We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of VJB Cellars

VJB Cellars
Ranked #1 of 21 things to do in Kenwood
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Memorable Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

We spent the lunch hour at VJB with a private tasting in their art gallery. Just amazing. Henry, Michael, and Max made it a special experience on our honeymoon. Henry introduced us to his family's winery and brought us a wonderful meal of charcuterie and cheese. Michael made us a special label commemorating our honeymoon and put it on their bottle of Sangiovese (so good)! Max was our wine tasting host (musician by night) and was also very friendly and made us feel right at home. As Henry said, for them it is all about providing the experience for their guests, and my husband and I agree that they hit the nail on the head. Absolutely wonderful visit!! (we bought a case of their wine and joined the wine club so that wasn't bad either)

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CityChic515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

581 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    504
    54
    14
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“There is a real..."Uncle Vitto" !! & He's just "great " !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

This was a very pleasant surprise ! A friend told us that in addition to doing wine tasting that VJB also had an outdoor pizza word burning oven and to be sure to stop in around lunchtime. We had no idea we would stay for 3 hours ! It was just terrific ! The owner, Vittorio Belmonte is an awesome host ! We just loved this place !

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank LouisB1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“A little of Italy in Sonoma Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is a local winery for us, and we love the new winery, the fabulous wines, the Italian ambiance, and the friendliness of the staff. Their deli offers delicious bites to eat, and we often sneak down for a little trip to Italy, a sip of wine, and something to eat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank MaryLoehr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Deserves 6+ stars!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Back when I took my then girlfriend at the time (now wife) out to California for her first time 3 years ago, this was the first place we stopped at in the wine country. We fell in love from the moment we walked in. I will never forget Henry when we first walked in, he was one of the most friendliest and warmest individuals we had come across. It also didn’t hurt that he poured us one or two wines that he didn’t have out on the shelves yet. We felt like we could really relate to this place, and when we went back out again on our honeymoon this past August of 2011, we made sure to make this our first stop again! Keep up the great work!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank PackPride
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A surprise find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2012

We really were surprised by the great quality of their wine and purchases several bottles. The staff and management are competent and know how to run a business. They have a nice deli where you can buy misc foods, oils etc. we will for sure go back to VJB

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank euroboundtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed VJB Cellars also viewed

Sonoma, Sonoma County
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 
Kenwood, Sonoma County
 

Been to VJB Cellars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing