We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Campers dream site”

Sugarloaf Ridge State Park
Ranked #5 of 21 things to do in Kenwood
Attraction details
Ben Lomond
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Campers dream site”
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

This a great place to camp the park has lots of trails to hike .the sites are well spaced and the fire rings are great for the evening to make smores and chat.
The obsevitor was open the night we were there for star and planet gazing which was cool.
The drive in off the highway is a little far so having to get that something you forgot to bring is a good drive away.
All inall a nice place

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Manny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 7, 2013
Glad you liked the park and the observatory event. Come back soon.

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    22
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wapo Rock”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Lots of native american history in this area...a beautiful walk to Wapo Rock has you arriving at a huge boulder with a pool around it...not a swimming hole but large enough to cool off in the shade, picnic and filter water. Other open areas including the camp ground are well attended. There are horses for hire and a planetarium for star gazing if you check the park schedule.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank delmontecito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I'm glad you had a good visit to Sugarloaf. To find out more about the observatory, visit RFO.org. And at this time, we do not offer horseback rentals. You are welcome to bring your horse to the park. For horse rental, our sister park, visit our sister park Jack London State Park. Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fremont, ca
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great place to camp for families”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We camped here recently during the memorial day weekend and were totally impressed by the campsite. The campsites are quite spacious and some of them can hold more than 4-5 tents. There are couple of open fields for kids to play around and we had a great time with the frisbee and volleyball there..
There are a number of hiking trails in and around the campsites. We did the bald mountain trail one day. It was a good 5 hour long trail. There is also a waterfall easy trail of less than a mile each way. Unfortunately there was not much of a waterfall there due to poor rains. There is an organized nature walk to introduce you to the different types of trees and flowers. Do not miss this as it is quite educational and fun for kids and adults alike.
The restrooms and showers are in great condition. They had been recently renovated and the folks who run it were very diligent in keeping it clean, in spite of the memorial day rush at the campsites.
Apparently, we learned, that most of the folks who work there are volunteers. This park had been closed due to budget cuts. But now works mostly due to volunteer's effort. I tip my hat to the good folks who volunteer and run the place so well!
We will definitely visit this campsite again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank sakraghu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, General Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words. The campground staff and volunteers work hard to keep things clean and peaceful. I'm also glad you enjoyed our trails and nature walks. This month we start Friday night music and Saturday campfire program. So come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous butterflies and wildflowers”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed one night at the excellent campground and before the heat of the day built up followed a couple of the walking trails. The park offers simple beauty, fantastic views and when we visited lovely abundant butterflies and flowers. A real bonus given the unseasonably hot weather were the water spigots

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank fruitbat2a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Beautiful off the beaten track campground”
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful campground nestled in a valley above the Sonoma winelands. Facilities fairly basic but in good condition and very clean. Great range of walking trails. Would love to go back and spend more time here.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil_in_wolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John_Sugarloaf, Manager at Sugarloaf Ridge State Park, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Thank you for the review. We work hard to keep the park and campground clean and pleasant. Hope to see you back in the states and at our park again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugarloaf Ridge State Park also viewed

Santa Rosa, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Been to Sugarloaf Ridge State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing