We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“if you are prepared for the innkeeper you will have a great time.”
Review of Casa Bella Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Bella Inn
Ranked #1 of 2 Kenwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco Bay Area
Level Contributor
64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“if you are prepared for the innkeeper you will have a great time.”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

The inn was beautiful and very, very clean. The restaurant Doce Luna was amazing. The other restaurants recommended by the innkeeper were so-so. We almost exclusively stay in B&B's and this innkeeper's behavior needs a warning label so you can enjoy your trip. Be forewarned that Jerry revels in insisting that you are wrong (it doesn't matter what the topic is or if it's just your opinion or if he set you up). You really need to be prepared to say you are wrong, over and over, to stop the conversation. Jerry can be very friendly but it's on his terms. If you have a request or need, Jerry will laugh heartily and say "absolutely not" and he means it. It doesn't matter how major or minor your needs is, Jerry will not accomodate it (we needed an ice pack refrozen for an injury and had to go to a local business to get it refrozen the first evening, the second day we found Nancy and she froze the ice pack and was willing to give it back...Jerry later decided he would freeze it but wouldn't allow access to it until the next day and we needed it back that evening). A simple solution would be to provide a small refrigerator/freezer for the guests, or provide us with an ice bucket as Nancy did the next day. If you can find Jerry's wife Nancy, she is very friendly and accomodating but keeps a very low profile. Also, almost as soon as you walk in the door, Jerry asks for a credit card, most innkeepers ask at the end of your stay. I can only imagine what has happened in the past so I'm trying to prepare you for Jerry's behavior so it won't happen to you. You have to take what Jerry says with a grain of salt as he likes to make up facts and insist they are true (e.g. Napa City and Napa County do not exist...all 8 of us at the table were completely quiet during this "conversation"). So be prepared to feel like you are in middle school with constant teasing and no control. Jerry must be the one in control at all times. Remember you are there for Jerry's entertainment, he is not there to accomodate you. I still recommend you stay here as the inn itself is great, the location is great, the food is great, Nancy is great, and Jerry can be great at times. You just need to be prepared so your trip won't be ruined. Don't miss Jack London Park. It takes most of the day and is amazing!

Room Tip: We had the SunPorch Suite. The bedroom itself was small but very nice with a great view. We never u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LagoonGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    43
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
41
200
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Clemente,CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We have stayed at over 100 B&B's and this one is in the top 10. Breakfast is amazing, like going to a 5 star resturant. The house and grounds are wonderful but our favorite was the front wrap around porch. Will return; well worth the trip from Southern California.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

I will always have the fondest memory of this B&B. This was where I got engaged :) My fiance and I stayed here for 3 nights, in the Green Room, for a wine tasting weekend. We got to meet Jerry and he was very entertaining. He gave us excellent recommendations for dinner and wineries to visit in the area and got us complimentary tasting cards that were in addition to the one he already gave us. His breakfasts were all excellent and all on time. We had to leave really early on our last day there, way before breakfast is usually served, and he made it a point to serve us a wonderful breakfast anyway that consisted of this amazingly delicious pear soup and homemade scones! The room was immaculately clean and well maintained. My only suggestion would be to have coffee/tea constantly out for guest use at any time of the day. That aside, this B&B is top-notch!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Anna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Birmingham Bed and Breakfast provides immaculate accommodation with an exquisite breakfast! This is a great location from which to tour both the Sonoma and Napa Valleys. Jerry is a great source of local knowledge.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gladbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed March 7, 2012

I really can't say good enough things about this place. Jerry was the nicest host ever- he gave us incredible recommendations for vineyards and restaurants to visit, and the breakfast that Jerry cooks, and is included in the price of the room, is AMAZING. French toast with caramel and apple on our recent visit. He also gives you a little booklet that gets you free wine tastings at 2 dozen wineries and tasting rooms, which is an incredible deal. Everyone in town knows Jerry and really likes him- whenever we told people where we were staying, they told us how great Jerry is, and how we had a great breakfast to look forward to. He's also a hoot and a holler to talk to, and has some great stories and insights. He clearly loves what he does and takes his role as a host seriously.

My boyfriend and I drove up from SF Sat morning to go wine-tasting, and we did a lot/saw a lot in 2 days. We stayed in the Red Room, which was fantastic. The bed was amazingly comfortable and the towels were super soft- I felt like I was in a 4 star hotel. I have always been a little wary of b&b's, because I'm worried I will get stuck in someone's guestroom and have no privacy. This b&b was nothing like that. Jerry and his wife live in a separate house, and the house where guests stay is completely separate. There are 4 rooms upstairs, a dining room downstairs and a nice parlor on the first floor. The rooms are really well-lit, charmingly decorated and we barely saw the other people staying there, except for at breakfast. We had a lot of privacy which was great.

Kenwood is a really small town and a great option for people who want to get away, explore Sonoma and avoid the hoopla of wine country, throngs of tourists and expensive chauffeured cars driving you from tourist-trap to tourist-trap. You can walk to all the vineyards/tasting rooms in Kenwood and to restaurants in town, and there are some incredible gems to visit. Do not miss Kaz- the wine is so different, and the owner has a great personality. Jerry was able to direct us to some of the smaller wineries we would have missed otherwise.

We also never felt out-of-place or like outsiders- unlike some places in Napa (cough-Saint-Helena-cough), there was no resentment towards visitors to the town. This town and the people in it are down-to-earth, friendly and welcoming, and everyone loves what they do and living there.

I really can't recommend this place enough. The short trip we took was more than I ever could have hoped for. I came back relaxed and feeling like I had been on a week-long vacation from just 2 days outside the city. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2012

I and my partner stayed here just before New Year and we loved it. Nice, clean rooms. Friendly staff. Very peaceful stay. Reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnytherunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2012

The breakfast was fantastic. All the rooms were lovely and so was the staff.

Room Tip: All rooms were really good, just different sizes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeP32066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
1.4 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
4.0 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
9.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.8 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
12.2 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
8.4 mi away
Fairmont Sonoma Mission Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Bella Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Bella Inn

Property: Casa Bella Inn
Address: 8790 Sonoma Hwy, Kenwood, CA 95452-9003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kenwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Bella Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dog-friendly in Bella Luna cottage and Dolce Suite, fee/per night per dog. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Casa Bella Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Bella Inn Kenwood, Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing