We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal”
Review of Coolabah Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Coolabah Hotel
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great meal”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We arrived in and were met by friendly staff. After ordering our drinks we were given and extensive menu , I opted for the grilled fish of the day , swordfish which was served with veg and mashed potatoes , presented well and tasted beautifull. 10 Out of 10

Stayed October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gerard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    230
    99
    37
    17
See reviews for
51
253
92
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed in a room with 3 beds with my friends.
The family room is nice except the restroom part (the shower head goes off and whirlpool bathtub doesn't work properly)
One special thing about this hotel is that there's no phone in the room to call to the reception.

Feel so free living over there.
The pool is small but just enough (from shallow to deep)
It's super convenience as there only one street away from ochheuteal beach and a few streets away from clubs. I can walk around with my group of friends.

The breakfast there were awesome.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sapphiresea_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed with a group of friends for three nights. The rooms were modern and kept spotlessly clean, and the air con was much appreciated. The service from all staff was friendly and helpful, and for us (Aussies) it was great to have some UK ex-pats working there also to help us arrange taxis etc. and give advice on things to do/not to do. The food at the restaurant was about the best that we found in Sihanoukville, with mostly Western meals on offer. I did get eaten alive by mosquitos one night sitting in the restaurant, so would advise others to use repellent.

For the price we couldnt have asked for better, and can highly recommend the place to other travellers.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMMelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

We booked the balcony room, but found out it was basically a terrace out of the room shared by 3 rooms. We didn't spend any time enjoying this so-called "balcony". Our room was spacious and clean. The TV got many channels and with a DVD player. We did borrowed some DVDs at the reception. Unfortunately, the DVD player in our room only played black-and-white, even though the films were defiantely color. We were not able to fix it, so we ended up watching movies using our own laptops instead.

The pressure of the shower was very weak and the temperature was not steady. The AC in room was bit noisy. We had to turn it off after a while.

The restaurant in the hotel made excellent seafood. We had a seafood platter for 2 and it was so yummy.

The staff was very friendly and helpful and we booked the bus tickets back to Phnom Penh through the hotel front desk.

Room Tip: No need to choose the balcony room cos the "balcony" is not in the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I are currently backpacking around SE Asia, and we took an immediate disliking to Sihanoukville - even after staying on Otres beach for 3 nights. We checked into Coolabah for a little bit of R&R before travelling on. We initially booked the suite, but on arrival, we were given a balcony room as the suite was taken. A mix up with the booking did not get of to a great start. However, we were very pleased with the balcony room - was spacious, had a double bed and single, cable tv, DVD player, fridge and best of all - a big, hot REAL shower!
The staff were all lovely and the food was delicious!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We stayed two nights at Coolabah in August 2012. It was ok. Very clean, modern bathroom and nice view from the second floor. But one big problem, a cold welcomming from staff at our arrival and no smile in waiters and waitress faces at diner and breakfeast was very disapointing. A place to stay if you want a bug free room, but if you are searching for more, you should think of another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

You'd never find something like this for anywhere near the price in the States!
This place is a no brainer. Nice, comfortable modern rooms. Very clean! Good location.
The pool was an excellent bonus!
The staff were very friendly.
The owner, "V", was very friendly and very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AUSfoodie49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.4 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 74 in Sihanoukville
368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#15 of 74 in Sihanoukville
455 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#9 of 74 in Sihanoukville
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Tamarind
The Tamarind
#17 of 74 in Sihanoukville
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#19 of 74 in Sihanoukville
342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolabah Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolabah Hotel

Property: Coolabah Hotel
Address: 14 Mithona St, Ochheuteal Beach Road, Sihanoukville SHV1, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 74 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Coolabah Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new international standard hotel by Ochheuteal Beach offering well-appointed stylish rooms with luxury bathrooms and quality fixtures. Famous Seafood Terrace specializing in fresh seafood and Australian steaks including their own Aussie Meat Pies. Their air-conditioned Outback Bar/Lounge is great with live music throughout the week and a popular Pub Quiz on Monday Nights. The Jacuzzi Plunge Pool is a fabulous addition with massages and beauty treatments available. Well worth a visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coolabah Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing