We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican food anywhere !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Rio Mexican Restaurant

El Rio Mexican Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 15 Restaurants in Kernville
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Wofford Heights, California, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Mexican food anywhere !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

I love Carnie Asada tacos. El Rios are the best I've had. The food is always good, the service is friendly and quick. Prices are good. We go almost every weekend and they are not too crowded on Holiday weekends. Nice family owned business.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We stopped by for a quick bite while we were out and about and rafting the Kern. From the outside and looks like nothing special and the inside looks like a little hole in the wall. But from the first bite I seriously could not believe the amazingness of this tiny little restaurant. My enchilada sauce was so flavorful, and the shredded beef taco was full of flavorful, tender beef. The chips and salsa were plentiful, and the waitress was attentive and kind without being overbearing. I will for sure be back to visit, even if it is out of my way to visit Kernville!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank teachergirl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent Mexican food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

Mexican food is a favorite of mine and I am always looking for great places to pick some up when I travel. El Rio is on the top of my list, which is absolutely surprising to me-I didn't expect to find such a hidden gem in this part of the state.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caliente, CA
Level Contributor
94 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great place...........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

If you enjoy good Mexican food then you'll truly enjoy El Rio. This place is "hidden" from the main part of town and it's what I'd call a "hidden gem". When you walk in your first thought may be that this is sort of a "hole in the wall" but don't let the fact that it's not on the main drag of Kernville. Food is excellent and there is no doubt that we will return on our next visit to town.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Rio Mexican Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to El Rio Mexican Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing