We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Neat out of the way place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kernville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Falling Waters River Resort
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Neat out of the way place”
Reviewed November 8, 2011

My wife and I were wanting to stay at places that were not in the cities during our road-trip around Southern California. In April we virtually had the place to ourselves. Friendly Chuck and his dog were waiting when we arrived with four sets of keys and asked us to look in each room and decide which one took our fancy. Each room has a theme; pirate ship, hunting, (lots ) . We chose #27 right at the end. All done out in victorian style with huge bed that had a step to use to climb up on to it. The room was large and with a kitchen with good facilities. Bathroom and shower were good.
It was very quiet and peaceful with just the river for company, but I could imagine that in the summer season this place would be full of adventureous people and familes taking advantage of the Kern river.
Chuck gave me lots of his time to tell about the history of the area ane was very friendly.
The small town of Kernville was about 10mins away with a few shops and eating places.

Room Tip: The ends one was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank denisjoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    5
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
9
10
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Chuck Richards’ Falling Waters River Resort is a great place to stay if you’re looking for a cabin right on the beautiful Kern River! It’s far enough from the road to hear nothing but the lull of the river and was serenely peaceful and quiet in the off-season! We stayed in a lovely Victorian-themed duplex cabin. The staff and service were excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chrisbrennan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance,California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2011

My wife and I stayed here on Sept 22-24, and loved it. Chuck, Nancy, Michelle, Joyce, and Whisper really made us feel like family. We stayed here many years ago when it was the Lazy River Lodge as well. The resort has had many improvements and we are very impressed! Chuck greeted us personally when we were checking in and during the course of our stay made sure we got the most out of our Kern River experience. He is the best host that we have ever had. The rooms are large, comfortable, and the kitchen really comes in handy, especially if you like to eat your catch. I caught two trout a short walk from our room. We enjoyed lying on our lounge chairs at night looking up at the sky. It really looks different up there away from the light pollution that we have at home. We will definitely be back.
D & S

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank digbass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Wow, I don't recommend staying at the Falling Waters River Resort. My wife and I just returned to the USA from a tour in Sri Lanka and the accomidations in Sri Lanka (which is a "developing country") were better. The decor was straight out of a 1950's movie. I almost asked for my money back but my best friend had made the reservations and paid before I got there. That said, the bed was relatively confortable, the roof didn't leak and the shower provided water. However, I had a constant reminder that a yellow tractor was behind the room because there was no curtain on the back window. I'm sorry to say I was very disappointed and I've been visiting the Kern River for 15+ years.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ETL_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I simply love this place. been rafting with Chuck for some 25 years before he bought this place. Since than for the last 7 or 8 years have totally enjoyed the cabins. The staff is wonderful they make you feel right at home as well as our dog (STAR). The river is close so thats makes tubing a great experience. Will continue to enjoy staying there for many years to come.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drownrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simi Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2011

My wife and I stayed from Dec 30 till Sunday Jan 2nd and took our Black Lab. The staff was absolutely great. Our son and daughter-in-law joined us for the weekend on Friday the 31st. We had a great time and the rooms were clean and well kept. We will be making this a regular. My wife wants to plan 3 more stays this year. I think you better have reservations during the peak season. This place has got to fill up fast.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dorgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed December 13, 2010

My son,cat & I have stayed at Falling Waters several times. The staff is warm and friendly. They go out of their way to make sure the guests and their pets are comfortable and have fun. They are knowledgable of lovely places to visit. The pool is a jewel. The woodsy environment for the cabins is charming and relaxing. Each room has it's own decorative theme so it is fun to choose from Victorian, pirate, old Egypt, romantic, Bear Country, etc.

The owner is a well known River Rafting Guide. His stories are delightful of the early days of river running on the Kern if one is lucky enough to be there when he is around.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skipper569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kernville hotels
0.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
128 reviews
2.0 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
56 reviews
5.4 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
243 reviews
2.1 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
37 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Falling Waters River Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Falling Waters River Resort

Property: Falling Waters River Resort
Address: 15729 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Specialty Lodging in Kernville
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located along the Kern River. Instead of one building containing all of our rooms we have separate duplex cottages with fireplaces, arranged over 12 acres. Each room has it's own kitchen, TV, and wi-fi. Outside each room has it's own brick barbeque and picnic table. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Falling Waters River Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing