We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Touch of Campania” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of VJB Cellars

VJB Cellars
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
milpitasca
Level Contributor
489 reviews
186 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“A Touch of Campania”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

We have visited this very Italian style tasting room twice now. Their wines are only available on premiss or through their wine club. The tasting bar area is delightfully decorated. Tasting fee is $10, but refunded upon purchase. I really enjoyed the 2012 Gabriella Ranch Chardonnay and that became our purchase. It was lunch time on this visit, so we picked up some items in their deli. My husband choice of a butternut squash fritata was delicious. I opted for several slices of salumi (priced by the pound), some of the caprese (also sold by weight), a block of local goat cheddar, and fresh bread. All of this was uniquely served on a wooden butcher's board - how rusticia! We found an umbrella shaded table outside on the patio and relished our little gems. Others seemed to be enjoying the pizza that is also available. There is also a cage of cute little finches on one side of the patio that I always stop and chat with. I love the plantings and architecture at this winery, too. The whole winery is like it was just transported from Italy and plopped down in Kenwood.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank alicerabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    491
    54
    14
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
74 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wine and so much more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

This little village, and I do mean village was an excellent mid day stop for us. We did a tasting, grabbed a bottle of wine, a pizza a salumi plate and sat outside and ate, drank and people watched for about 2 hours. Everyone was so nice there and we actually met a couple that we spent the rest of the day and dinner with. The wine here was very very good. I could go on and on about the tannin levels, and the chewyness, and the florals and berry flavors exhibited here, but that's not what you want to read on TripAdvisor. This place was so worth the stop.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ckethley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great little Italian store/winery.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stopped by this vineyard on a drive through Sonoma and loved it. It's run by an Italian family who also run a little market/restaurant inside. Oils, meats, cheeses, and of course, wine. The wine was pretty good. If you are looking for place to have a glass of wine and maybe some lunch/homemade pizza, this may be for you.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelJoeJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So glad we stopped - wished we could have eaten”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

This was our first stop for wine tasting. We went here to pick up a Sonoma Passport we had ordered online. The staff was all incredibly friendly, and our pourer had lived his life in the area. He was full of wine and area knowledge that was interesting and very helpful since this was our first stop. We thoroughly enjoyed the wide range of wines we were able to try, and wish we had the opportunity to try to eat there. We had just finished up lunch elsewhere, so couldn't eat. If you are passing through Kenwood, we highly recommend stopping by.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank lynnp636
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great salads and pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stopped here for lunch when doing wine tasting in Sonoma County on Labor Day. GREAT fresh ingredients in the salad and the pizza crust was so very fresh and delicious. Did the wine tasting after and loved their Rosso.. bought a few bottles. The staff was very fun and accommodating. Great stop!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Freefromwisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VJB Cellars also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Been to VJB Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing