We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeously simple and INCREDIBLE value”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Geckozy Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sihanoukville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Geckozy Guesthouse
Ranked #152 of 228 Sihanoukville B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
94 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gorgeously simple and INCREDIBLE value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Before I go on to give this place an absolutely shining review, I must say that during our stay Im not sure if this is regular but we had a lot of power-cuts and our room without power was very very hot...

We had a fantastic stay at Geckozy, the french owner and his staff assistant are so lovely and friendly we stayed in on our 2 nights with them chatting whilst my boyfriend and I played cards with a few drinks.

The rooms are very basic, but so beautifully decorated and for the price you cannot complain. Shower absolutely fine no complaints there, bed comfortable, setting around the grounds is beautiful with flowers and greenery everywhere so peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wigglesworldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    4
    4
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
11
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

Having spent many months staying in various Sihanoukville guesthouses, I can assuredly say this is the best for value for money, hospitality, convenience and security. Tucked away in a beautiful, well-kept garden setting, it is a characterful and clean and private. Owner is extremely helpful and discrete, whilst also being a genial host. With many years of pedigree, this is a wonderful place to stay for short or long visits and I hope to be returning soon.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkAdria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

Lonely Planet's "Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos, & the Greater Mekong" mentions Geckozy as an alternative to the busy beach scene. We got a room on short notice around Christmas of 2011. There are several guest houses within walking distance and a laundry facility facing Geckozy. The room we had was simple, clean, and nice. It had a private bathroom with cold water, a fan, two beds with mosquito nets, and wood and wicker furniture -- all for $6 a day. We planned to stay only one day, but stayed for two. Anyone wishing to live in a quiet street, away from the tourists on the beach might consider staying in Geckozy. Lionel, the owner, is friendly and flexible in his way of doing things. I am returning to Sihanoukville soon, and will not bother looking anywhere else to stay. Besides, it's very close to the beach: $1 by tuk tuk, if you are firm.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank berhanie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
156 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

We stayed at Geckozy for 4 nights. The place is in the city centre, away from the busy beaches. The place benefits from a lovely and peaceful garden (fantastic after a busy and hot day), has hot water (very rare for this price) and clean rooms. Were were 20 minute-walk from the beach; 5 minutes by moto or tuk tuk...for us, it was better than staying near the beach with the crowds of backpackers. I would really recommend this place...very honest and welcoming.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Crumpet2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tierra del Fuego, Chile
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2011

Well run in a laid back sort of way. Its possible to get a very very good rate here, ... like $105.00 dollars a month.
A couple of blocks from the center of downtown. Safe and secure.
Take a moto to the beach around 5 mins away for about a dollar.
Within a couple of blocks of the best grocery in town.
Free Wifi works well enough. Good value also if you want to spend five or six dollars a night short term.
Lionel is the owner operator and he is fair and direct... and his business is his lifestyle and he is proactive and engaging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JohnnyOneTime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2010

French and combodia owners, special couple, very nice, good humor and gentle service,rooms a bit basic, nice meatballs and smoothies,rental bike is possible( 5min to the beaches)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank heliblank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, WA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2009

This place had very friendly staff and great drinks. The breakfast was wonderful. We would have stayed longer except we wanted to visit the Islands. Very affordable.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rhyacotriton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sihanoukville hotels
0.0 mi away
Sokha Beach Resort
Sokha Beach Resort
#7 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
0.0 mi away
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
Deluxx Boutique Hotel
#2 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.0 mi away
Backpacker Heaven
Backpacker Heaven
#7 of 138 in Sihanoukville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tamu Hotel
Tamu Hotel
#1 of 72 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Villa Nataya Sihanoukville
0.0 mi away
Le D'Artagnan
Le D'Artagnan
#5 of 228 in Sihanoukville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Geckozy Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Geckozy Guesthouse

Property: Geckozy Guesthouse
Address: 2 Street Down From | Ekareach Street 's Gaz Stations, Sihanoukville, Cambodia
Location: Cambodia > Sihanoukville Province > Sihanoukville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #152 of 228 B&Bs / Inns in Sihanoukville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Last Island Of Nature In Sihanoukville. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing