We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE place to stay when it's too cold camp”
Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 6, 2013

My 14 year-old son and I have stayed at the Kern Lodge twice, November and December 2012, while trout fishing on the Kern. As I am no longer down with the sleeping in a tent when the snow is flying...or the temperature is right for snow, the Kern Lodge is an affordable (and warm) alternative.

The knotty pine rooms are clean (...and did I mention warm?) and the beds are comfortable (and warm)...can't beat that.

The staff is warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for The Kern Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 262 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Had one night lay over heading to Vegas found this place on trip advisor. Extremely clean and comfortable rooms are dated but comfortable, shower and bathroom great. Staff friendly and walking distance to great dining (that's Italian) family friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dzszabo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Vintage circa 1950's motel on the main street in Kernville. Owner is very pleasant and accommodating. Spotlessly clean with stocked kitchenette Rm #116, refrigerator and microwave in room coffee. 2 beds, recliner, nice furnishings, fluffy non-motel towels. Great game room with pool table and pool. Backyard with huge chess and checker boards. Porch swings outside your door. Walk to Sierra Gateway Market (highly recommend for meat or groceries.) Short walk to best pizza/sports bar place in town, Kernville Brewery and others. Rocky, the owner's Labadoodle roams freely and is very friendly to all. Smoking permitted outdoors, no pets allowed, although owner may make an exception? Ask. Will return to this lovely little vintage motel in the heart of Kernville.

Room Tip: Save money, get a kitchenette and cook in. The market has some fine meats and deli items to select f...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

The owner was very nice and upgraded us to a better room since the hotel was quite empty. Gas heater worked well in the very cold temperatures, and we enjoyed the large flat panel TV. This is definitely the place to stay if you are going to spend an evening at Kern River Brewing.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

My husband and I went to explore the river on our honeymoon. We were on a budget, but because of the chilly nights didnt want to camp so we reserved a room at The Kern Lodge. When we arrived we were told the owner had upgraded us to the "honeymoon suite", which turned out to be a perfect little 2 bedroom house! It was so clean and nice! Kitchen fully stocked with beautiful appliances and utensils so we were able to cook meals at home in between outings. It was fantastic. There was a large t.v., a tempurpedic california king bed, a jacuzzi tub, and a patio with a bbq. Everyone we encountered was friendly and accomodating. We did not want to come home! It was beyond anything we had expected and we would recommend The Kern Lodge to anyone looking to enjoy the beauty of the Kern Valley comfortably yet affordably. Thank you Sue! We will definitely be back. Hopefully very soon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stopped at Kernville on our way from Bakersfield to Death Valley (awesome, windy road along the Kern River) and stayed at the Lodge after looking in at one other hotel. The room was large, clean, and great for our needs. Sue was super friendly and accommodating. It just feels right to patronize a business that has such a caring and friendly owner. We had one minor issue (clogged sink in the bathroom). We understand these things happen and aren't the types to blow a fuse over small problems. But Sue was apologetic and took 50% off of our room rate. She truly valued our business and we look forward to returning to the Kern Lodge.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marteau59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We live in Kansas and were on our way to Bakersfield when we decided to drive through Kernville. My son has very fond memories of summer days spent tubing and fishing on the Kern River with his brother & cousins while visiting their grandparents who had retired here. Now in his 40's he was excited to show his wife and son this little paradise. We visited the park, went down to the river, drove past his grandparents old A frame home (both are now deceased), ate lunch at the Pizza Barn, had fantastic tacos at the Kern River Brewing Co and decided we just had to spent the night. This wonderful Lodge was right next door so we checked in. On this very evening they were celebrating an anniversary so there was a nice get together by the pool with music & snacks. Everybody was just delightful! Our room was very unique with lots of pretty wood paneling, 2 great beds, a huge dresser, a really nice large bathroom, a microwave and a coffee pot & coffee. Outdoors they have a nice pool (however we did not swim), a very large checkerboard and chess board which were great fun. In the morning we enjoyed a lovely walk down to the Big Blue Road for breakfast then walked over to the park on our way back.
Our only regret was that we were unable to stay longer.
No this is not a 5 star hotel, it is a comfortable, quaint, cozy wonderful place to spend some quality time as a couple or with family.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
57 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
40 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
86 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Address: 67 Valley View Dr, Kernville, CA 93238-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: $107 - $370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a Master Suite and a House! Check out our direct website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing