We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great cozy place”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Orford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great cozy place”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is small but nice and the staff is really attentive to your needs. The manager is very professional and the location of the hotel is perfect for people who want to be close from downtown where all the action is, but in a more quiet area.

The hotel is small and cozy, the pool could be bigger, the jaccuzi seems to be useless since it is 40 degrees Celcius outside but the ambiance is good and the rooms are great.

Too bad they don't have see view and that they are a bit far from the beach...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathlitalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    229
    98
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
251
89
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This was a great place to crash in the lazy beach town. The manager is great and very accommodating – we screwed up our arrival date, coming in a day late. He kindly offered to split the first night we missed. He also helped with some great recommendations and transportation arrangements.
Rooms were nice and clean and included all the amenities you’d expect:
A/C – remote controlled, cold, featured swinging arm and sleep mode (if you don’t want to run it all night).
In-Room Safe – large enough to fit my laptop along with other valuables.
Mini-Fridge and 2 free bottles of water/day – Pretty much necessary given the hot and humid weather. Fridge isn’t as cold as I was used to in the states, even on the lowest setting. That said, stick the water into the mini-freezer and you can enjoy a brain-freeze later in the day.
Shower – Rainfall style shower with good pressure. Hot water is plentiful. Shower stall/cabin was a bit small for 2 people ;), or 1 standard American.
My favorite feature of the place was the restaurant. The food was really good and reasonably priced, as were the drinks and the wine list. What really amazed was the French restaurant manager – he ran a tight ship and was training the local Khmer staff. The training showed as the service at the restaurant was excellent. We had a chance to chat with him for a bit and he had a very interesting story/background.
Hotel offers laundry services that are extremely well priced – $1/kilo (or 2.2 lbs for you non metric people).

Overall this was a lovely place to stay at, I would definitely stay there again.

P.S. For the commenter who was disappointed with blandness of food: That's basically anything in Cambodia that's not sold on the street (Street food is delish). While the manager of the restaurant is French, the chef and all the cooks are Khmer. The manager is slowly changing some of the dishes, but he is sensitive to the fact that he is an outsider (despite having been in Cambodia for 20+ years) and he is taking his time to implement change. That said, we had the seafood platter for 2 and it was amazing.

P.P.S. Did notice the mold smell.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed at Coolabah on New Year's eve. After 3 nights at one of Koh Rong's backpacker style accommodation, Coolabah's airconditioned rooms, clean sheets and bathroom was a warm welcome.

Staff was helpful, smiling (as all Cambodians) and efficient. Hotel is basic but comfortable. Has a homely feel. It is at a very convenient location close to Serendipity Beach at about 5 minutes walk. Serve decent coffee.

The only small negative is that the room for some reason smells very strongly of mould but it is quite clean and it does not really disturb you after the first step.

We stayed in 2 hotels in SHV and if I go back, I would probably book this one again.

Room Tip: Try to get the balcony room at the top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank atreides75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ukraine
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2012 via mobile

The room smelled strongly of mould and the shower drained onto the bathroom floor. Aside from that it was a lovely place to stay. I do think they should have tea and coffee making facilities in the room though.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phnom Penh
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

For the price, represents good value. A convenient spot close to bars and restauraunts. Clean rooms. Staff very well trained, always very pleasant, helpful and efficient.

The only grumble I have is that some of the food is just so bland. I tried a few things and had a toasted tuna sandwich that just did not taste of anything - hard to imagine how that is possible. Other items on the menu also a little underwhelming. A little closer attention paid to the preparation of food and Coolabah would be in for five stars.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have large windows, which may be what you are looking for... some on first and sec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlastairPhnomPenh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Had a great stay at Coolabah. The staff were attentive and helpful, booking trips for us and giving advice. One night I was ill and the waitress offered to get me honey from her own house to help my stomach! They were very kind.

The pool is fairly small but very clean. We were in a triple room and it was big with good bathroom.

The restaurant food is very good and I recommend eating here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SallyinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I stayed at the Coolabah Hotel for a week in October as part of a month in Cambodia. To be honest Sihanoukville was not my favourite destination in the country, although I did enjoy day trips to the islands, Otres Beach and the national park. I found Ochheuteal noisy, crowded and not overly clean and I disliked being told to avoid unsafe areas, not matter how good it was for my own security. However, I did very much enjoy my stay at the Coolabah. The hotel was very well run, and Danny and his staff were extremely helpful about all my arrangements. Little touches like laundry at $1 a kilo (instead of per sock) were appreciated. The breakfast, although not included, was the best I had in Cambodia with Illy coffee, fresh juices and lovely English style bacon. Just around the corner is the Seaview Villa which serves superb seafood. The beach is a few minutes walk away, and lovely Otres beach a short $2 tuk tuk ride away. The staff were fantastic, friendly and helpful. All in all, a lovely stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeTraveller00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#10 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#7 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
3.5 mi away
Legacy Hotel & Resort
Legacy Hotel & Resort
#15 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 73 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing