We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST TIME THERE AND WE WILL BEING GOING BACK FOR SURE”
Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This was the first time for us staying at the Sequoia Lodge! What can we say, but it was AWESOME!!!!! The rooms were extremely clean and Pat and Keith were amazing!!!! Our family will definetly be going back again. It is located right on the River, we had coffee in the morning on one of the patios that overlook the River, and the store is right across the street. We would absolutley recommend this Lodge!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AmyW750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 143 reviews

Reviewed June 21, 2012

I highly recommend this place to anyone that appreciates quality! I love this place. I was very sad to go back home. My husband and I caught so many fish there. I can't wait to go back there! Thank you Sequoia Lodge :)

Stephanie

Room Tip: Fishing...Excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Divinity_image
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Spent a night at the Sequoia Lodge in late May and it lived up quite nicely to its propaganda. Great location right on the river with chairs and tables set up so you could sit, relax and enjoy the sight and sounds. Rooms were nicely accommodated and while not large, were no less than expected. The lodge is just north of Kernville so there was convenient access to restaurants and shopping plus a nice little general store across the road for incidentals and breakfast. Prices at around $115/night, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OldDad2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2012

As you know, the online pictures advertising lodging don't always match what you actually get. This place is spot on with their pictures. The place is decorated very nicely in a rustic lodge style. There are numerous areas around the property with grills and tables, rocking chairs, etc. for guests to use. The gorgeous Kern River runs alongside the lodge.

There is a General Store across the street as well as a BBQ Restaurant. Once you get here you need only get in your car to tour a new area of the river or lake.

I'm very fussy about cleanliness but my room was spotless.

This is a little gem hidden north of Kernville, CA.

You will not be sorry.

Room Tip: Rooms #1 and #2 are separate from the other rooms with a joint patio. It's sort of like a house...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank etcetera_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Great little motel style place, the units 1 and 2 are large with kitchenette. The small rooms were a bit small for me but still had everything I needed. Super clean. The outside is what makes this place though. The caretakers make sure the little zen-like paths to, from and around the river are beautifully maintained. You are just down a staircase from where 2 branches of the river intersect. Lovely view for the wife who would rather watch her hubby fish from the picnic area.

Room Tip: Pick a larger room, unless you're alone
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank P3Platt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

unpretentious but a beautiful spot, quiet, clean room, nice people, helpful,

Room Tip: ask for a room at the back side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhschoorl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

More than a motel! We were upgraded and had a beautiful room with a nice view over the river.We loved the hummingbirds around the place.!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vosje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kernville
59 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kernville
266 reviews
5 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
86 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
2.6 mi away
Kern Riverfront Lodge
Kern Riverfront Lodge
#9 of 9 in Kernville
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Address: 16123 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range: $104 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best vacation spot on the Kern River in California. Situated between majestic mountains and just minutes from the giant redwoods, Sequoia Lodge offers you an "oasis" for your visit to the spectacular Kern River Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing