We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Rooms are often dirty” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Whispering Pines Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whispering Pines Lodge
Ranked #2 of 3 Kernville B&B and Inns
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
374 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Rooms are often dirty”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Quaint property. Owner is often onsite. Room was so dusty last time that I had an asthma attack. The breakfasts are yummy, but are not served early enough for most business travelers (8 to 12).

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lepha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    16
    6
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
35
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, Ca
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

We have stayed at the Whispering Pines for the last several years during the Whiskey Flats Days festival, always traveling with a large group (15-20), and love it! Using the big suite on the second floor allows us to cook dinner and enjoy hanging out on the large deck. While it's going on you can hear the loudspeakers at the rodeo, we think it's fun! I've stayed in rooms below the large room and in the rooms by the pool and enjoy them both. I think I enjoy the rooms by the pool more because of the larger bathrooms and seperate tub and shower. I will say that I dislike the "foam" beds they have. The termperpidic-ish typoe bed just doesn't work when it's really cold there. It snowed during the festival a couple of years ago and the beds felt like rock slabs, they never warmed up to your body temp.
The breakfast they provide is also delicious! The cheesy potatoes are always a hit and everything is hot and ready for you.
It's a walkable (although long) distance to the parade route and festival area but not so close you feel crowded by the other visitors.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CariBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2010

We stayed at the Lodge as part of a trip round CA, just as a stopover, but we wish we'd stayed there a bit longer as it was away from the main tourist places, v peaceful and laid back.
The hosts were very friendly, the room was OK with the bonus of the pool which was welcome in summer, and the breakfast, for the price, was the best on the tour.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonneeboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coarsegold ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2010

Just outside of Kernville Ca.On Kern river. The sound of the river is most comforting. Quiet place to spend a weekend or week. Great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oscarotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, CC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2010

Joining up with my old army friends at the Whispering Pines Lodge is refreshment from my otherwise busy life schedules. Again this Martin Luther King our “Harvey’s Heroes” met for an extended weekend. Some members we haven’t seen for twenty years or more some shared their experiences of recently serving in Iraq, Afghanistan and Kosovo.

Being with our old unit again carries memories of working together, focus on goals the command provided. It was a like a time machine going back to “The Way We Were - When.”

What enhances our reunions is the setting, our three star rooms and cabins afford us rustic luxury, each evening we’d gather around the warm fireplace in the famous Barbara Streisand suite, the large living room easily accommodating the twelve of us in our rapidly diminishing roster of time.

Each morning in the main lodge dining hall Kathleen prepares a breakfast buffet that is so delicious it’s difficult to restrain ourselves from over eating.

Whispering Pines Lodge is 40 miles from the nearest bustling cities, tucked up in a canyon, only a mile from Lake Isabel. At night I could hear the soft flow from the famous Kern River. In the morning just standing out on the porches watching the water flow, the duck was foraging for their breakfast.
The place is designed so all cabins and rooms look out over the river, small wild life creatures like squirrels and raccoons are an enjoyment to watch.

I recommend the Whispering Pines Lodge as a fantastic retreat for organizations, reunions, newly weds and all who enjoy nature.

Jim Hensley MSGT USA/USAF [Ret]
[--]

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Democrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Dear Dick and Louise Whitworth,
We want to Thank you for for the wonderful stay at Whispering Pines while we were on our honeymoon.
The rooms were very comfortable size, and decorated very nicely. It made you feel like you were in your own bedroom at a log cabin home.
The back porches on the rooms were breath taking and we loved the fresh air and watching the people catch trout in the river just below us.
The breakfasts in the dining room were really great, especially with the cozy wood burning fireplace. We'd never seen such a nicer place to enjoy so much fresh cooked food.
We would recommend anyone who wants to just relax and enjoy the outdoors in the mountains, to stay at Whispering Pines !
I could write more but you'll just have to go see for yourselves.
Sincerely,
Paul & Mariann Madsen
Dallas, Texas

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SilverCowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oceanside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2010

Whispering Pines Lodge was a wonderful place to meet up with friends. Hotel accommodations were outstanding and the town was great for antique shopping. I had a wonderful weekend and would recommend friends to take the weekend during summer to enjoy the pool and the town's river rides. This was my first bed and breakfast and the food and service was great I am very impressed. Thanks

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank topkorbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kernville
2.3 mi away
Sequoia Lodge
Sequoia Lodge
#2 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 118 reviews
0.4 mi away
River View Lodge
River View Lodge
#6 of 7 in Kernville
3.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kern Lodge
The Kern Lodge
#1 of 7 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Corral Creek Resort
Corral Creek Resort
#1 of 3 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 44 reviews
0.3 mi away
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
Piazza's Pine Cone Inn
#1 of 8 in Kernville
4.5 of 5 stars 31 reviews
3.9 mi away
Barewood Inn & Suites
Barewood Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Wofford Heights
4.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whispering Pines Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whispering Pines Lodge

Property: Whispering Pines Lodge
Address: 13745 Sierra Way, Kernville, CA 93238-9746
Location: United States > California > Kernville
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Kernville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Whispering Pines Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whispering Pines Hotel Kernville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing