We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
River View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

the river view lodge owners, john and annette are great! took good care of us and put us in a king room with a river view! its a short walk maybe 25 steps to the kern river...the hotel is walking distance to all the restaurants and bars...you will get a discount at the lake Isabelle marina jsu ask annette...enjoy

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
16
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My stay at Riverview Lodge was nothing less than perfect. My boyfriend and I stayed two nights in room 6 and two of our friends stayed in room 8. We had camped for two days before we decided comfort was necessary. The jacuzzi tub in room 6 was the cherry on top of our quest for comfort and relaxation. The bathrooms were clean and the bed was a comfortable king and we slept amazingly (better than at home!).

They have their own private beach for just their customers to swim and/or fish and the location on the river is more than convenient with nearly everything you'd need within walking distance.

This 105 year old, pet friendly (next time we're bringing our pup!) lodge is family owned and run and they are quite possible the nicest people we met during our stay. Friendly and informative and truly just a joy to have met :)

The lodge at night is beautiful (especially looking up from the river). This was truly a memory making experience and we cannot wait to come back!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HappyToBeHereToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodland, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I do not recommend the River View Lodge! At first sight, it looks rustic and has old world charm, however, room 1 that we stayed in is closest to the public sidewalk and gets pretty noisy. We were awoken several times at 3 in the morning by drunks talking and laughing loudly with no consideration. The bed was comfortable, but the sheets smelled like it had not been changed. We were so tired, we figured that they would change the sheets and freshen up our room the next day, so we didn't complain at first. We left our "please clean sign" outside of the door, went out on our rafting trip to return to our room to find that it had been untouched. Overall, poor service.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Poodlemom V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kernville hotels

Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms - 1 king (#8 @$109) and 1 queen (#10 @$119) for Memorial Day weekend. Weather was partly cloudy, cool and windy for 1st two days then beautiful and sunny the next. Both rooms were clean but dark due to dark stained wide pine planks on walls and ceilings, low lightbulb voltage and dinghy dark green carpet. The mattresses were spongy but not uncomfortable. Bed linens: country right white/floral quilt covers with dark floral sheets and two soft pillows. Windows had cute doily lace curtains with roll-up/down shades that mostly worked. Showers have low-flow heads that sprayed a needle-like mist that was so bad that I didn't shampoo my hair for 3 days. Breakfast provided: 2 types of decent coffee (medium and strong), little box cereals, micro oatmeal, sticky buns in package and fruit. The location of this hotel is great on the river but obstructed mostly by mobile homes. It's the best if you are spending a lot of time at Camp Kernville - as we were with friends. The Kern River is clean, swift flowing and beautiful. The guys did some trout fishing along the campground beach and caught a few for our bbq - delicious! The energized rafters cruise by often and scare most of the fish away though. It's a 2 minute walk to the little town center which is quaint. Carne asada tacos truck - the best! And the baby back ribs truck at the supermarket - yum! Cheryl's Diner - we ate breakfast at the counter: slow, friendly service, good country diner food. We took our beach cruiser bikes and enjoyed a short ride into the residential neighborhood along the river. You'll need more gears if you want to go farther. The exterior is mostly original historic with that rustic charm you'd expect; however, we wished that they had swept the spider webs away (I'm an arachnidphobe!) and cleaned the ashtrays on our porches (they were full of cigarette and cigar butts). Overall, we had a great time with our friends and loved the area. We'll visit again, but either bring an RV or stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

During our 3500 mile motorcycle trip we arrived to find this wonderful restful lodge which is even better than it's web site suggests.
The proprietor was very welcoming, went the extra mile for us.
The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our porch with our own rocking chairs overlooking the river.
Within walking distance of various eateries and the Kernville Brewery.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manx_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed in this motel with 2 of my children 4 years ago. I've since learned the value of reading reviews and will now add mine. Our room was about $90 per night and a disappointment. It was dark, gloomy, and old. Outside could be seen through the gap at the bottom of the door and it was very noisy. You could hear all of the other guests talking. There were no room ammenities of which to speak. I'd booked the room for it's location to the river, thinking it would be such a quaint place, but found it was very rundown and not worth the money we'd paid. Since then, we've found a new place to stay in Kernville and will never stay anywhere else from now on except The Kern Lodge.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room at a different motel. I'm not someone who expects high end service ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved this hotel, it's quaint and quiet and it's right along the Kern River. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about (packaged oatmeal and fruits and coffee) so make plans to have breakfast in town, but the value of this hotel for the clean room and friendly service is tip top!!!

Room Tip: just call and talk to the front desk (they are also the owners)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marioc2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 stars 79 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Property: River View Lodge
Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 Feet from river. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your River View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing