We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“English fisherman”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sequoia Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sequoia Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English fisherman”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2008

First time flyfishing in the kernville area, i spotted the lodge as i pulled into the general store. perfect location,very helpfull staff ,very clean rooms ,warm and comfortable . you can walk 40 yards to the river and catch breakfast, then clean fish at the facility provided . 100% that i will be back for more of the same hospitality maybe as soon as march. i hope you all had a great Christmas and have highly profitable NEW YEAR . MANY THANKS KEVIN.

  • Liked — location of the lodge to the river,store and town
  • Disliked — i had a most enjoyable stay and had no complaints
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WindsorTurtle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    88
    33
    6
    0
    1
See reviews for
36
57
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2007

This motel was recommended by the fly-fishing store in town. The new managers were wonderful. The room was clean and well equipped. The autumn light and leaves made this place extra pretty and super easy river access allowed me to catch a few fish in the morning before I had to leave. I have booked a return visit in 3 weeks.

  • Liked — Simple, charming, friendly, rustic but clean, location.
  • Disliked — Maybe the cost was a tad high.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shellm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, Ca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2006

The Sequoia Lodge is a very quaint and very servicable hotel about 3 miles down the road from Kernville. My wife and I stayed in Room 2 which was a spacious enough room w/ two twin beds (we originally planned to stay w/ our kids) and a very nice kitchenette area w/ a table and 4 chairs, a microwave, a nicely sized mini-fridge, sink, coffee maker w/ coffee, and plates, flatware, etc. The room seemed freshly painted and was thoughtfully decorated w/ a rustic/fishing motif. The bathroom was very clean, nicely tiled w/ a shower but no bathtub. The management has placed hummingbird feeders throughout the area so there were literally dozens of hummingbirds flying about and landing and feeding. We could see them immediately outside our window. (I'm not sure how eco-friendly this is, but it was quite cool to see hummingbirds close-up and stationary as they dined...)

A quiet stretch of the Kern River flows directly behind the motel. So it is very easy to stroll down and enjoy a nice stretch of woods and the river. It appears that it's a favorite for fishing, since there were always people down there fly-casting. The lodge also has an area for cleaning fish. It looks like a number of rooms have balconies that overlook the river.

There is a general store and the Cheyenne Steakhouse directly across the street. But it is a more than an easy drive down the road to other restaurants and "downtown" Kernville. The Kern River Fish Hatchery is approximately a mile down the road.

If one was looking for a nice, clean, well kept up hotel in that area w/ river access, the Sequoia Lodge certainly fills the bill.

  • Liked — clean, freshly painted/decorated room w/ kitchenette
  • Disliked — Everything was great!
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a room or a balcony w/ a river view
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank zahak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, CA
Level Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2003

This is a very well-maintained, nicely decorated, and romantic little place. It is close to all of the activities, attractions, and resteraunts in the Kern Valley, but is located a couple miles out of town on the bank of the river. They have fishing/swimming access to the river, several patios with BBQ grills (with misters in the summer), and little spots with benches and swings. There is even a fish cleaning hut for the fish you catch from the river and cook on the BBQ!I didn't go for the fishing, I went to relax. I stayed here in the fall of 2002 (just after it had been remodeled) and early November 2003 (and had the same room - as good as it was last year!). The rooms are decorated nicely in "mountain country charm" with many extras. My two most important criteria are good beds and good heat/AC, and this place rated at the top. The standard 1 Queen rooms have a VCR, microwave and good-size fridge ($79). The standard rooms are a little "cozy" but not too small. The upgraded rooms have dishes and an additional sink. There is one room with a nice view of the river. Even in mid-week and off-season, all the rooms had fresh flowers. Everything was impecably clean.Right across the street is a general store and a pretty good resteraunt (although it was closed mid-week in winter). The lodge is close enough to town to run in for whatever you may need, and the river and canyon setting are peaceful and very beautiful. A rafting/kayaking/tubing excursion company is a few doors down.I would definately stay there again and recommend it to anyone.

Helpful?
5 Thank Ostara864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
5.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
5.4 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.6 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sequoia Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sequoia Lodge

Property: Sequoia Lodge
Address: 16123 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9708
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sequoia Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The best vacation spot on the Kern River in California. Situated between majestic mountains and just minutes from the giant redwoods, Sequoia Lodge offers you an "oasis" for your visit to the spectacular Kern River Valley! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sequoia Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing