We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for active campers”

Sugarloaf Ridge State Park
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Kenwood
Attraction details
Waterloo, Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good choice for active campers”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed one night - I was attracted by the bouldering opportunities, but it appeared that the hiking would be good as well. Wifi on the deck of the visitor center was a nice bonus. Very much a family atmosphere, lots of kids. Don't expect a lot of space and privacy, but things quieted down well and I got a good sleep. I'd definitely stay again if in the area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ClimbnRide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
I'm happy you enjoyed your stay. And the hikes Sugarloaf has to offer. Hope you can stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Los Altos, California
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great find for hikers”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

My husband and I do a lot of day hiking in California and really enjoyed this park. The ranger at the visitors' center was very helpful with choosing a trail. So we knew Bald Mountain would be a bit of a stretch for me, and we ended up not making it to the top on the very hot day we were there. But we had a great time anyway because there are a lot of alternatives and you can revise you hike in the middle. Be sure to purchase the excellent (and plasticized) map at the center so you can change your route along the way. Take plenty of water, and on hot days take note of how shady the various trails are.

We saw deer, wild turkeys, and lots of lizards.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank EBinLACA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben Lomond
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Campers dream site”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This a great place to camp the park has lots of trails to hike .the sites are well spaced and the fire rings are great for the evening to make smores and chat.
The obsevitor was open the night we were there for star and planet gazing which was cool.
The drive in off the highway is a little far so having to get that something you forgot to bring is a good drive away.
All inall a nice place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Glad you liked the park and the observatory event. Come back soon.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wapo Rock”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lots of native american history in this area...a beautiful walk to Wapo Rock has you arriving at a huge boulder with a pool around it...not a swimming hole but large enough to cool off in the shade, picnic and filter water. Other open areas including the camp ground are well attended. There are horses for hire and a planetarium for star gazing if you check the park schedule.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delmontecito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I'm glad you had a good visit to Sugarloaf. To find out more about the observatory, visit RFO.org. And at this time, we do not offer horseback rentals. You are welcome to bring your horse to the park. For horse rental, our sister park, visit our sister park Jack London State Park. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont, ca
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to camp for families”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We camped here recently during the memorial day weekend and were totally impressed by the campsite. The campsites are quite spacious and some of them can hold more than 4-5 tents. There are couple of open fields for kids to play around and we had a great time with the frisbee and volleyball there..
There are a number of hiking trails in and around the campsites. We did the bald mountain trail one day. It was a good 5 hour long trail. There is also a waterfall easy trail of less than a mile each way. Unfortunately there was not much of a waterfall there due to poor rains. There is an organized nature walk to introduce you to the different types of trees and flowers. Do not miss this as it is quite educational and fun for kids and adults alike.
The restrooms and showers are in great condition. They had been recently renovated and the folks who run it were very diligent in keeping it clean, in spite of the memorial day rush at the campsites.
Apparently, we learned, that most of the folks who work there are volunteers. This park had been closed due to budget cuts. But now works mostly due to volunteer's effort. I tip my hat to the good folks who volunteer and run the place so well!
We will definitely visit this campsite again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. The campground staff and volunteers work hard to keep things clean and peaceful. I'm also glad you enjoyed our trails and nature walks. This month we start Friday night music and Saturday campfire program. So come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarloaf Ridge State Park also viewed

 
Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sugarloaf Ridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing