We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome, quiet, refreshing and enjoyable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Whispering Pines Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Kernville B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 19, 2010

Whispering Pines Lodge was a wonderful place to meet up with friends. Hotel accommodations were outstanding and the town was great for antique shopping. I had a wonderful weekend and would recommend friends to take the weekend during summer to enjoy the pool and the town's river rides. This was my first bed and breakfast and the food and service was great I am very impressed. Thanks

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank topkorbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (87)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 87 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2009

fifth time coming here since 2003. each time is great. fabulous service, breakfast and staff. highly recommend

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thegeneral6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2009

We were looking for overnight accommodation en-route from Vegas to Yosemite and after hours of boring driving on the highway decided to detour via Kernville and spotted Whispering Pines in the 'Rough Guide'. It turned out to be one of the best stays we had during our 18 day tour. The large room was clean and well presented with a huge bathroom and a shower big enough for a rugby team! After our long journey we managed to enjoy a bit of R&R in the lovely pool area overlooking the river, water a bit cold but certainly revived us! Kernville itself is only a few minutes drive with plenty of restaurants to choose from, however, we picked up a take-away from the nearby 'Pizza Barn' and sat out on the our large balcony with friends and a bottle of wine. Breakfast the next morning was superb with a huge choice all fresh and home-made, it certainly set us up for the day and we didn't eat again until dinner. Our only regret about our stay at the Whispering Pines is that we were only there one night.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShropshireMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2009

Staying at the Whispering Pines is just a fabulous experience! The room, the service, the food and the views are spectacular. We could see the river from our private balcony, and it's a very private place. The local town of Kern is always pleasant and the people are lovely. The best part is the beds, they are WONDERFUL memory foam...the BEST sleep that my husband or I have had! If you don't go here at least once, your missing out!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1976DeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2009

What a lovely place, clean, quiet, beautiful view and friendly staff. Perfect after a long drive, good bars with good beer in village. Very restful and relaxing. Spot on!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatieCabbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

What a great place. Its located right on the river and has beautiful views of the river and mountains beyond. The property is immaculently kept. The rooms are quite nice and luxurious. The breakfast is amazing. Its as good as everyone says it is. The staff is great too. The day we checked out, I received a phone call from Whispering Pines. They said the housekeeper had found my wedding band in the bathroom and brought it to the front desk for safe keeping. I was so relieved they found it. Its nice to see such honest people for a change. We look forward to going back some day.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rochester_NYTrunkman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2008

Horrible!!!! Ants crawling all over us in the bed at 2am!! Air Conditioner out of order in 104 degree weather!! Phone out of order. We were wooed by the beautiful room but the night was horrific. Front desk did try to help with the AC by shutting down the breakers after she got no response from maintenance but could not help us. Offered to put us in a smaller room for the same price with cots for our kids. Declined, because we figured we could live with the heat, but then we were woken up at 2am with the ants crawling all over us in bed!!! Tried the front desk but got no response. I expected a wonderful nights sleep for what I paid for this room - but obviously didn't get that. After complaining in the morning about all the problems the manger promised recompense but when we contacted them a week later they declined any sort of refund.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mick2944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 6 in Kernville
143 reviews
0.3 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#5 of 6 in Kernville
59 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 6 in Kernville
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Corral Creek Lodge
Corral Creek Lodge
#1 of 3 in Kernville
81 reviews
3.9 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
54 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 9 in Kernville
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Lodge

Address: 13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9746
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range: $242 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whispering Pines Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Whispering Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing