We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Steakhouse EVER!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Johnny McNally's Lodge

Johnny McNally's Lodge
Hc 1 Box 95, Kernville, CA 93238
760.376.2430
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 15 Restaurants in Kernville
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Waitstaff
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse EVER!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We regularly travel 90 minutes from Bakersfield to frequent McNally's because they are simply the best steakhouse ever! (Well actually, in our travels we have found that there's two other steakhouses that match this place; one in South Africa and the other in Kuwait...but that really is too far.) At McNally's, the two of us usually split a steak entree, get a "partner's plate" for an extra set of sides, and try to save room for one of their fabulous desserts. You are buying quality food here so it's a bit pricy but worth every penny. Casual atmosphere, good local brew, and warm personable service is also a major plus. Don't let the distance stand in the way because the beautiful drive is part of the experience. The rustic lodge decor features a welcoming bar with a wood burning fireplace, animal kill mounted on the walls, and wood floors.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheCreativeTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kernville, Ca
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“awesome steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We walked the hanging bridge over the Kern River, then enjoyed some fantastic steaks. They also have a great hamburger stand!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ggmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgecrest, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best Steakhouse for a hundred miles.!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I have been to this place a total of three times and finally decided to review it. I would have rated it 5 stars but this last trip was a little disappointing. I had the Rib eye and it was pretty good but kind of fatty and a little tough. Still better than anyplace around but I hope they read this and fix it. The waitress did tell me if I had told her sooner she would have taken it back so it is my fault too. They bring out a vegetable tray with fresh veggies. Something not done very often in restaurants now days. I had ranch on my salad and it was fresh and home made. Nana had the Cajun Black bean soup yumm. Nana also ordered the prime rib au jus. She loved it. I tasted it and have to say it was the best au jus sandwhich I ever had. I would recommend this place to anyone. In fact if you are within 50 miles of Kernville don't pass it up.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thezone999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Isabella, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Well deserved favorite of locals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Johnny McNally's is one of those places that never disappoints. The food is delicious, not only the steaks, but the apricot chicken is one of my favorite dishes there. We dined there last night for my birthday. The wait staff sang to me, and the mud pie was yummy and there was plenty for all 4 of us, especially after a huge dinner! Out back the deck overlooks the whitewater of the Kern River and a footbridge spans the river. Great atmosphere!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lakemoosecap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“World class steaks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

One of the best steak places I've ever eaten at! Don't make the mistake of ordering anything but beef, and you won't be disappointed!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank dkl_maui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Johnny McNally's Lodge also viewed

 

Been to Johnny McNally's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing