We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Are secound year and we hope for many to come... Thank you!”
Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
california
1 review
“Perfect! Are secound year and we hope for many to come... Thank you!”
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Having a family of seven is not easy to find a hotel that would favor all of us. The kids love playing with the large chest and checker boards and being in walking distance to everything. And as parents we love the accommodations of the room, lovely cottage feel. Staff was great and very pleasent. Sue, thank you for the great service! Looking forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowtrip7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
87
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2009

We just stayed there in mid-September and were very pleased with the accommodations and service. After cruising on a motorcycle all day from the coast, we were very hot and tired. There is a fantastically refreshing & clean pool that was the perfect cure. I am not sure why Tripadvisor has categorized this as a B&B/Inn because it isn't. But it is a very nice place to stay in a small river community. It appears to be as nice if not better than other places. It's incredibly convenient too as there is a Laundromat and good size grocery store just across the street. There's a great brew-pub right behind the lodge too so you don't have to go far for some good food.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PBABD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2009

Nice place. We were two adults and five children, two of whom were teens. The room was terrific, but opening the pullout couch to find a previous guests clothes was not. Just as unpleasant was the unwashed dishes left in the dishwasher, especially since whoever used those dishes used them for fish. Otherwise I would say great family place, the kids enjoyed themselves, the staff was attentive to our needs and clearly this place enjoys a repeat clientele. We would consider ourselves now in that category. Air conditioning a little on the weak side, but hey we were there for the outdoors anyway. Murphy is GREAT, just keep an eye on your stuff, because he thinks anything qualifys as a tug toy!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodhry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pagosa Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
207 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We spent one night here for a rafting trip this week. I read all the reviews, and the positive ones were spot on. check yahoo.com for coupons as we got 15% off.

We arrived around 6 and was greeted by Sue at the front desk. We got to our room and it was really nicely decorated, clean.. and comfortable. However, we noticed immediately a family next door that had several kids, and they were running around making alot of noise. They were just being kids, but I thought I'd ask to see if they had another room. Sue was more than acommodating and understanding, and gave us another room (with a kicthenette) away from the family.

We wet swimming in the small pool around 10 PM, and it was very nice. We went back to the room and noticed there was a party in the other strip of rooms that were making alot of noise, but when we got back to the room, the hum of the AC drowned them out. They went to bed by midnight I think. I also realize that this is a rafting community/town, so people are out having fun.

The bed was very comfortable, and everything was super clean and appointed well. (Cable TV, phone, microwave, frig, etc) It's a very rustic place (the rooms) with very nice knotty pine and pictures and wood.

The owners take great care of this place, and it shows. Thanks for making our stay a very nice one.

Never stayed anywhere else in Kernville, but I can't see how you can have a better option.

p.s. walk behind the building to the Kern River Brewing Co. for excellent beer, fries, and burgers!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtnmanlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greater manchester uk
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2009

myself and my husband and our 16 year old daughter stayed for 2 nights whilst we went rafting.we booked a large bedrom with king and double bed (112) but were upgraded to room 201 -a lovely cottage type feel with a separate bedroom with queen bunk beds(a bit of an oddity for adults), bathroom and open plan lounge/dining/kitchen area. the lounge area had a large settee, a large sofa bed with a flat screen tv over. on the front porch was a table and chairs where we ate dinner in the hot evenings accompanied by the resident dog murphy, who was very well trained if you told him to sit, lie down etc. the pool area looked nice, but we did not use it. immediately across the road is a supermarket where you can buy anything, including cooked food and immediately next door is the kern micro brewery which also does lovely food which you can eat inside or out on the raised veranda. 2 of the local rafting companies meet only a 10 minute walk away which saves going out in the car. Overall we had a lovely stay and wished we had booked for 3 days so we had time to visit the redwood trees. not a 5* hotel but one of our best experiences on our travels and would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank christine2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2009

Stayed one night prior to a white water rafting trip on the Kern River. The Rose Room was extremely pretty and comfortable. Checked out the next morning, but asked if we could come back to use the shower after our river trip (12 noon) as didn't fancy dripping water in the car! The owners said that would be OK and that the maid wouldn't clean the room until after we got back. This was extremely obliging of them and was greatly appreciated! Hotel had nice pool and was close to restaurants, so an ideal location. Would highly recommend this friendly hotel!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ddmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2009

We stayed at Kern Lodge for 2 nights in June and wished we could have stayed much longer. Hope to go back there someday, and have recommended the lodge to all our friends and family in the UK.

Steve and Chris

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cfdjrsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
56 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
38 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Property: The Kern Lodge
Address: 67 Valley View Dr, Kernville, CA 93238-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a master suite! Check out website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing