We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Perfect!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The hotel is in a great location with good food and clean rooms. The staff are friendly and helpful,

Be sure to make your way down to the Dolphin Bar on the beach for cheap drinks and good music

What more could you ask for.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kicken_wing1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    228
    98
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
248
89
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
461 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

With a couple of days up our sleeve on our Cambodia trip we thought it might be nice to visit the coastal region near Sihanoukville and get a feel for the place. The accommodation choices in the region are not extensive with one very expensive island resort and a lot of other places which don’t rate all that well. We chose the Coolabah Hotel because it rated higher than most on a range of rankings, but clearly the name of the place distracted quite a few lost Aussies from reality. Certainly, we felt the connections to Tripadvisor represented around the hotel were a bit over the top.
Given the reasonable prices at the Coolabah, we decided to splurge on a suite. However, the designation “suite” here is a misrepresentation. The “suite” does have a separate bedroom which is air-conditioned and a sitting room which is not and which gets very hot. With temperatures exceeding 37 degrees C, the sitting room becomes a very hot passageway to the bedroom. Thus, for all practical purposes the sitting room is an unusable extension of the bedroom. Even with the bedroom air going full blast we could not get any temperature reduction in the sitting room. And Sihanoukville is pretty hot most of the year, so what is the point of describing this room a suite when the main room is unusable?
Otherwise, the “suite” had a small fridge which would barely cool a water bottle in the freezer. Maybe it just could not cope with the ambient temperature of the sitting room? The big TV in the sitting room, which we did not use because it was too hot to sit in front, had a screen smeared with something sweet and ugly. As a final insult, the furniture in the sitting room looked and felt to be a discard from a flophouse circa 1960. Great room.
A bathroom, with blocked drains and a sink tap which fell of defies description.
A final issue of some concern for the security conscious was the main entrance to the “suite” which was a sliding glass door. It appears that the lock had been jemmied some time in the past and the frame was distorted so there was a centimetre or two of free play. It seemed that the lock could be easily levered and opened from the exterior. Maybe crossed fingers might work.
We have nothing negative to comment on the service of the place, since just about all the staff seemed to be half asleep most of the time, and the in-house restaurant was unattractive as a throughway to the guest rooms and we found quite a few useful restaurants elsewhere.
Actually, given the dangers on the bus ride getting to Sihanoukville and the terrible management at Sihanoukville “international” airport (which is another sad story for later), it might be best to save up for the exotic resort off the coast, go to Kep where there is an well priced nice hotel on the beach, or avoid coming to the region until it grows up a tad.

Room Tip: Go to Kep instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Constant T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

good value for money in a small town. Food was well priced and well presented. Enjoyed the hosts company and his conversation. A pleasant experience in a slow town (over new year so town quiet).
Rates well on price cleanliness location and food.
Thanks to all.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arget007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Probably good value for money but I only stayed one place. I did look and other guest houses but they all seemed dirty. Restaurants in this town also looked dirty.

Coolabah was fairly clean but the furnishings were a bit aged. I slept well. The bathroom was quite nice, especially the shower cubicle.

Pool was a bit small, but OK. Lounge bar was OK too. Staff were helpful and friendly. Language wasnt a problem. Food quite good. Wifi dodgy.

I guess I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjlondon2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lavender bay
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

a little hotel near the beach.
they provide a free tuktuk pick up from the bus station
the owner is very nice and friendly they always make sure we are properly attended,so as the staffs.
The rooms are although basic and might need a little repainting, is good enough.
The restaurant serves good food although you can find some cheaper option around.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I have found Coolabah to be amazing. The staff are absolutely the shining stars of this place, the service is 5 stars, the rooms are clean and the location is great. The food at the restaurant is fabulous. Our kids have been treated beautifully by the staff. I wholeheartedly recommend the Coolabah.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntypatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thailand
Level Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall Ok maybe sikonville itself a little down market

we were given a room n the top floor, our mistake we did not know what a hike it was, in fairness hotel offered to change room but we had unpacked

No telephone in room so when problems on internet had to do major expedition to reception, no nad rails on steps, no lift

Room basic materesses pretty hard no coffee making facilities, no glasses in room, fridge only just worked and air conditioning very slow, may need gassing up

New chef in resteraunt, on board of specialities just said new chef, I enquired how he would be cooked, never did see him despite eating there three times

Menu far from as inspiring as their webb site

all staff very friendly and many of them, Russian lady as hostess with the mostess some nights other nights more hdden away but very friendly even though I was with my wife, if I had been alone I am sure she would have been even more attentive

general manager Danny from England very helpful and sent us to a couple of very nice beach bars, Pappa Pippo on Otres beach and the best Browns on Victory beach, that probably had some of the best value food and drinks in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a telephone or one of the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#8 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Resort
Legacy Hotel & Resort
#13 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#19 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing