We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Don Bosco Hotel School
Nearby Hotels
$84
$62
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$35
$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Otres Lodge(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
$20
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Club Resort(Sihanoukville)(Great Value!)
$27
$23
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Divers Hotel(Sihanoukville)
$29
$28
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Tamarind(Sihanoukville)
$22
$17
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$43
$36
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sahaa Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$106
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sokha Beach Resort(Sihanoukville)
$130
$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamu Hotel(Sihanoukville)
$73
$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (287)
Filter reviews
287 results
Traveler rating
198
67
17
1
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
198
67
17
1
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfishing villageyoung cambodiansshuttle busshore excursionpoor familiestraining hotelwonderful tourworking lifetuk tuktechnical skillshotel boastsan institutionquiet surroundingspool and gymhotel locationsingle bedtown centre
Filter
Updating list...
133 - 138 of 287 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2013

This place is a gem. Don't be put off by the slightly remote location, it's a $4 tuk tuk from the beach area. Wonderful friendly staff who have a level of enthusiasm that is rare for room rates like these. The hotel is a teaching hotel and expect everything to be done by the book - including turning down my bed before bed - just amazing really. Can't recommend this place enough. Spotless luxury with wonderful staff (students), great food and a swimming pool any hotel would be jealous of. I'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Neil T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

The employees are mainly students who appear to be in training to work in upscale hotels and restaurants. Therefore service is more like a five star hotel than a $20 a night hotel. The restaurant seems to be run by a barang with culinary training. The quality and presentation of the food is very good for the price. The hotel has a pool and a weight room. The rooms are good sized and have clean well appointed bathrooms. The only down side is the location. It's about three miles from the beach and city. I walked it once and it took about an hour. Since a moto is only about $1.50 it makes sense to use the free shuttle and motos.

The only negative I would note is that an older barang women who runs the place made a negative comment about a student/employee in the shuttle that was audible to guests. I have worked in the hospitality and professional services industries in the US and that kind of thing is unprofessional and generally not done. Customers do not need (nor want in my case) to know about HR issues.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Great overall experience and for such a worthy cause! My friends and I booked 2 rooms at Don Bosco and ended up staying 3 nights in total. Both rooms (1x superior and 1x standard) were great. This was the cleanest and most welcoming place we've stayed in Cambodia. We are budget travellers and although this was at the steeper end of our price range ($20 and $25 a night)  it was well worth it. All the students are lovely and friendly, theres an immaculate pool, restaurant and gym. We especially loved the free shuttle bus that will take you to all the main spots in Sihanoukville (and pick you up) three times a day. It was really nice to stay somewhere away from the tourist drag and to know your money is going towards something truly worthwhile. We also loved the fact that although we ae young backpackers we didn't feel out of place or uncomfortable in the hotel or restaurant. If you get a chance stay at Don Bosco and help these students work towards their bright future! Thanks guys!

Room Tip: Superior room was alot bigger and brighter compared to the standard plus had a small balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Miss-n-Lola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We thought this hotel was brilliant. Amazing value for money. Bright friendly staff only too happy to do anything to make your stay pleasant. Great pool, huge gym. Good food. We had stayed in a hotel in Serendipity. But had to stay an extra day to get our VN visa and decided to try this hotel. Best move we made. Inexpensive but had all the trimmings. There are about 170 young staff training to work in the hotel trade. They put in that extra effort to make you feel like a VIP. We were only go to stay 1 night but ended up staying 4. It was that good. Two of the staff gave us a tour of the college which is separate from the hotel. We had a morning with one of the chefs learning to cook kymer food. Had to stop him doing it all, the students would have been better to teach us as they were much more patient. It was a great morning and Alex the chef was a very good host. Mom on reception was great so were all the others Pros, Seaklang Bosco and so many others. It is about 2km away from town and beaches but they run a free shuttle 3 times a day. No kettle but they will give you a hot thermos for your room Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Get one with a balcony overlooking the pool, but they all seem to be good
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for 5 nights. We had told the hotel it was a special occasion for us during our stay, so asked to have a quiet/nice view room if possible. When we arrived we were blown away. We were greeted by so many students, all smiling and eager to help. We had welcome drinks and they carried everything to our room. We could not believe what we saw when we went in the room; the bed had swans and hearts on it made from towels and these were decorated with hundreds of different flowers. I have never seen anything like it, it was stunning. They even offered to take photos of us next to the bed. They had also upgraded us for free, the room was huge with 4/5 large windows, was well decorated and very clean with a great view.

The service the entire time we were at the hotel was impeccable - everywhere we went the staff smiled and said hello, asked us how we were. Everyone was so polite and helpful. We were expecting far more mistakes as they are training, but they made very very few tiny errors, less than you get at many normal hotels! The food I cannot rave about enough - just outstanding. Try the noodles, we had them several times they were so good. The fact they cook in a room where you can see them shows their professionalism and confidence. The pool and grounds were lovely, the photos do not do it justice.

When we asked to book 2 extra nights, we said we'd be fine to move rooms as they had obviously upgraded us, but they said we could stay where we were. When we asked how much, they said the same price - we were very surprised!

What you get at this hotel is 4 star (sometimes 5 in my opinion) service, rooms and food, for a tiny cost compared to other hotels. Yes they are still training - so you get to contribute to a great cause at the same time. Every student here is from a disadvantaged background. They are doing a wonderful thing here. Highly recommend. Simply a fantastic place. Thanks to everyone at Don Bosco for making our stay a truly lovely one!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kazzlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews