We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great burgers with waffle fries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kern River Brewing Company

Kern River Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 15 Restaurants in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great burgers with waffle fries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

The beer was excellent, the atmosphere relaxed the the prices very reasonable...what more could anyone want.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank polli396
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    86
    24
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
202 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It may just be me....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

...but the beer seemed to be trying way too hard. Then I'm not crazy about savory ice cream either. The food was decent: I truly enjoyed the fish tacos. But neither of my friends got their blue cheese burgers the way they ordered them. Had to ask twice for water. We drove up for dinner from the desert and maybe it was the holiday weekend overload. You see the other reviews are highly favorable and I've come to trust my fellow trip advisors--they've steered me right time after time. So it may be I'm out of step when it comes to beer.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChinaLake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
300 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Unexpected Delight”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

End of a long day. My lady and I started off in Las Vegas, toured Death Valley and then drove over the Sierra foothills on windy, mountainous county road (much more fun that way), where we got lost once (thank you GM GPS) but got back on track with the friendly help of a general store owner along the way. Headed for Johnsondale as were told would be somewhere to stay - not! Johnsondale appears to be just a private ranch - one of many dots on the map that don't really exist! So, back in the car and off to Kernville to find some food and a bed. Saw the Kern River Brewing Company and stopped in - arrived ten minutes before the kitchen was due to close (this was a Sunday night after all) but the friendly staff accommodated us right away. Had the best pulled pork sandwich I have ever had while my lady had a very acceptable chicken salad. The beer was excellent and worth stopping in for by itself. A definite and very welcome surprise.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger61Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

My husband and son-in-law enjoyed the various beers, and I had a fantastic burger! Service was pleasant and efficient. No michelin stars for this one--just does what it says on the tin!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank BetF830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A cosy place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

The food was good, especially the fish&chips. The IPA bier was excellent. The friendly service and good prices made our dinner very satisfactory.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Virgilio_Gabriella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kern River Brewing Company also viewed

 

Been to Kern River Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing