We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go Back!”
Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We had camped for two nights and did not want to leave yet...it was Fourth of July weekend and most things were booked but we took a chance that the Kern Lodge would have a room available and they did! I Have stayed in some 5 star hotels before and they have nothing on the Kern Lodge! Very friendly family who obviously take care and pride in their hotel. Very clean, definitely worth the money, and I will be doing the same thing again when I go next..I have been going to the Kern River for over 15 years and will now be including the Kern Lodge in my plans for camping!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

219 - 225 of 266 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2010

Stayed at the kern lodge on a recent fly fishing trip with a friend and our experience was outstanding. We got into Kernville extremely late, but the Kern Lodge welcomed us with open arms. We were greeted my the owner and none other but Kern Lodge's resident labradoodle Rocky, and we were immediately impressed by the hospitality.

The experience just got better when we saw the quality of the rooms. Plenty of size, cleanliness, and comfort. To top it off it was just down the street from where our fly fishing trip started the next morning.

two thumbs up for the Kern Lodge, look forward to my next trip to Kernville, this time i know right where I'm staying.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ejdavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2010

The Kern Lodge was a fabulous place to stay in Kernville. It's centrally located, clean and the staff was remarkable! At night you can see every star in the sky. It was wonderful. If you are traveling to the area I definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nanooka10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2010

We stayed here for one night and found it a little expensive for what it was. The kitchen facilities were useful with a microwave and small fridge but the beds we thought were pretty average. Really noisy heating.Two double beds in one large room. The shower was small with an unpleasant shower rose. We would probably try somewhere else next time - to see whether the town had anything else better. It was ok. We were just passing through.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarthTraverse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Having a family of seven is not easy to find a hotel that would favor all of us. The kids love playing with the large chest and checker boards and being in walking distance to everything. And as parents we love the accommodations of the room, lovely cottage feel. Staff was great and very pleasent. Sue, thank you for the great service! Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snowtrip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We just stayed there in mid-September and were very pleased with the accommodations and service. After cruising on a motorcycle all day from the coast, we were very hot and tired. There is a fantastically refreshing & clean pool that was the perfect cure. I am not sure why Tripadvisor has categorized this as a B&B/Inn because it isn't. But it is a very nice place to stay in a small river community. It appears to be as nice if not better than other places. It's incredibly convenient too as there is a Laundromat and good size grocery store just across the street. There's a great brew-pub right behind the lodge too so you don't have to go far for some good food.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Nice place. We were two adults and five children, two of whom were teens. The room was terrific, but opening the pullout couch to find a previous guests clothes was not. Just as unpleasant was the unwashed dishes left in the dishwasher, especially since whoever used those dishes used them for fish. Otherwise I would say great family place, the kids enjoyed themselves, the staff was attentive to our needs and clearly this place enjoys a repeat clientele. We would consider ourselves now in that category. Air conditioning a little on the weak side, but hey we were there for the outdoors anyway. Murphy is GREAT, just keep an eye on your stuff, because he thinks anything qualifys as a tug toy!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank foodhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
143 reviews
0.2 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
59 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
86 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#8 of 8 in Kernville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Address: 67 Valley View Dr, Kernville, CA 93238-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: $106 - $142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a Master Suite and a House! Check out our direct website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing