We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice, quite out of the way place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Vineyards Inn - CLOSED

Vineyards Inn
Price range: $12 - $37
Cuisines: Spanish, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Original, organic and orgasmic have been used to describe this local's wine country hidden gem. You have to experience what they offer. Open every day except Tuesdays service from 11:30 a.m. straight through until 9 p.m. Very authentic flavors of Spain considering the Chef/owner is Spanish Basque. You should really attend his Chef's Basque dinner on the second Thursday of every month! Family style the way the Basque restaurants of San Francisco of yesteryear used to serve. 7 courses brought to the table in tureens & platters for all to share. Much from the Chef's organic gardens nearby. Treasures from local farmers, ranchers & fisherpeople. Chef Esteban prepares & presents each course. $45 per person including Chef's homemade wines crafted from his certified organic grapes! Limited seating so reservations are a must!
AL
Level Contributor
135 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Nice, quite out of the way place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stopped for lunch on Sept. 12, 2012. What a surprise! The menu choices where largeas was the portions. It was very relaxing sitting on the grape vine covered patio and the four of us each got something different. All the food was outstanding. Something unusual was the sardine salad, great, great. The corn soup was very good too. The tuna tacos where so yummy. Make a pont to stop and enjoy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank paulandeddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    15
    9
    11
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kenwood, California
Level Contributor
211 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Unusual food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

This could be a great spot if they changed their menu!
The only thing that is really good here is the barbequed artichoke!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Tasty Basque food and good libations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

Vineyards Inn has a lively bar scene, offering both beer and wine on tap. We arrived without a reservation and were greeted and seated immediately. We ordered two dishes from the extensive tapas menu—a Bento Box of assorted tapas and a Basque Crispy Liver Salad—and one entrée to share—a seafood stew. The entrée came with a large dinner salad of well-dressed romaine garnished with beans and slivered carrots. Everything was delicious. We’ll be back to sample other dishes.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chronicler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tapas in Sonoma”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

Very interesting twist on traditional Spanish tapas dishes. The restaurant is touted as the 'greenest' in the San Fran area and I wouldn't be surprised. They have their own organic garden and source all their meat from local organic ranchers. Great value and wonderful atmosphere under the vines!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dave N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Rude owner and not worth the money”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Colleen, the owner, is rude and her attitude casts a pall on the meal. The beer on tap was flat, we took it back and without even an "oops or any form of apology, she demanded "do you want something else?" She poured another glass of an off beer but we just kept it because it wasn't worth ruining our dinner over after such a great hike. The food was also a disappointment. They sent out the wrong dish after a long wait. So I tried to slowly eat so my SO wouldn't be eating alone when his dish arrived. The french fries were limp, greasy and we left over half of mine and all of his. The beef was chewy. His $13 chicken and avocado sandwich consisted of two tiny pieces of chicken and a very few slices of avocado. So, for $50, which included one bad glass of beer, this meal was NOT worth it and Colleens parting gesture of obnoxious rudeness (she was out in the parking lot as I was leaving, only two people out there, she had to walk right by me AND I was wearing a red shirt, not like she couldn't see me, she walked right by me without a "thanks for visiting" or "hope you come back" or "have a good evening"...three or four simple words and it would have left us with the impression that maybe the food was just a bad night. and we would try again. Nope. She stinks. The food stinks and we'll never go back again.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank EweRKidding_NOX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vineyards Inn also viewed

Kenwood, Sonoma County
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing