We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place and excellent staff”
Review of The Kern Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Kern Lodge
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Barstow, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very nice place and excellent staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife and I and my son and his family stayed in two rooms at the Kern Lodge on September 16th and 17th. Having stayed in Kernville on three previous occasions we were not expecting much. We were very surprised to see when we pulled up how nicely the property is maintained. Check in was simple and fast and done by a very courteous desk clerk. All of the staff members from housekeeping to owners are very nice and definitely more helpful than most of the places that we have stayed including so called high end motels such as Ramada, Rennasaince, Marriot, etc.

Our rooms although a little small were exceptionally clean and we are fanatics about cleanliness. The showers again were small especially for my 350lb 6' 4" son. But they were clean and fullfilled their purpose. The bed was very comfortable and the room's decor was knotty pine wood instead of paint. The rooms were very attractive and provided all the normal ammentities. One especially nice feature to us was the fact that although the owner's have a dog that likes to mooch meals, no guest dogs are allowed and that of course means that you don't have to sleep in a bed that a previous tenant's dog has slept in! I know that YOUR dog is as clean as a bar of soap and that you love him very much, but not all of us share your adoration of your dog and some of us don't think that your dog is clean.

The housekeeping ladies were all very attentive to our needs. They all had smiles and went out of their way to get us anything we needed AND they all speak English! Which reminds me, there is a very nice bbq area with tables and swinging chairs and fire pits. The staff has gone out of their way to make it nice. On our stay, some guests the night before left it like a pig stye. I got up early to fix breakfast and because it was so early, the staff had not been able to clean it yet so I did. But folks, please remember, just because they offer housekeeping, that does not mean that you should go out of your way to leave a mess. Do the next guy a favor and clean up after yourself. And BTW: a tip for the maid is a nice touch.

The swimming pool was very nice and very clean. My family enjoyed it a lot. This entire motel really stands out from the others we have stayed at in Kernville.

If there were any cons to this place I would have to say that although the MicroBrewery next door is a nice place, the outside patrons can get a little loud on weekends. The bathrooms are a little small for big guys, and the walls are very thin so loud guests in the next room will be heard. But, these are really very petty beefs for everything else being so nice a this hotel. And remember, I was at a Harley rally and this is a river and fishing community so don't expect the Ritz, expect what the lodge is expected to be, a nice, clean, friendly staff, with clean rooms, clean pool, and nice bbq area and you will find that this place really exceeds all your expectations. I will definitely be going back next year!

Nick
nick@nickscomputerworks.com

Room Tip: Tell the staff at reservation time what your needs are i.e. quickest access to bbq, quieter side of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ncbenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    53
    15
    4
    3
See reviews for
81
87
7
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

This was a great little hotel that we spent two nights at. The rooms are quaint, comfortable, and clean. Beware that at least for room #105 the kitchenette does not mean it has a stovetop. There was just a minifridge, microwave, and extra sink. Still it was better than not having it. Also the hotel is next door to the awesome Kern River Brewing Company which is the perfect place to relax after a day of rafting.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Our family stayed in late July. We had a wonderful time. Nice Pool, and oversized Chess and Checkerboard were fun for the family. The rooms were well appointed and the Bed could not be any more comfortable-the Bomb! Only problem we had was being next to a drunken, disrespectful, belligerent family that did not go to sleep until 3 AM. Great value however.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrncivil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Encino
Level Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We stayed at this hotel before our river rafting tour. The hotel is clean and the service is good. For Kernville, a very good option.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EncinoJason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
112 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

If you are traveling to Kernville, the southern parts of Sequoia National Forest, or Lake Isabella, the Kern Lodge should be considered. It is close to the center of Kernville, with several good restaurants and shops. It is close to the riverside park. It is close to the market, where you can get picnic supplies and gas. It is next door to the brew pub. It is around the corner from the rafting outfitters and fishing shops. It is perfect for its proximity to nearly everything in Kernville...park your car and walk almost anywhere.

The hotel is neat and kept very clean. Our room was nicely decorated and in great order. The hotel has a nice little pool and picnic area. Parking for each room is designated, so that's no hassle.

The staff was friendly and helpful. Rates were fair. WiFi was free. In a word - great!

Room Tip: Room 109 has no neighbors. Very nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TexanAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I went to Kerville, California to see how Lake Isabella was filling over the Spring 2011, and to visit the mountain community. it was a pleasure to be greeted and hosted by Sue Wiruth, Owner of The Kern Lodge. I stayed in a home that is part of the Lodge property, and it was extremely clean and well set up. There were two bedrooms; the master has a plush bathroom with a shower that has a built in spa. The spa can do everything including talk to you as it has built in radio. The living room had a huge flat screen TV/cable. The kitchen/dining area has great space. The kitchen was stocked with dishes, silverware, pans, utensils, and had microwave available. The kitchen opened to the living room with a long bar area, and out the dining area sliding door I enjoyed the back deck to sit in the sun and nap on a covered porch. This opened onto a grass lawn with pine trees. In the front of the Lodge is a clean moderately large pool that looked inviting but it was far too cold yet in the year. I visited the local breakfast cafe's and spent time in the very informative and cute local museum where the docents were very friendly and could explain everything from how the electricity generators were put in on the Kern River and how they work, to where Westerns were made, and the artifacts from the mining days of the Kern Valley. Hiking was great along the upper River and I ran on two mornings to get the mountain air.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainRunner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2011

Imho, very good deal for the price. We went to Kernville for the whitewater rafting and stayed one night at the lodge, a couple of blocks off the Kernville downtown and right next to the local brewery restaurant and a supermarket. We didn't need much of any service, short of checking in, but people at the reception were nice an friendly, like naturally friendly, you could feel it's a village. For the price of something around $130 we got a large room (with wooden interior, like a cabin), two king size beds; a kitchen with a fridge, microwave, all the utensils, a table and chairs, coffee machine and coffee; a bathroom stuffed with towels plus extra towels for the pool; a little fenced backyard with a table and chairs, and a barbeque. There is a cable TV with many popular channels and free wireless connection to internet. The pool outside isn't very large, but adequate for maybe 10 people to cool down without feeling crowded. Everything was very clean, beds had double mattresses and were soft. It was very hot when we were there, around 115, and the AC built in the window was a bit too noisy for my ears so I had turn if of at night. It's a 100% non-smoking hotel and I usually don't stay at non-smoking hotels but here they have a rocking bench outside of your room and there was an ashtray so it wasn't a big deal. Overall, I loved the country and the rafting and when I go back I will try to stay at the cozy Kern Lodge again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saul09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.6 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
132 reviews
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
56 reviews
7.2 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
38 reviews
3.7 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kern Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kern Lodge

Property: The Kern Lodge
Address: 67 Valley View Dr, Kernville, CA 93238-9724
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Kern Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kern Lodge is located in the heart of Kernville, just minutes from the wild and scenic Kern River! We have a Pool, a Park w/BBQs and Fire Pit, a Game Room and a giant outdoor set of Chess & Checkers! Our rooms range from a single queen, all the way to a master suite! Check out website for full details! All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Kern Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kern Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing