We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A highlight of our 10 day trip!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kenwood Oaks Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kenwood
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kenwood Oaks Guest House
Ranked #2 of 2 Kenwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A highlight of our 10 day trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband and I are so glad we stayed at this lovely B&B for two nights as part of our somewhat "delayed" honeymoon and now wish we could have stayed longer. If you are looking for a quiet, cozy, and very clean place to stay, with a country feel, look no further. This 3 room guest house (which also has a separate cottage available) is located on a quiet country road but is within minutes of the main road and in very close proximity to the surrounding wineries. Joan (the owner) is a wonderful hostess and made us feel very comfortable from the moment we arrived. A special treat was sitting on her back patio and enjoying the delicious wine, cheese and crackers she had so graciously provided. We absolutely loved everything about our corner room; the warm color scheme, the tasteful furnishings, and especially finding that the doors to our room opened on to a cozy front patio, equipped with a table and a couple of chairs. Very welcoming indeed! The grounds are beautiful with lots of trees, birds (bird-watchers delight!) and even two horses! Joan gave us some great recommendations on things to see and do in our limited time and we are so glad we followed her advice. Staying with Joan in her lovely home was definitely one of the highlights of our 10 day trip and she helped to make our honeymoon a very special one. We would not hesitate to recommend her B&B and are already planning on returning for an extended stay and hope to bring along some of our friends so we can all enjoy her warm hospitality! Joan, thank you so much!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Irene A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
90
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

It was our first time staying at a B&B. We were referred by some friends who had stayed here last year.It was everything we had hoped for and more. Very clean,quiet,comfortable, plus a lovely room with a great bed. Joan couldn't be more accommodating. Gave us great suggestions from wineries to restaurants,farmers market,you name it and she knew it. I would HIGHLY recommend Kenwood Oaks Guest House. Can't wait for our next trip. Thanks Joan,loved staying at your wonderful place.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, Iowa
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

My wife and I just returned to the Midwest from Sonoma. We spent three nights at Kenwood Oaks Guest House. Joan was welcoming and friendly. The grounds were beautiful. The atmosphere was relaxed and unhurried. It was wonderful. If you want formality, doilies, and lace, this is not the place for you. If you like a casual, comfortable, and welcoming place to start and end your day, you need to stay here. Thank you, Joan!

Green Features: Kenwood Oaks is a GreenLeader. We appreciate it. It was part of our decision to stay.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your kind review. You were delightful Guests and I so enjoyed your company. Hope we will meet again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

We can not say enough nice things about our stay with joan, our host . Long before we even went on our trip we were in touch with Joan via email and telephone and she could not have been more helpful. We wanted to stay in the "heart" of Sonoma and we did! After a very long day of travel, we arrived to a welcoming wine, cheese and fruit on the beautiful patio viewing the sunset in the most tranquil setting you could imagine. Our rooms were beautiful and quiet..The bathrooms were very well done. The "setting" for this guest house could not have been better..horses in the background, different species of birds, very old and majestic oak trees and privacy. I had a blast feeding the horses in the morning with apples and such. With such a private setting, however, we were not isolated as many major vineyards were less than 2 miles from our door! We had gone to Sonoma for the graduation of a nephew from college. We wanted to make reservations for dinner for twelve in downtown Sonoma but we did not realize that it was also mothers day weekend so all the restaurants were "booked". Joan, however, was able to work her magic and got us a reservation. Her reputation among the locals is second to none. She also saved us many dollars with discount tickets to the wineries. So, in summary; a wonderful place with a very private setting, a great owner/hostess, quiet and beautiful rooms..What more can you ask for? We will definitely stay again..One other item worth mentioning. There is a separate cottage, right next to the main guest house as well. The cottage is very well done with its own kitchen, etc if you want even more privacy. We (my wife, her sister and our niece) stayed 2 days and all agreed that we wished we could have stayed for a month!

Room Tip: The room with the biggest bath is to die for
See more room tips
Green Features: very thoughtful and well done ideas to keep the environment clean and green.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bob69-13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
You humble me with your kind words. It is my pleasure to assist in making your visit to the "heart" of Sonoma Valley both comfortable and memorable. I sincerely hope you all WILL come back; you are fun, and spirited, and my kind of folk!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2013

It was such a wonderful surprise, when we arrived at this beautiful guest house off Warm Springs Road, to see the beauty of the house and its gorgeous setting on a small hillside, surrounded by gardens and fruit trees and sheltered by huge valley oaks. We couldn't have asked for a more lovely as well as a restful and quiet environment for our weekend visit, and so well located for our wine tasting tour. Our host, Joan, is warm and friendly and is a very interesting conversationalist, extremely knowledgeable about the area and was helpful to us with many suggestions for our visit of local wineries, some new - some old - many off the beaten path. Each morning she provided a bountiful "breakfeast" with assortments of local and fresh fruits, including cherries from her tree. We felt right at home and plan to return again...and again.

Room Tip: The guest house has three rooms and a cottage (for a family).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank art l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
I am so delighted that you felt "at home" here, and that your stay with us was a highlight of a fun weekend for you. I very much look forward to your return visits to Kenwood Oaks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Such a beautiful country home to relax and unwind at! We were so happy with our choice to stay here. The house and rooms are all very comfortable and the food delicious! Our host, Joan, was a delight and alot of fun to get to know. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Krista G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank YOU and your lovely mom for selecting Kenwood Oaks in which to celebrate her big birthday! It was so much fun having you as Guests and I hope we meet again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We stayed at Kenwood Oaks Guest House for three nights and it was wonderful. The place is really well kept, very pretty and Joan, our host, was ever so helpful. She helped us rent bikes (highly recommended) and helped us book a restaurant for dinner. We would definitely recommend Kenwood Oaks to anyone looking for a countryside hideaway with easy and fast access to local wineries- for example by bike - and to Sonoma.

Green Features: Kenwood Oaks is a certified 'green' guest house.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
H.E., Owner at Kenwood Oaks Guest House, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
So glad you chose to stay with us and that your time here was memorable! Thank YOU!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kenwood
0.5 mi away
Kenwood Inn and Spa, A Four Sisters Inn
2.9 mi away
Olea Hotel
Olea Hotel
#1 of 2 in Glen Ellen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
8.7 mi away
El Pueblo Inn
El Pueblo Inn
#3 of 11 in Sonoma
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
MacArthur Place - Sonoma's Historic Inn & Spa
13.0 mi away
Vintners Inn
Vintners Inn
#2 of 25 in Santa Rosa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 565 reviews
1.1 mi away
Casa Bella Inn
Casa Bella Inn
#1 of 2 in Kenwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kenwood Oaks Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kenwood Oaks Guest House

Property: Kenwood Oaks Guest House
Address: 854 Warm Springs Road, Kenwood, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Kenwood
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Kenwood
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inviting, serene, private country lodging located in the heart of Sonoma Valley's spectacular grape growing region. Situated on a small horse ranch and offering 3 beautifully-appointed private rooms with private baths and a charming Cottage. Recognized Sonoma Valley Green Business. All rooms available individually; we have a two night minimum stay at all times and also offer longer stay options. Continental healthy breakfast included. 15+ Tasting rooms within a mile of our location! Nearby restaurants serve world-class cuisine. Stunning surroundings are a haven for cyclists, hikers, bird watchers, and nature lovers. Pet, horse and bicycle friendly. Winner of TripAdvisor Certificates of Excellence and Greenleaders awards. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kenwood Oaks Guest House Sonoma County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing