glad I did,it was avery pleasant surprise the check in was very smooth and professional showed me
all the rooms available and took a ground floor room next to the pool which I swam in every day it was kept in sparkling good condition. The food was outstanding and very very reasonable for the quality so ate there at least once or twice a day,the room itself was also Above standard the bathroom also modern and clean the room was huge the bed large and comfortable the air con also worked very well the owners and staff were all very friendly.

Room Tip: Ground floor very easy quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diverSydneyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 78 in Sihanoukville
693 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#24 of 78 in Sihanoukville
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 78 in Sihanoukville
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#6 of 78 in Sihanoukville
132 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 78 in Sihanoukville
1,597 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 78 in Sihanoukville
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 78 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $37 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing