We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, outstanding staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel School
Ranked #4 of 234 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Battambang, Cambodia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, outstanding staff.”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Really great experience. We arrived very late (way past 11pm)from the Thai border and even at that time, we were greeted with a welcome cocktail. Checking was quick and efficient and students helped us carry our bags to the rooms. The room was very spacious, spotlessly clean and with tv/air con.
Plenty of choice for breakfast and and the students are all extremely professional and helpful.
The pool is great, and do not be put off by the 'remote' location as a free shuttle is available several times a day to take you to the beach or into town. Would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0phieGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    60
    11
    1
    3
See reviews for
45
101
29
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambo les Bains, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Unfortunately we only spent one night at the Don Bosco Hotel School and therefore did not have time to use the fabulous swimming-pool. We arrived late in the evening and found a warm smily welcome.The staff is lovely, the rooms simple but perfectly clean, the bathrooms very convenient.We had to leave early in the morning and breakfast was ready especially for us; No noise, good food. Don't hesitate!

Room Tip: The place is very quiet and we guess all rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berauz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the lunch and tour very much, as well as their gelato shop in town! I hoped to post some photos of the fantastic dragon fruit dessert but this doesn't seem to allow it. Keep up the good work!

Stayed January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheraleemacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

The Don Bosco Hotel is a hotel school, embedded within a larger Don Bosco training school for a number of other disciplines. Targeted at disadvantaged local youth, the Don Bosco hotel school imparts hospitality skills to young adults, guaranteeing them a vocation after 2 years of training.

The hotel staff - both students and volunteers - were incredibly professional and friendly. Talented volunteers and local managers have done a great job at setting high standards for the hotel and restaurant. The rooms are spacious, and spotless - cleaned twice a day! The pool was beautiful to swim in.

It's located around 2 km away from the beach and city, but both are easily accessible by scooter or bicycle. It's also closer than the city to one of the most attractive beaches - Otres beach.

overall, would highly recommend choosing Don Bosco if you're exploring Sihanoukville.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2013

We were very fortunate to prearrange a tour of the town and surrounds of Sihanoukville when our ship docked for the day. Peter and Michelle are the General Manager's of this wonderful organisation who are training these delightful and impressive children in order to give them a future in hospitality. As my fellow cruisers below have mentioned we enjoyed a wonderful day of which the highlight was the luncheon and hospitality of the School which will stay with us forever. For any cruisers planning a private shore excursion please contact the school by email to arrange a group like ours - they can accommodate 25 on their minibus and you will definitely enjoy the day! This is a charity which relies on donations - a very worthwhile cause so please do your best to support them in any way. Thanks Peter & Michelle!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greece
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

If you do nothing else in Cambodia, visit the Don Bosco School. My husband and I were lucky enough to spend a day there during a recent visit. Instead of doing the usual 'highlights of ...' tour, we opted to learn about 'Khmer' cookery with the catering students there. And what a fortunate choice; this experience was certainly the highlight of our entire two weeks in South East Asia: the students were an absolute delight and the staff [volunteers all] are saints. We were so moved by the amazing story of this place and the work that is done there ... and we had a great cookery course and a fabulous lunch prepared and presented by an entirely professional team. WONDERFUL!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yrhenysgol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toddington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I was also part of the luncheon party from the Volendam. The lunch was excellent and all the students fantastic. The school had also laid on a sightseeing trip of the area for our party which we all enjoyed. The guides on our trip were two of the teachers from the school who were very helpful and friendly.
The school offers scholarships to 300 underprivileged children every year. It's a two year programme where the students are trained in all hotel departments, computer literacy and English.
This is a fantastic project and deserves every bit of support it can get.
The hotel was lovely and well worth visiting if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.7 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#1 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 357 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#10 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
1.7 mi away
Reef Resort
Reef Resort
#16 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#3 of 234 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#21 of 73 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
1.7 mi away
SunsetLounge Guesthouse
SunsetLounge Guesthouse
#1 of 234 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel School

Property: Don Bosco Hotel School
Address: Group 13, Sangkat 4, Ou Pram, Sihanoukville 18024, Cambodia
Phone Number:
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 234 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel School 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel of the Don Bosco Hotel School has something special to offer to you, you will not find elsewhere in Cambodia. It is the Training and Study Hotel of the Don Bosco Hotel School where the students get their practical experience and welcome guest. Therefore the hotel is entirely managed by the students (from house-keeping, kitchen, restaurant to front-office) under the supervision of their teachers. Located in a residential and quiet zone, the sandy and lovely Occheuteal and Otres beaches as well as downtown are only about 2km away. You can use our free shuttle service to the beach and downtown, rent a bike or try local transport (motor taxi, tuk-tuk). All rooms of the hotel are furnished in a classical contemporary style and feature air conditioning, bathroom with toilet and free of charge Wi-Fi connection. The superior and deluxe type rooms distinguished by a private balcony. For relaxation there is the beautiful swimming pool (with sunbathing chairs, bar, cocktails,...) set within a tropical garden and for exercise there is the fitness center. Access is free for hotel guests. From reservation to check out, we are happy to be at your service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing