We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here!”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
2 reviews
“Stay here!”
Reviewed April 10, 2013

My family and I have found Coolabah to be amazing. The staff are absolutely the shining stars of this place, the service is 5 stars, the rooms are clean and the location is great. The food at the restaurant is fabulous. Our kids have been treated beautifully by the staff. I wholeheartedly recommend the Coolabah.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auntypatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    230
    99
    37
    18
See reviews for
53
253
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Overall Ok maybe sikonville itself a little down market

we were given a room n the top floor, our mistake we did not know what a hike it was, in fairness hotel offered to change room but we had unpacked

No telephone in room so when problems on internet had to do major expedition to reception, no nad rails on steps, no lift

Room basic materesses pretty hard no coffee making facilities, no glasses in room, fridge only just worked and air conditioning very slow, may need gassing up

New chef in resteraunt, on board of specialities just said new chef, I enquired how he would be cooked, never did see him despite eating there three times

Menu far from as inspiring as their webb site

all staff very friendly and many of them, Russian lady as hostess with the mostess some nights other nights more hdden away but very friendly even though I was with my wife, if I had been alone I am sure she would have been even more attentive

general manager Danny from England very helpful and sent us to a couple of very nice beach bars, Pappa Pippo on Otres beach and the best Browns on Victory beach, that probably had some of the best value food and drinks in the area

Room Tip: Ask for a telephone or one of the lower floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlandPawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

At first we were not convinced as the general location is grubby and the pool is very small and this is what you see first, However this place definatley grew on us and eventually proved to be a winner considering the state of the town and beach. The rooms were very clean and well appointed for the price, the staff were helpful, if not a bit personal....( which happens a lot in Cambodia)the management have a fantastic grasp on what tourists want and deliver with style. Would come back if not for the poor state of the beach which is no fault of this establishment, but for which all local business should take ownership of.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank searover69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Staff was very accommodating when I had a problem with my shower and gave me a new room. It was within walking distance of the beach and many places to eat. Their breakfast was good and filling and that was the only meal I ate their. An ATM machine is conveniently located right in front of the hotel. Air conditioned and clean.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cvhclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Rooms were clean and included a safe. Staff friendly and helpful.
Nice pool, restaurant and bar. Great drinks by the pool.
Easy walking distance to the beach and many restaurants.
Laundry was cheap and nicely done.
Would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizianp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Clean airconditioned room, modern bathroom, helpful staff and manager. Easy walking distance to restaurants and beach. Restaurant good too, ate there one night. For the single malt scotch drinkers-that includes my husband- the bar has a great selection of unusual and difficult to find in the USA whiskies. Apparently the owners are Australian and Scottish! A good find!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toggletail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitchener
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is clean and the service is great. The pool is good except they should supply towels at the pool. The location is hanging to restaurant and stores. The staff were great for helping they ordered bus tickets and helped us to find a good beach. All in all a good stay and wouldreturn.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morgason1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#3 of 74 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#14 of 74 in Sihanoukville
459 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
346 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#18 of 74 in Sihanoukville
121 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing