We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but...”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Reviewed November 3, 2012

a very nice place. cozy room, clean pool. Senvis 5. Delicious food.
but after a week I wanted something familiar, across the road was a great family restaurant.
Good location, anything you can found in Sihanoukville, is located in this area Ochheuteal Beach

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Buyan2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

327 - 333 of 622 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2012

Worst out of the 3 other hotels we stayed in during time in Cambodia.

Pool was green upon arrival. Room said to be superior but had no privacy, shower leaked, no hot water, only warm. Toilet seat loose. Free internet made 'dial up' look fast.

All other hotels we stayed included breakfast. 2 of those hotels had a cheaper tariff then the Coolabah and one of those also included free laundry for up to 5 items per person per day. Coolabah gave you NOTHING.

The layout was poor, with you having to walking through the dining area to get to your room. It had a backpacker element to it, so did not live up to the reputation it tries to convey.

It is owned / run by foreigners (Aussie of Pom) and the arrogance of management to think they have a superior product offering is just ridiculous. It was not run in accordance with Cambodian Culture.

Room Tip: Do not stay in this hotel, that is all I can say
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

stayed 3 nights early Oct 12. friendly, helpful and welcoming staff, great food and decent pub quiz!. rooms were clean and modern and the pool was a great addition, location was spot on - few mins walk to serendipity beach and short tuk tuk to otres beach. plenty of places to eat/drink nearby too

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibongo3577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived in and were met by friendly staff. After ordering our drinks we were given and extensive menu , I opted for the grilled fish of the day , swordfish which was served with veg and mashed potatoes , presented well and tasted beautifull. 10 Out of 10

Stayed: October 2012
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in a room with 3 beds with my friends.
The family room is nice except the restroom part (the shower head goes off and whirlpool bathtub doesn't work properly)
One special thing about this hotel is that there's no phone in the room to call to the reception.

Feel so free living over there.
The pool is small but just enough (from shallow to deep)
It's super convenience as there only one street away from ochheuteal beach and a few streets away from clubs. I can walk around with my group of friends.

The breakfast there were awesome.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sapphiresea_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed with a group of friends for three nights. The rooms were modern and kept spotlessly clean, and the air con was much appreciated. The service from all staff was friendly and helpful, and for us (Aussies) it was great to have some UK ex-pats working there also to help us arrange taxis etc. and give advice on things to do/not to do. The food at the restaurant was about the best that we found in Sihanoukville, with mostly Western meals on offer. I did get eaten alive by mosquitos one night sitting in the restaurant, so would advise others to use repellent.

For the price we couldnt have asked for better, and can highly recommend the place to other travellers.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked the balcony room, but found out it was basically a terrace out of the room shared by 3 rooms. We didn't spend any time enjoying this so-called "balcony". Our room was spacious and clean. The TV got many channels and with a DVD player. We did borrowed some DVDs at the reception. Unfortunately, the DVD player in our room only played black-and-white, even though the films were defiantely color. We were not able to fix it, so we ended up watching movies using our own laptops instead.

The pressure of the shower was very weak and the temperature was not steady. The AC in room was bit noisy. We had to turn it off after a while.

The restaurant in the hotel made excellent seafood. We had a seafood platter for 2 and it was so yummy.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and we booked the bus tickets back to Phnom Penh through the hotel front desk.

Room Tip: No need to choose the balcony room cos the "balcony" is not in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank yvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
2 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#10 of 76 in Sihanoukville
679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#21 of 76 in Sihanoukville
357 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#15 of 76 in Sihanoukville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#5 of 76 in Sihanoukville
127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 76 in Sihanoukville
391 reviews
4.4 mi away
Ren Resort
Ren Resort
#3 of 76 in Sihanoukville
531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 76 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $38 - $69 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing