We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very friendly and very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Don Bosco Hotel School
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at Don Bosco Hotel School and we are very pleased of this experience.
The staff is very helpful, the swimming pool very beautiful and food at the restaurant very good !; the students always try to help you with Michèle and assure a good service; they are always smiling and this is very pleasant.
This is a very good address!!
It's a little far from the town center and beaches but they have a good shuttle service ;

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hubert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 279 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2013

We stayed eight nights at Don Bosco Hotel and we enjoyed our stay. It was very quiet and we could relax very well.
Staff is very helpful, but sometimes they are not perfect. We don't mind, since Don Bosco is a hotel school and staff is still learning.
Food at the restaurant is very good and not overpriced. The only drawback: if they have a "Set Menu" for dinner, you have to choose this one. The "à la carte" menues are not available.
They have a good tuk tuk driver which does not overcharge.
Unfortunately the fitnes center was out of order due to renovation of the hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndrewJoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Traveling a country over number of weeks can be exhausting - finding accommodation, making travel arrangements, the daily packing, carrying luggage from destination to destination, wondering if you're getting scammed, is your stuff safe, am I safe. All these factors can add up over time wearing a traveller out.

Thank goodness then for Don Bosco.

My wife and I checked in early to the hotel after coming off a horrible experience on Chi Phat. This experience was draining and left us having to scramble to get out of Chi Phat.

We didn't know what to do because our reservations for Don Bosco were a few days away. Fortunately, Don Bosco was able to accommodate our request for an early check in.

When we told our tuk tuk driver we wanted to go to Don Bosco he tried to discourage us by saying it was too far out and not close to the beach. In part, this is true. You're not walking distance to the beach and it is a ways out of the cacophony of Sihanoukville.

If you're looking for a 24 hour party this is not the place for you. If you're looking for great food, an amazing pool, a quiet setting, a place to recharge, and the loveliest people you're going to meeting in Cambodia then this is the place for you.

Don Bosco offers spacious, modern rooms. The food menu has something for everyone's palate. They have a modest drink selection but the drinks are masterfully prepared. Also, it's pretty sweet to be pool side and have someone take your order and deliver your drinks - be it water, coffee, or alcohol.

Quick aside, coffee is fantastic!

Now, Don Bosco is a hospitality training school for young Cambodians trying to find employment in the ever rising tourism industry. This is hands on training and the students are running (under supervision) the hotel. It's a two year program that runs them
Through language classes and every aspect of the hospitality industry.

With this in mind, have a heart. They are learning. Think back to when you had your first job. That first while was uncomfortable, right? Now throw on the high demands of the service industry and the struggles of doing it in a foreign language.

Is the service the quickest? No. Is the service the most pleasant? Absolutely! Besides, where do you have to be? You're on vacation! Sit by the pool, enjoy the sunshine and relax. To vacation means that your getting alway from the day to day stress of your everyday life. If you bring that stress with you then you're not actually vacationing.

One final note, my wife and I forgot to lock our safe on the way to a meal. All our money, documents, and jewellery were in the safe. Easily enough stuff in there to make any Cambodian happy for some time. When we returned to our room the room had been cleaned and nothing had been touched. And there is no doubt at all that they would have seen what was at offer. This experience speaks to the school's level of professionalism and the true Cambodian sprit.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Justin1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

As travelers I'm sure you have all had at least one experience of a foreigner expressing frustration through yelling and hand gestures.. So don't be one of them-
The staff here are students, they are learning and practising skills in all areas of hospitality (ontop of that theyre doing it all in English!) They deserve some patience...
Everyone we encountered were beyond friendly, it was a really welcoming place to stay and if they don't understand a request they will ask 100 people if need be to deliver it. Yes they are under construction but you should be waking up early and exploring the town and beaches, bike riding around, kicking the football with the students at the highschool or making the most of the beautiful pool- you are on holidays after all!
Super clean rooms, quiet at night and evenings, free wifi available, a huge and beautifully organized kitchen and if your after Khmer food there are several recommendations to follow from the staff.
Go and stay, support a good cause and get some of the infectious spirit they're oozing!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandra190
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed with family with 2 kids (11 & 13 yrs) in inter-connecting rooms, one with 2x single bed and one with king size bed. Rooms very clean, each room its own bathroom. Service extremely friendly. We had bad luck in that there were building/renovation works right above our rooms so at 7am sharp we had a very loud wake-up call. Tuktuk into town or to the beaches at 10am, 2pm and 6pm or other times if you pay the fee. No problem to find tuktuk in the evening to bring us back from the beach to Don Bosco (Usd 4). Super swimming pool. Restaurant serves really good food at reasonable prices. Staff tries very hard to communicate in understandable english.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
2  Thank KM250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been staying at the Don Bosco Hotel School from October 22nd till November 15th, 2012, while doing some work in Sihanoukville. Although the hotel is run practically entirely by students, the service standards have been stupendous throughout my stay. Even though the students have not always been very experienced, they were extremely helpful and friendly, trying to do their best to please at all times. The room was spotless, quite large, functioning free WiFi, a good-size shower, TV, Air-condition, etc. Meals were always very good with a reasonably quick and very attentive service. There is a good size swimming-pool and lovely gardens. The distance to the beach and city centre did not bother me as there is a regular free shuttle service and there are plenty of cheap tuk-tuks around.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jplanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

We're travelling since 9 months and we needed some rest in a quiet environment and be pampered. This hotel was exactly what we were looking for. The staff and students are adorable and always there when you need something. It's almost like a 5 stars hotel! they even come to prepare the bed for the night.
Room has everything you need, TV, big bathroom, very good and large bed, bathrobe...
The food was very good and affordable.
We loved it so much that we stayed 10 days!
The shuttle bus can drive you everywhere you need to.
I strongly recommend to stay there, moreover you'll help the school and the students by staying there!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alexia_alessia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
1.3 mi away
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
Grand Sihanoukville Hotel
#24 of 80 in Sihanoukville
372 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sahaa Beach Resort
Sahaa Beach Resort
#5 of 80 in Sihanoukville
404 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sun Leo Hotel
Sun Leo Hotel
#16 of 80 in Sihanoukville
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sok Sabay Resort
Sok Sabay Resort
#7 of 80 in Sihanoukville
136 reviews
3.6 mi away
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
Independence Hotel, Resort & Spa
#11 of 80 in Sihanoukville
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#8 of 80 in Sihanoukville
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Don Bosco Hotel School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Don Bosco Hotel School

Address: Group 13, Sangkat 4, Ou Pram, Sihanoukville 18000, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 80 Hotels in Sihanoukville
Price Range: $23 - $42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Don Bosco Hotel School 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quiet peaceful retreat away from the noisy tourist areas of Sihanoukville. This hotel is also a training center for youths from all over Cambodia who wish to learn ASEAN-standard skills that would enable them to find work in the hospitality industry. Many students would also be learning English for the first time during their 2 years' study at the hotel. Some may already speak your language if they were supported or raised in an orphanage run by people from overseas! The hotel is located about 2 kms from the city and about 3 kms from the beaches. The Don Bosco Foundation of Cambodia is a not-for-profit NGO that has been working with disadvantaged children, youths and families for about 30 years. By supporting us, you are also supporting many children, youths and families of Cambodia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Don Bosco Hotel School reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing