We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Charming but in need...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of River View Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
River View Lodge
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Charming but in need...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

We booked 2 rooms - 1 king (#8 @$109) and 1 queen (#10 @$119) for Memorial Day weekend. Weather was partly cloudy, cool and windy for 1st two days then beautiful and sunny the next. Both rooms were clean but dark due to dark stained wide pine planks on walls and ceilings, low lightbulb voltage and dinghy dark green carpet. The mattresses were spongy but not uncomfortable. Bed linens: country right white/floral quilt covers with dark floral sheets and two soft pillows. Windows had cute doily lace curtains with roll-up/down shades that mostly worked. Showers have low-flow heads that sprayed a needle-like mist that was so bad that I didn't shampoo my hair for 3 days. Breakfast provided: 2 types of decent coffee (medium and strong), little box cereals, micro oatmeal, sticky buns in package and fruit. The location of this hotel is great on the river but obstructed mostly by mobile homes. It's the best if you are spending a lot of time at Camp Kernville - as we were with friends. The Kern River is clean, swift flowing and beautiful. The guys did some trout fishing along the campground beach and caught a few for our bbq - delicious! The energized rafters cruise by often and scare most of the fish away though. It's a 2 minute walk to the little town center which is quaint. Carne asada tacos truck - the best! And the baby back ribs truck at the supermarket - yum! Cheryl's Diner - we ate breakfast at the counter: slow, friendly service, good country diner food. We took our beach cruiser bikes and enjoyed a short ride into the residential neighborhood along the river. You'll need more gears if you want to go farther. The exterior is mostly original historic with that rustic charm you'd expect; however, we wished that they had swept the spider webs away (I'm an arachnidphobe!) and cleaned the ashtrays on our porches (they were full of cigarette and cigar butts). Overall, we had a great time with our friends and loved the area. We'll visit again, but either bring an RV or stay in another hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rebeccab88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    13
    6
    4
    12
See reviews for
16
18
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2011

During our 3500 mile motorcycle trip we arrived to find this wonderful restful lodge which is even better than it's web site suggests.
The proprietor was very welcoming, went the extra mile for us.
The room was beautiful and we enjoyed our porch with our own rocking chairs overlooking the river.
Within walking distance of various eateries and the Kernville Brewery.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Manx_Ian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalispell, Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2011

I stayed in this motel with 2 of my children 4 years ago. I've since learned the value of reading reviews and will now add mine. Our room was about $90 per night and a disappointment. It was dark, gloomy, and old. Outside could be seen through the gap at the bottom of the door and it was very noisy. You could hear all of the other guests talking. There were no room ammenities of which to speak. I'd booked the room for it's location to the river, thinking it would be such a quaint place, but found it was very rundown and not worth the money we'd paid. Since then, we've found a new place to stay in Kernville and will never stay anywhere else from now on except The Kern Lodge.

Room Tip: Consider choosing a room at a different motel. I'm not someone who expects high end service ev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kernville hotels

Los Angeles
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Loved this hotel, it's quaint and quiet and it's right along the Kern River. The continental breakfast is nothing to write home about (packaged oatmeal and fruits and coffee) so make plans to have breakfast in town, but the value of this hotel for the clean room and friendly service is tip top!!!

Room Tip: just call and talk to the front desk (they are also the owners)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marioc2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

This 101-year-old lodge was moved from Whisky Flat to Kernville when Lake Isabella was inundated. The rooms ring a charming yard which fronts the river Kern. Nothing is nicer than sitting with a cup (of the provided) coffee of a morning and listening to the babble of the Kern. The rooms are well-updated with homey touches. It is family-run and they could not be any more nice, plus the fellow guests are cool, too. A few steps over the bridge to see the rafters, or back across the street for the antique shops and eateries. It's pet-friendly, which in this case still means super-fresh, plus, Alana is the best pet sitter ever!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janestigee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2011

Our hosts happily took our dog, chatted us up about our crazy misadventure with a blown engine, and genuinely welcomed us back. Their lovely place along the wild Kern river and happy attitudes made us feel like lucky Kernville locals.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smetman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biloxi, MS
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Very comfortable rooms in a 100 year old lodge/motel. Large bedroom with lovely furniture, TV, microwave, frig., etc.

Service is great by family owners/operators. Very friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martinibill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.5 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
7.3 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Whispering Pines Lodge
Whispering Pines Lodge
#2 of 3 in Kernville
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
3.5 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River View Lodge

Property: River View Lodge
Address: 2 Sirretta St., Off Kernville Rd., Kernville, CA 93238
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — River View Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River View Lodge is from "Old Kernvile" with our new little modern touches it is almost perfect. Most of our rooms are approx. 125 Feet from river. Most rooms have river views, but all have the lovely sounds of the river. With some new help, and new sheets, quilts, restored bathrooms and towels the lodge is shinning more and more everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your River View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River View Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing